We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$319
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$508
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$477
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$568
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$548
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveller rating
544
133
26
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
133
26
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbergsson mathuskitchen islandparliament buildingnespresso coffee makerperfect locationbigger roomloved this hotelstove topsofa bedfantastic hotelsmall kitchenettedinner reservationscomfortable bedsstaff was extremely helpfulboutique hotelthe hotel staffsitting area
Filter
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 715 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked for 6 nights but stayed for 7 because of an airline strike at the Kvosin Downtown Hotel. We stayed in room 102 on the ground floor at the back, facing a courtyard. The room had plenty of space, great coffee maker, and Aveda bath products. It was also amazingly quiet, with a really comfy bed. Breakfast, which is included in the price of the room was delicious, and plentiful. I highly recommend the Green Magic smoothie. The entire city is virtually at your doorstep, as the hotel is in a super location, just minutes from everything, restaurants, museums, shops, liquor store. The staff, Gunnar, Inga, Sergii, are very friendly, and will help with whatever you need. Just ask! Special thanks to Gunnar and Inga for all your extra assistance because of the strike. We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nhroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear nhroadster

We're so grateful for your kind words! The strike, albeit unfortunate, meant you could spend more time in Reykjavík, so I hope it was not all bad! And surely you'll come back soon, right?

We were happy to be of some assistance and I'll be sure to high five Gunnar and Sergii from you!

All the best from rainy but ravishing Reykjavík,
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the Kvosin for two nights during our recent visit to Reykjavik. We had in fact only intended to stay one night, but decided to return after our first experience. All of the staff are very welcoming and their whole approach feels very personal. We had a perfect room for a family with two bedrooms on either side of a living area.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear SKWLondon

Thank you so much for this concise and positive review. We were so glad that you and your happy family decided to visit us again and we'll be overjoyed to welcome you in the future! (You know, northern lights are a must see!).

Greetings from Reykjavik,
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Kvosin after a week of heli skiing near Akuyeri. The hotel, as seems to be the norm in Reykjavik, was expensive (E320 in our case) - strange given we had, for example, the tasting menu and wine at Grill Market for GBP80 per head. The hotel has a cracking location and we really liked the fit out of the rooms. The kitchenette, including a nespresso machine (if you like coffee, go to Reykjavik Roasters - they serve an excellent aeropress and batch brew), is a great idea and the Aveda toiletries (shower gel, conditioner and shampoo, but no body lotion) were a nice touch. The room was a little dusty, with a rogue chocolate raisin nestled by the bin, and the loo seat was loose. Given the otherwise high standard of the room, this was surprising. Our other issue was breakfast at the adjoining but separate (you can't put a coffee on your room) Bergsson Mathus cafe - hopefully a moot point in a few months once the hotel has its own dedicated food service. On the first morning, we had to wait 45 minutes for a hair-shirted plate of food (whilst cafe guests who had arrived after us were served before us - and with much heartier fare) and were told that we had to pay extra if we wanted something other than the ropey drip coffee. Credit to the ever helpful Sergei on the front desk for giving us a green smoothie to fill the gap, however, the second day was more of the same albeit with a shorter wait. Given the description of the breakfast in our room, we couldn't have been more disappointed. If Kvosin refocuses on the details and fixes it's breakfast offer, we'll have no issues recommending friends.

Room Tip: Avoid a room fronting Kirkjutorg - our friends had a very noisy first night. Credit to the hotel, they were moved the next day.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenguinandSpecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Penguine and Special

Thank you for taking the time for this valuable feedback.
I agree, Reykjavik Roasters are most excellent at what they do, -I'm a huge fan as well.

I'm sorry for your breakfast experience. We have showed the picture you sent us to the restaurant manager and they are very sorry as well. We will make sure that they shift gears and set into summer season mode and sort this out.

We tried our best to accommodate your needs and hope you're overall happy with your stay.

Best regards,
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked the Kvosin Downtown having been recommended by Pink Iceland (see separate review) for a 4 night stay to celebrate my partner's 40th Birthday. Located about 5 minutes from the harbour and the main shopping streets the hotel provides an excellent base to explore the City. As soon as we walked in the door we were made to feel welcome and that feeling didn't stop throughout our stay. We had booked a "loft bigger" room and this turned out to be an excellent selection. Plenty of space and very comfortable. The one negative would be the shortage of drawer / hanging space which meant we kept the majority of our things in the suitcase but this did not detract from the overall comfort of the room. The Nespresso machine meant we had hot water on tap with daily refreshed coffee pods. There is a fridge and cooker (should you so wish) but there are plenty of good places to eat in Reykjavik I would doubt the cooker would ever be used. The bed was very comfortable, although trying to go to sleep with the daylight outside was a bit of a challenge at first but by the time we had done the various tours out we were tired enough not to notice. The room is fitted with blackout blinds so sleeping really is not a problem. The bathroom is supplied with large quantities of good quality Aveda toiletries and nice white towels. Breakfast is served in the adjacent cafe / restaurant and is good quality and plenty of it, with the ability to add more should you so wish from the on-site bakery. When we stayed the hotel was renovating / creating some more rooms and they were in the process of developing an on site bar and restaurant which when completed should make the experience even better. If you want a relaxing stay in a great location choose the Kvosin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanMay1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear AlanMay1961

Many thanks for your nice review. We enjoy working with Pink Iceland, -Hannes, Guðni and the whole team are professional, fun and fabulous!

We're pleased that Iceland proved to be the perfect spot to celebrate your occasion and will be happy to see you again for your next big life event!

Take care,
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kvosin Hotel. The room was well appointed and clean. The staff was wonderful, particularly Vardi, who was awesome! He was so kind, friendly, and accommodating, while maintaining a high level of professionalism. He helped us by swiftly addressing a minor issue with our room. The breakfast there was quite substantial and delicious. The variety of choices were enough to please anyone. The location is perfect, right in the center of town but quiet. It's quite easy to walk from there to everything, situated in the center, with town on one side and the marina on the other.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Maria K

Thank you for your excellent review. And yes, we agree; Varði is awesome! He's been with us right from the start and has been doing a great job.

Be sure to come back someday!
Best wishes,
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews