We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sushi and great service”
Review of Buddha Cafe - CLOSED

Buddha Cafe
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful sushi and great service”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Loved this place, as my partner is fussy with food and doesn't like sushi it served very good chinese food so he had that and I had the mixed 12 pieces of sushi,
I loved the sushi so much I asked the Asian waiter if he made it which funny enough he had, so after complimenting his sushi he brought me 4 pieces out free of charge and looked so happy and pleased that I loved his sushi so much!
Excellent little place although expensive but all of reykjavik is in all fairness.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joseph_m_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed with this restaurant”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It was a Monday evening, quite early. The restaurant was empty, so the service was quick and good.
I ordered crab sushi; not being a sushi fan, but I adore crab meat. I knew sushi was made with rW fish so I asked if the crabmeat would be raw. This was confirmed and I was interested to see what raw crabmeat would taste like. It turned out to be made from crab sticks! It was nicely presented, with the usual accompaniments, but crab sticks all the same.
My husband had cod and chips. The fish was very good, but the chips were thin, greasy and nor at all crispy.
The value was okay, similar to other restaurants. The decor was typical Asian, and the waiter friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny15072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good restaurent and great location”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went for an early dinner, so we were more or less alone in the restaurent, so service was very quick. Had both sushi & fish and chips. Both tuna and salmon for the sushi was fresh and tasty. The fish and chips were nicely cooked (a bit too oily for my taste), but the cod tasted wonderful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHylby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi, great location and excellent service”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Buddha Cafe offers beautiful sushi and more Asian cuisine. The sushi is beautiful and tasty, the place is very comfortable, with big tables and comfortable chairs, with a great window view to Laugavegur, the old shopping street downtown Reykjavik. The service is also excellent, and apparently, the place is run by veterans in the Asian restaurant business in Iceland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adalheidur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garðabær, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
1 review
“Ecellent cuisine - Sushi, Yakitori, Japenese Grill, Cantonese and Modern Asian”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Situated in the heart of Reykjavik Buddha Café is a fine family owned restaurant. The brothers who run the place are the third generation serving fine food. You will be met with a friendly smile, good service and a fine cuisine. Enjoy your visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Örn Bárður J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buddha Cafe also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing