We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Iceland!”
Review of Bed and Books

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Books
Ranked #30 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great welcoming in this cosy Icelandic bed and breakfast.
Well located the place is just very friendly and the hosts (an Icelandic/French couple) are extremely helpful and funny!
A warm place in the cold Iceland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrien b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Bed and books is great charming and cozy place. Hugo and Karlotta are simply delightfull hosts. I went there with my 3 years old boy, right away he felt at ease and could play in the second living rooms without disturbing anybody.
There is also a wide choice of kids dvds and games. A great point is that the sea front is only a short walk from the house so plenty of space for him to run, if not in the garden.
The place is also very quiet, very clean and tidy and 5 mins to the domestic airport which is great if you are planning to travel around by plane.
We will come again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastien c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hugo and Karlotta were the perfect hosts. We loved coming back here after exploring Iceland and always felt relaxed and comfortable. It felt like staying at a friends house. I highly recommend staying at Bed and Books... Only one request for when we come next time, it would be great to have some local rye breads to go with your amazing homemade chocolate spread at breakfast time. Hope to see you both soon, Mel and Helen

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaScotland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very nice and helpful staff make u feel at home from the very first moment. A good and warm introduction into the icelandic way of life. Very clean and wellkept place not too far from the city center. Absolutely a good choice to start your icelandic adventure !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Bed and Books is a little gem waiting to be discovered. A beautifully kept house with a warm welcome and two friendly, knowledgeable, well-travelled hosts who can help you get the most out of your trip. Both the rooms and the communal areas are comfortable and the breakfast is terrific - don't miss Hugo's home-made chocolate spread. The BSI bus terminal is 10 minutes walk away through the University nature reserve and the coastal walk is perfect for a stroll.
Hugo and Karlotta are full of useful information about Reykjavik other areas of Iceland. Being well travelled themselves, they clearly understand the needs of other travellers and have put together a fabulous place to stay that knocks the big bland hotels into a cocked hat.They are happy to chat and share information if you want to socialise, but if you've had a tiring day and just want to snooze about with a book then personal, quiet space is respected too.
The domestic airport is nearby, perfect for anyone venturing further afield. The planes using the airport are small and there is no noise disturbance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spangleddrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at Karlottas and Hugos house for three nights. From the first impression when I entered the house until I left, I always felt very welcomed. The cozy house is located in a calm street just 15 minutes away from the city centre.
The wooden floors, the charming rooms and books everywhere - wonderful. Hugos tips where to go for dining out or exploring the countryside were very useful.
I can really recommend staying there and, for sure, whenever I am going to Reykjavik again I will knock on their door!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Didi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

i stayed for 7 nights at the bed and Books, Hugo and Carlotta are very nice people.
You feel like you are at your place.
It is 10 min away from the center of the city, arround 15 min from the bus station and only 2 min away from the sea.
the street is so calm.
the house is great, the room are perfect and the home made chocolate (by Hugo) is so delicious.
Simply the perfect place to stay once in Reykjavik.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank fany387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Freyja Guesthouse & Suites
Freyja Guesthouse & Suites
#14 of 109 in Reykjavik
42 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,160 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,888 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Books

Address: Thjorsargata 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £136 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Books reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing