We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about staying in any other hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in late October 2013. We had a studio apartment-style room on the top deck. The rooms are all thermo heated and are extremely warm and comfortable. That particular room-type is the perfect size to spread out, cook and just relax. The staff is AMAZING. Inga, Jackie and Hiroko are top notch hosts who will go out of their way to help with anything you need at any time of day or night. They are pleasant, knowledgeable and will treat you like an old friend with lots of smiles. The hotel has a wonderful breakfast area and the staff will make up a yummy plate for you with plenty of food on it. It was a wonderful way to begin every day. It is also a hot spot for nightlife.The hotel is near everything, like great sights, beautiful towns and fantastic restaurants. The people in Reykjavik in general, are friendly and happy. Kvosin Hotel is worth every cent and we look forward to staying there again one summer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Donna!

I think I speak on behalf of all the staff when I say; ours was the pleasure! We loved having you over and encourage you to book a ticket for Iceland this summer (it's totally different in summer time, -we promise),

Thank you for you kind words, and above all, thank you for staying with us!

See you soon!
Inga and the Kvosin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Kvosin Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here as a family of five. Room was prefect, well equipped. Shower was lovely. It was centrally located, close to the centre and just next to the City Hall and lake. Staff were extremely helpful from lending us an iphone charger for the length of our stay to Igna making my daughter a card for her birthday. Nothing seemed to be any bother to them.

As others have mentioned the hotel is just above a wine bar which can get noisy at the weekends. Bars are open late in Reykjavik so worth bearing this in mind.

Breakfast was fine, you get the same platter each day but can vary the bits and pieces you add to it so its not too repetitive. Teas and coffees are plentiful and yes do try the smoothie.

Many, many thanks to all the staff......wonderful weekend in Iceland

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy at the weekend, try and choose a room to the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairecglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Claire!

Thank you for your kind words! It was great to have you guys staying with us, we always enjoy guests who are up for a chat!

I'm glad your daughter like the card. My pleasure!

With best wishes from cold, old Iceland!
Inga from the Kvosin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you're looking for a nice, clean, comfortable hotel in the dead center of everything, Kvosin is for you! Not only is the hotel itself very nice - with fully equipped and beautiful rooms, big showers, and comfortable beds - but the complementary breakfast is quite frankly the best I've ever received at a hotel. Try the green smoothie! It's fabulous.

In addition to being an awesome hotel, Kovsin is located in the literal center of everything. While staying there, my traveling companion and I were able to enjoy downtown Reykjavik for dinner and drinks and then be back in our rooms with virtually no effort! The major sights and attractions are also walking distance, as are the departure points for many of the biggest and best tours.

Essentially: great hotel, great breakfast, great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mamannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Mamannin

Wow, I'm sure glad you loved the breakfast! We're particularly happy with the fresh sourdough bread and the homemade hummus. It's just so fresh!

Be very sure to come back, maybe in the summer, this time?

Greetings,
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Kvosin, located right in the heart of Reykjavik any service is very close by. The rooms are beautiful, equipped with everything you need. The staff was really helpful and fun to talk to and the breakfast was fantastic!

I do recommend Kvosin for everyone, traveling solo, with the family or friends.
You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidmarsigurdsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Davíð Már

Thank you for your concise and positive review. Welcome back again!

Bestu kveðjur,
Starfsfólk Kvosarinnar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We (a family of 4, two kids) stayed at the Kvosin hotel at the end of August and for the most part enjoyed it.

The hotel is really well located- walking distance from pretty much everything in downtown Reykjavik. The hotel was relatively new and we often had to tell Taxi drivers how to get there. There are plenty of food choices nearby and a taxi stand was easily found a block away.

We chose the hotel because it had a two-bedroom family room. This suite also had a dining room, a small kitchenette, and a small living room with a couch and a TV. The decor was very stylish and the beds were extremely comfortable. The shower was attached to one bedroom. One negative was that there was really nowhere to store clothes beyond some book shelves.

As others have noted, Reykjavik can get a little noisy at night. The hotel is above a wine bar with other restaurants/bars nearby. If you're a light sleeper, this is probably not the city for you.

Breakfast was included and served at the attached cafe. The food, especially the homemade bread, was delicious. But after a few days, it got a little monotonous- essentially the same food each day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear "Not Stiller"

Thank you for your review. I'm well aware of the lack of wardrobes, but we're happy to provide luggage racks upon request.

As new and new hotels have sprung up in Iceland in the last years, taxi drivers are still being a bit confused. It's becoming rarer and rarer though.

The sourdough bread is ridiculously delicious, isn't it? I hope you were offered some choices with your breakfast, in order to ease out the repetitiveness.

Thank you again, and see you soon!
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great place in the centre of town. Kvosin is recently restored, the rooms are quirky and interesting, and made up to a high standard. Really enjoyed our stay in one of their middle-sized rooms which turned out to be a small suite. The staff were interesting and helpful. And the breakfast was a lot better than we've found in other Iceland hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Colin!

Thank you for your kind words! We're glad you like the breakfast! They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so I'm hoping that it was the appropriate start for your adventurous days in Iceland!

Greetings,
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Apologies to the Kvosin Hotel> the excursion was supplied by an independent supplier and not the Hotel and whilst the excursion was non refundable, we at Clearsky chose to refund Mr williams and many other customers as we felt this was our responsibilty. The 5 out of 5 review was most certainly warranted and we would recommend the Hotel to anyone thinking of travelling.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for clearing this up!

Greetings,
The Kvosin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,711 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kvosin Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Address: Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £195 - £648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kvosin Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kvosin Downtown Hotel is a boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of Reykjavík´s entertainment and cultural district, in a recently renovated historical building. Kvosin has the largest hotel rooms in Reykjavík, individually decorated in modern Scandinavian style, with artwork by local artists. All our rooms have a kitchen island, perfect for families and self catering guests. The unique design of the hotel gives guests plenty of private and public deck space to take in the midnight sun or possibly the northern lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kvosin Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing