We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
Review of Bed and Books

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Books
Ranked #27 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hugo and Karlotta were the perfect hosts. We loved coming back here after exploring Iceland and always felt relaxed and comfortable. It felt like staying at a friends house. I highly recommend staying at Bed and Books... Only one request for when we come next time, it would be great to have some local rye breads to go with your amazing homemade chocolate spread at breakfast time. Hope to see you both soon, Mel and Helen

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaScotland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very nice and helpful staff make u feel at home from the very first moment. A good and warm introduction into the icelandic way of life. Very clean and wellkept place not too far from the city center. Absolutely a good choice to start your icelandic adventure !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Bed and Books is a little gem waiting to be discovered. A beautifully kept house with a warm welcome and two friendly, knowledgeable, well-travelled hosts who can help you get the most out of your trip. Both the rooms and the communal areas are comfortable and the breakfast is terrific - don't miss Hugo's home-made chocolate spread. The BSI bus terminal is 10 minutes walk away through the University nature reserve and the coastal walk is perfect for a stroll.
Hugo and Karlotta are full of useful information about Reykjavik other areas of Iceland. Being well travelled themselves, they clearly understand the needs of other travellers and have put together a fabulous place to stay that knocks the big bland hotels into a cocked hat.They are happy to chat and share information if you want to socialise, but if you've had a tiring day and just want to snooze about with a book then personal, quiet space is respected too.
The domestic airport is nearby, perfect for anyone venturing further afield. The planes using the airport are small and there is no noise disturbance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spangleddrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at Karlottas and Hugos house for three nights. From the first impression when I entered the house until I left, I always felt very welcomed. The cozy house is located in a calm street just 15 minutes away from the city centre.
The wooden floors, the charming rooms and books everywhere - wonderful. Hugos tips where to go for dining out or exploring the countryside were very useful.
I can really recommend staying there and, for sure, whenever I am going to Reykjavik again I will knock on their door!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Didi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

i stayed for 7 nights at the bed and Books, Hugo and Carlotta are very nice people.
You feel like you are at your place.
It is 10 min away from the center of the city, arround 15 min from the bus station and only 2 min away from the sea.
the street is so calm.
the house is great, the room are perfect and the home made chocolate (by Hugo) is so delicious.
Simply the perfect place to stay once in Reykjavik.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank fany387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I when there a few days for a friends reunion and i can say that we've picked the perfect place for a few days in Reykjavik. The place is a typical Icelandic house 10mn away from the city center, it has four or five bedroom, two large living room, dining room and a lovely garden.The place is surrounded with books so if you feel a bit tired you can peak a book of any language and stay in for a read. Hugo and Carlotta are great hosts, they made us feel at home and had this great little tips on where to eat great Icelandic food and of course places to go for a drink or two in the city. There is no night life in Reykjavik at this time of year because is day light 24/7 hahaha!! it was a great experience, we had a great time at this b&Book and i will definitely come back. I've traveled a bit and i found Iceland the most intriguing place i visited so far!!
La bete des voges!!

Room Tip: some room are bigger than other so if your a couple ask for a large room and hugo will do is best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Great little bed and breakfast, very new, but done right. Hugo and Carlotta were wonderful hosts and are working to improve the place even more. So I'm not giving it a perfect score yet -- give them a chance to polish one more floor, get one more set of darkening bedroom curtains, etc., all things in planning stages. It was her family house, now modernized a bit and converted to B&B. Full of books, Carlotta's mother was a librarian and she's herself a translator (lots of dictionaries in many languages!). Hugo is French, with excellent English, but don't expect much Icelandic from him. My daughter and I are vigorous walkers, so the fact it is 15 minutes walk from the center of "downtown" Reykjavik didn't bother us at all-- past the beautiful lake, museums and points of interest, and we ate at the best of restaurants downtown, even walking back late at night without any problems. The B&B is in a pretty residential neighborhood near the university on one side and the Reykjavik airport on the other (flight patterns weren't over the house, so no noise bother), very convenient for in-country excursions, and also not far from the bus terminal, for road excursions and bus to international airport at Keflavik. We were very happy there and the price was right!

Room Tip: Currently only 3 guest rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Igdlo Guesthouse
#13 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Gardur
Hotel Gardur
#51 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
27 Soley Apartment Hotel
#17 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba Guesthouse
#44 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Blue House
#8 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Háaleiti
Guesthouse Summer Day
Guesthouse Summer Day
#74 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Books

Property: Bed and Books
Address: Thjorsargata 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed and Books reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing