We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place to eat”
Review of MAR Restaurant

MAR Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$58
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fine place to eat”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The MAR is situated in the Old Harbour of Reykjavik and is a place with a clean neat design. Predominant is black with one distinct colour of one wall. The theme is Fish. Very well done and with enough space between tables - friendly staff and of course well cooked dishes - we ate fish and it was really good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snorri V, General Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Nell B.

Simple and to the point, I thank you very much for taking the time to rate us and I will be sure to share your satisfaction with the team.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    136
    52
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mar Reykjavik is a "must visit" when in Iceland”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I had a fantastic lunch at Mar Reykjavik a couple of weeks ago. My brothers and I were there to meet Inga, the woman behind the travel blog "Tiny Iceland". I had booked a couple of tours through her company and wanted to meet her. She kindly made reservations at Mar. What a wonderful choice, it is a lovely atmosphere and attentive staff. Inga had the Seafood Soup which was loaded with fish and mussels which she declared as very tasty. My brothers and I are from Boston and we know our seafood, we ordered the Fish and Chips and we weren't dissapointed! The fish was so fresh and cooked to perfection and served with hand-cut french-fries, Cole Slaw and Tartar Sauce. We only had room for a coffee after our meal which was a shame as I would have loved to try the Blueberry Skyr Cake. I'll make it a point to save room for desert next time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snorri V, General Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Lisa B.

It was lovely to have you at MAR and I am delighted you enjoyed all your food. We will try to make the fish portion a little smaller next time to make sure you have some Skyr cake.

We look forward to your next visit to Reykjavík.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Whale friendly”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We went on a whale watching trip and they encouraged us to avoid restaurants that served whale meat. They recommended MAR Restaurant which is just round the corner from the boats. We had an excellent meal. Quick and friendly service - I think we all had fish and chips - which was a generous portion. I recommend the chocolate cake desert special and liqueur coffee to follow!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ggiinnaa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snorri V, General Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear ggiinnaa1969.

Thank you for the short and sweet recommendation of MAR. We encourage everyone to focus on food other than whale meat and I am glad you enjoyed our selection and hope to see you again at MAR in the future.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonder of the Harbour in Reykjavík, the Pearl”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I just loved this resturant down by the Harbour in Reykjavík, the food was superb, each dish after another charmed and what fun was that it offered a seven-right party that every one was greatly surprised, tells with such a choice. Love was in the air the the aria that made me enjoyed that one even better, the hidden pearl worth measuring at 100%.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingunn Mjöll S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snorri V, General Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ingu Mjöll S.

Thank you for the lovely words about our food, service and atmosphere. We certainly will try to keep it up.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seltjarnarnes
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An interesting fusion menu”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The restaurant offers an interesting Icelandic-Latin fusion. I went there in a group of four, everybody had something different and all were pleased. I myself had plaice and can recommend it. The place is very reasonably price for a good restaurant in Iceland. Service was a bit slow, but the waitresses were nice and polite. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Solbrautin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snorri V, General Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Solbrautin.

Thank you for stopping by and I am glad you liked to the food. We are continually working on getting all service from the kitchen to the table streamlined and smooth and your comment certainly helps us to improve on these matters.

I hope to see you again at MAR soon.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAR Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to MAR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing