We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and cosy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Hammaro, Sweden
1 review
“Modern and cosy!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Considering what we paid for our stay I didn't expect much. However, the hotel was a perfect fit for travelers not willing to spend a fortune on a hotel. It is new and still very modern. The design is a mixture of old nordic symbols and ultra-modern clean shapes. The interior is painted in cool colors, blue and grey, yet the hotel is very cosy and you feel at home. The rooms are clean, quite small but with a personal touch. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast buffé is just enough, with bread, toast, cereal and fruit. The hotel is a bit out of town, but if you don't feel like walking there are busses taking you into town center.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    611
    125
    22
    8
See reviews for
200
698
79
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Reykjavik Lights Hotel was part of our package with Icelandic Travel so we did not specifically choose it for our visit to Iceland. I might have chosen it based on the friendly and helpful staff though.

The room was small and minimalist but was adequate for the three nights we spent. The bathroom was tiny but the rain shower with great hot water was terrific. The free wi-fi worked very well but the TV channel selection was limited and we mostly listened to a great oldies audio channel. Based on the emergency chart in the room the hotel appears to have some larger rooms available.

Check-in was one factor in downgrading my rating. When the hotel knows that a bus load of people are coming in then they should staff up the front desk. At the start only one person was checking in guests and it was a long wait to get our room after an over night flight. Breakfast was a definite pick me up with a great selection of breads, cold cuts, and cereals with the addition of the Iceland yogurt.

The Lights is about two miles from the center of Reykjavik so it is well away from most shops and restaurants. There is a small selection of ethnic restaurants within walking distance; Vietnamese, pizza, latin, etc. Just because it is outside the center does not mean that you miss out on the tours of the country offered by several companies. The hotel staff helped us to schedule several tours and the pick-ups for them. They even made the suggestion that we do the Blue Lagoon on the way to the airport instead of going there and back and then to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKBlueCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was a fantastic hotel. The rooms, though small, were spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. The hotel itself was well designed and the staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. It's not in the centre of the city but as Reykjavik is so small this is hardly an issue. The hotel is near one of the biggest thermal pools in the area and it is a pleasant walk down to the harbour side and thence into town. I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to explore the city and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jarethshair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel was excellent. Very clean, breakfast tasted great, the rooms/decor/color scheme were beautiful, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. You can exchange currency at the Islandsbanki next door. Their is a bit of a walk to downtown (approx. 20 min.), but we actually enjoyed it, and with Reykjavik being a very safe place the only thing you'll need to worry about is a windbreaking jacket!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great Hotel - Nordic quality, spartan but clean, bright, functional,warm. Excellent beds. Fantastic helpful staff. For all the complaints about position it is very close to the Hilton, Park Inn and Rekjavik Grand - so it is ok for them! Try the bus - it works well - the whole trip was an adventure - try a walk half way & bus the rest is a compromise. Close enough to walk down to the Bay for a stroll and back in an hour. We took several trips and there is always the option to finish the trip in the center of town & not be taken back to the hotel. Only niggle was no tea/coffee making in the room but we asked at the bar a couple of times (outside breakfast time) it was made for us at no cost ( don't know if that is the norm but as ever, hotel staff respond in kind to pleasant manners!) - at breakfast on one day they were happy to give me a tray to make a selection & take it back to the room - self service but you get what you want when you want it! - At the reasonable cost we paid I would recommend this hotel as all part of the 'can do' iceland experience! We pre - booked our trips and they were all fine. Probably weather dependent but that is Iceland!- they do their best.

Room Tip: Just ask - if it is available I am sure they will oblige if they can. There do seem to be several ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stilliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was clean, modern and the staff were very friendly. The downside was predominantly the location for us since we didn't hire a car. The trips we had booked all got cancelled but we were not informed by the hotel. They said they had tried to ring around the rooms to let people know but there were several guests who had been waiting in their rooms all day and had not been called.

Because the hotel was not within walking distance of the centre, you couldn't change your plans easily without booking a taxi, which left us not making the most of our time there. If we had been nearer he centre we could have just popped out for a walk around. Taxis were easy to come by but we found Iceland very expensive and couldn't afford taxis everywhere!

We walked to a nearby outdoor swimming pool one day but had not got swimwear so decided to buy it there. Little did we know how expensive it would be; £60 plus for a swimming costume!

I would recommend the hotel but advise you to check at reception that your trip is not cancelled and consider hiring a car!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is new, and the rooms are quite small, but immaculately clean. The staff and helpful and friendly and breakfast is very good. It's not in the city centre, but the bus service from the stop opposite the hotel is regular and the journey to Hlemmur Bus Station takes 3 minutes, then change there and it's another 3 minutes to downtown. The views across to the mountains from the hotel are beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013Iain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,563 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
991 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
452 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels

Property: Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing