We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hlemmur Square
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
4th Floor Hotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Klettur(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
496
448
179
47
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
448
179
47
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel hostelfemale dormbus stationbed dormtop bunkbathrooms and showersthe main streetcommon areasbar downstairsenjoyed my stayhappy hourstayed nightsblackout curtainsthe location is perfectshops and restaurantsdowntown reykjavikbread
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
996 - 1,001 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I chose it because it was the least expensive hostel I could find in the very expensive city of Reykjavik, however I would choose it again. It was clean and well-equipped and in a great location. The staff were pleasant and perfectly helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meaghan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hlemmur Square is a great place for backpacker!
Full equipment of kitchen, clean shared bathroom, public area is also nice.
Just remember to go to your room asap.
Some of the bed got the beam cross which may hit your head!

Room Tip: Don't choose the upper bed! Lower bed got more space.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ShellyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Although I have not had the pleasure of meeting everyone who works at Hlemmur Square, I'd say Klaus encompasses the spirit, Markus has the determination and Heida is the lifeblood. In their own way the rest of the staff help to complete HS. They work so hard and it's great to see that the owner keeps investing in the place. I'd come back just to see these guys, they are awesome.

The service is not only great but personable and they will attend to your every need if you ask them. They certainly did with me!

A bug melting pot of cultures, you will meet some very nice people who will be staying at HS - guaranteed.

Reykjavík has given me a whole new perspective to life, not for any particular reason - just something that was bound to happen to me at some point. The staff here helped to cement that realisation of mine. I will return to Iceland some day and hope that these great people are still here, and that they may not recognise how much they have helped reshape my outlook on life. I'll consider myself successful if they don't recognise me at first!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I've had a six bed dorm only for me, what promises a good sleep but makes you also feel a bit lone it'd you expect to get in touch with others.

The folks at the desk made a professional appearance and had answers to all questions. If not, they food out.

The kitchen provides that stuff for free others have left. Great idea.

The only minus gives the connection door to the other rooms section. Men's toilet is at the one, women's at the other side Dio be sure the door smashes during night. The installation of a damper should solve this. The squeeking door made a better job after bringing it up at the desk but still was clearly hearable. Fixing those things would earn it five stars.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank TomInvasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel/hostel is in the perfect location and offers a variety of rooms. The king size rooms are very nicely laid out the bathrooms are very stylish and comfortable. The views from 5th floor werent the best but I wasnt in the room much so it isnt a big issue. Breakfast was a slight let down, having told that we had paid for breakfast but due to the fact the kitchen was closed it would only be a small buffet breakfast (cereal, ham and cheese and bread). Feel a bit let down as no refund for breakfast was offered. The staff at breakfast were useless, no milk out, no orange juice out, you had to annoy them to get you a cup of tea as only coffee was available on the counter. Very miserable as well, not what you want to see in morning! The staff at reception were very helpful and friendly, the owner was fantastic and had a great sense of humour. The bar staff at night (Heidi) among others were brilliant, chatted to guests quick service and helpful, always a smile on her face. The alcohol wasnt badly priced even out of happy hour. I met a few backpackers in the bar area and it had a great social buzz - as long as youre not afraid to start up converstaion. Location - couldnt have asked for better, out the door turn right and your on the main street with lots of different restaurants and bars. I highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzieadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews