We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hostel, Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loft Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loft Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hostel, Great Location!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I loved this hostel! My boyfriend and I spent a week in Reykjavik, we stayed in a private double deluxe room. It was just like a hotel but at half the price. The hostel is very new and is extremely clean. I never saw a trash can anywhere go more than an hour before being changed. The bed was very comfortable and you get towels and linens included. The room had a few drawers for clothes and a little desk in the corner. The shower was a little small and the shower curtain would not stay put but it was a really great shower itself! We had a great view of the street below. Although, I would recommend ear plugs, especially if you're going to be there on a Friday or Saturday night. The club down the street plays really loud music until about 4am, and you can hear every word of the people on the street.

It is so centrally located, you can basically walk anywhere you want to go in the central part of the city. For the tours we booked we almost never paid for pickups. We just walked to the tour office/dock/etc. If you take the Iceland Excursions-Gray Line bus from the airport, just pay for the drop/off pick up at their bus station. It's a 3 minute walk to the hostel. You can even see the building when standing in the parking lot of the bus station.

The kitchen area is great and there is a grocery store right around the corner. We made our own breakfast and lunches most every day. There is also a lot of food left over on the free food shelves and we took advantage of that as well. Normally it kind of grosses me out to eat other people's leftovers but there was some food that was never even opened, still in the packaging. So that was great, and it helped us save money on the otherwise pricey dining scene in Iceland.

Happy hour is from 4-8 and a lot of times there are activities or live music going on. Overall I really loved this hostel. The staff was great and they were always willing to help with anything. (They especially liked to help my boyfriend play an April Fools prank on me, telling me they over booked and there were no rooms and we would have to sleep on the couches in the lounge) Our convertor broke while we were there and they let us borrow one for the whole week free of charge. They were great with helping us book tours and anything else we could have wanted. When we come back to Iceland we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    89
    20
    0
    7
See reviews for
20
53
156
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for a night. I found it was very homey with its wooden decoration in the bar and the guestroom hall ways. The best think I love about this hostel was each room has its own huge size bathroom and very bright. (i stayed in 6 people dorm room). The receptionist was helpful. The room was equipped with modern facilities- personal lockers under beds, personal light, comfortable bed, pillow and duvet. And I appreciate its big-enough elevator for heavy luggage travellers.

The only thing I found not that convenient was that the kitchen was situated next to the bar so you have to pass through the receptionist and the bar/cafeteria to reach it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Loft Hostel is a great little place right in the centre of Reykjavik. It has a combination of dorms and private rooms - ours was the latter and was perfectly comfortable, although the view wasn't great. The best thing about the Loft is the bar area - stylish decor, a 4-hour long happy hour(!) and regular events including games and bands. There's a kitchen so you can self-cater, but there are loads of restaurants and bars within the immediate area around the hostel.

Reykjavik is an expensive place, and the hostel isn't cheap, but it's certainly well located and the staff are helpful and will help you sort out your trips etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want a good view, but these rooms could be noisier on the weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

As someone who on principle can't bear hostels and had to stay in one as I was on a budget, I had an excellent experience at Loft. The staff is very, very friendly and helpful. I asked one of the girls at reception about things to do that evening and I was directed to 2 different galleries and bars, all of which were great. The showers are very clean, the beds are comfy, you have your own little nook where you can charge your phone and store some small items like cosmetics. Great wifi too, which is very important.
They have free shampoo/shower gel in the 3rd floor shower, basically things left over by other guests, which sounds icky but is actually not. They have a green policy so they recycle and reuse, without being on the hippy/dirty side.
If you're too tired to go out after a long day, you can read a book in the bar area. Don't worry if you haven't got any books with you as they have a great selection of books in English and Icelandic for guests to read.
They had different free events every night, including a poetry slam and a harp concert by Blew Harp. If you don't mind sharing a room with 7 people, then it's definitely the place to go.

Room Tip: Room 305, especially if you have the window bed, can get a bit loud during Friday and Saturday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elissavet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Perhaps. I've stayed in a few and this was definitely the best. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, perfect location, decent breakfast, clean stylish interior. I loved staying here and can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy on Friday/Saturday night due to nightlife in the area. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Loft Hostel is perfect in every possible way. It's located extremely centrally, has WiFi (very important!), a great vibe, very clean rooms, and extremely professional staff!

Would recommend to anyone ever going to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It is definitely one of the best Hostels I stayed so far. Everything went smooth. I stayed in a private room. This is a bit of a bad compromise. It is actually a two persons hostel-bed room and you have to pay for two beds, although you are a single person. This is a bit odd. What to do. However, breakfast is good, the view from the breakfast lounge and the terrace is excellent. Perfectly located in the very center of the town near the harbor. My room was quite, others reported a bit of a noise coming downstairs from a bar. And you have to check out by 10.00 hrs which is a bit early. But I would stay there again. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
958 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 53 in Reykjavik
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft Hostel

Property: Loft Hostel
Address: Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Loft Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loft, recently voted by guests as the best HI hostel worldwide for 2014. Loft is located downtown Reykjavik, on city's main street, next door to all the major attractions and buzzing nightlife. Loft boasts one of the finest views in town with its large top floor balcony cafe overlooking the center - a great spot to people watch or catch a glimpse of the northern lights in winter. Loft Cafe & Bar offers top quality Cemex coffee, beer from local breweries as well as some homemade sweet and savory treats. The famous (often vegetarian/vegan) Coocoo's Soup is served Mon-Fri from lunch. Fast and free WiFi throughout all areas. Facilities include guest kitchen with BBQ terrace. Free luggage storage during stay. Free Computer access. Board Games. Book Exchange. Children's Corner. Selections of great rooms! All rooms have complementary linen. All rooms are en suite. All 4-8 bedded rooms have lockers for valuables (bring your own lock or buy at the reception). Spacious 6 - 8 bedded dormitories (mixed / female only). Private 4-5 bedded rooms. Deluxe Double or budget Twin/Double rooms. Loft is an ECO certified HI Hostel. Inspiring events every week: live music, DJ's, movie nights, markets, art collaborations and unmissable hostel events featuring the best local talents. Foosball tournaments. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe & Bar is open 24 hours a day. We are there to help you out with anything; give you the local scoop on bars, restaurants, music-scene, the way out of town - and more. We arrange all excursions with complimentary pickup & drop off. Loft Team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loft Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing