We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw the lights from the Lights Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“We saw the lights from the Lights Hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had been promised a superior room subject to availability, but on checking in were told all the rooms were the same and that "superior" meant only that they were at the front facing the sea (but quite a hike away). We were given room 403, perfectly adequate in a miniature, compact kind of way. In fact the sink in the bathroom must be the tiniest I've ever seen, but really it doesn't matter unless you planned to stay for ages - for up to a week there is adequate room. The shower is hot, plenty of oomph, and nice towels. Personally I dont like the modern fad for the shower to be on the same level as the bathroom with no door - it literally does swamp everything, so "wet room" becomes a very good description, and results in the user cowering in a corner to stop towels getting soaked. A suggestion would be more hooks away from the wet zone! Don't look for frills or extras, no kettle, no shower cap, and only one pillow each.But as its new everything is ultra clean and the bedding is hypoallergenic and wonderful. The room is extremely warm but a window opens. For some the main drawback will be the long walk to the centre, a 25 minute walk, but there are plenty of buses. The younger staff were very friendly and helpful. The other possible serious drawback is the thinness of the walls, not only could we hear people talking next door we could even hear snoring, very clearly. The oversize tv is the only large thing in the room.
Breakfast is adequate with some nice extra touches, rollmops, chocolate digestive biscuits, pastries, good bread. But a very functional, gloomy, windowless room, with another strange fad, that of bare air conditioning pipes everywhere, and the awful sound of chairs scraping on the wooden floor and the crashing and clanking of the clearing trolley. Its all diy including grabbing your own crockery and cutlery. Breakfast is 7-10 am and by 6 minutes past 10 the entire lot had been whisked away.
Decide for yourself whether the downstairs is minimalist and trendy - or dark and gloomy, sparse and bland.
Personally in the depths of the Icelandic winter when it is "light" - or "lighter" - only between 11am and 3pm, I would have thought a bit of cheerful colour and light might help with the SADS!
There are some reasonably priced restaurants very nearby as well as other shops - in fact I had my hair coloured and bought 3 pairs of shoes from neighbouring shops!
Would I stay here again in spite of the risk of noisy neighbours in the adjoining room and the distance from the town center? Yes, I would, because I saw the northern lights from the hotel entrance, which has endeared the hotel to me, plus the enthusiasm of the receptionists, who understand how much the guests are keen to see the lights and are ready with hot drinks when the party returns half frozen in the early hours.

Room Tip: I was in 403, I can't comment on any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fourviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    611
    125
    22
    8
See reviews for
200
698
79
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The people working at Reykjavik Lights are very friendly and helpful. They have an excellent staff, who follow up your request. Of course the accommodation is a very important asset, along with the city you're visiting and exploring. But a good staff makes your stay even more worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annick1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at end of November and would recommend this hotel. We knew to take a travel kettle and coffee sachets, as there is nothing in the room. Only one english speaking TV channel (Chinese/American news) and BBC world service on radio. Close to the public swimming pool (incl outdoor thermal pool) and the botanic gardens with mini zoo but in November, not much to see! The walk into town is a straight line even though some might find it a bit far, but no problem for us. I liked the Kruska and pizza restaurants next door, especially being vegetarian they were really good. There is a 24hr convenience store/mini-mart 10 minutes away (round the corner from the Hilton) and that was handy to stock up on some cheaper snacks! The staff were really helpful and friendly, there's free wi-fi and overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBofD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

You could not fault the hotel in most respects - very clean and tasteful, comfortable beds, super service from staff plus welcoming bar.
However, if you are there in the winter, unless you have an evening activity (eg. aurora borealis), you are a bit stuck for something to do. Outside it is dark, cold, snow underfoot and difficult to travel to the city centre. We would choose a central Reykjavik hotel if we returned in winter so that we could go shopping and have a wide choice of restaurants.
Two further caveats - breakfast was fine (cereals, cheese, cold meats) but there was nothing hot; there was no kettle to make tea/coffee in the bedroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

It is a brand new hotel with excellent service. We stayed in this hotel at the end of November/beginning of December. We had our own car and we were not visiting Reykjavik city's centre from this hotel so the location was great. However our room was on the side of the busy road and I think in the summer, with light nearly 24h/7 it could be a problem for someone to fall a sleep. Rooms are of ok size and Icelandic theme designs (e.g. writing in Runs). Bathrooms are rather small, but it is not a disaster. TV with a number of foreigner channels. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room. WIFI is free in this hotel.
We stayed two nights and on the second night when we got back to our room we found swans made of towels on our bed, which was really lovely. We also paid a very reasonable price for this hotel and I must say, it was the cheapest hotel we stayed in Iceland but probably the best (my partner's a definitive favourite).
Breakfast was good, a continental one with porridge as the only hot option, but with plenty of other choices and lovely fresh dark bread, fruits etc
The reception guys were lovely and very helpful. We went on a trip to see Northern Lights (not a very successful one) organised by someone else but we were picked up and dropped off at the hotel, we got back after midnight and the reception guy offered everyone tea and coffee, even though the bar was closed (only open till 11 pm, with happy hour between 4-6pm, when beer and wine are around 400 or 500 ISK). We were all very cold (and disappointed) so it was very nice of him to offer us a hot drink.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try rooms on the opposite side to the road as the road can get very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel very clean and quiet, 7 floors 80 room and I was on top floor rm 711 facing ocean so had a nice view when it was sunny.
Breakfast wasn't bad just continental, not large spread and only hot option was porridge.
Only issues is it's about 5km from the old town so if the weather is very bad you'll need a taxi

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Basic Icelandic style hotel, rooms very clean and adequate for our four night stay. Trip enhanced by excellent cheerful and helpful staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. They even provided food and drink before our departure at 03.30am on a Sunday morning without us asking for it! Don't be put off by the fact it's a little bit out of town, 25 minute walk to the centre, or a short taxi or bus ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front on an upper floor to get a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,562 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
989 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
450 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels

Property: Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing