We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for city trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very clean hotel and nice and warm. Good breakfast included. Walk into the city takes about 30 minutes. Only criticism is no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Helpful staff on reception who will help book tours and organise transfers etc. Nice pizza restaurant next door for when you just can't face walking any further for a meal!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirkJegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

I had the experience of staying here immediately following the Hilton Nordica. I will say that for a business traveler, I don't think this hotel is perfect by any means -- BUT it is good. The bar is cute, the lounge is nice, decent breakfast and good location (not downtown but not far from it either, you can take a cab or walk). The hotel is super clean, with comfortable beds. Good room service.

What I did not like was the lack of business services -- no laundry (this is huge if you are staying here for over a week as I have). No coffee machine in the room, which is downright deplorable to me, you can at LEAST have a water boiler and some instant coffee. The bar downstairs is cute but if you miss happy hour the drinks are way overpriced... they are serving a LOT of Americans (I was sitting around watching people) -- 1400ISK for a drink is nuts, and it is not like they are serving high end wine (even the Brits and others I was with thought so). No iron or ironing board in the room and more importantly no desk space. I have a weird half counter that extends underneath my TV, what is that for exactly? A small computer cannot fit on it. You can't put your legs under it. Why would you literally sit underneath your TV? It's all IKEA furniture, very "budget Scandinavian."

It's trendy, in the young hip backpacker kind of way (I loved the orange suspenders the front desk guys wear, though when I checked in he was kind of rude because I couldn't hear him and he had to repeat himself, frustratedly, 10x to ask for my card. It's not because I'm an ignoramus, it's because it was loud and I could literally not near what he said). I am 29 and I am too old for this place at this time, having come here for a week+ long conference, but if I were coming here on vacation and it was affordable I might stay again. I hated the fact that they didn't have in-room dining or any restaurant on site but there is a decent pizza place next to it, so you are not SOL on food when you are too tired to find a restaurant. Only maybe 5 TV stations too, the rest are radio only, what is up with that? Can I at least watch BBC World, or do I only have to listen to it with a black screen?

Overall this is nice at $100 or so a night, but if you have to pay much more I would say find somewhere else. I am partially spoiled and have higher expectations traveling on business (no iron or coffee machine, come ON) but the hotel is nice and the rooms are rather spacious for Europe. This is Iceland, though, you can expect a bit more space. I would stay here again for a low-frill stay when I was not staying at the hotel for long but again it is missing vital amenities for a business traveler. I think they just put us here to check it out since it is new, and it is nice. Whether or not you enjoy your stay depends on your purpose here in Reykjavik. For what (else) it's worth, breakfast is good, plenty of options, European continental is far better than American continental and they have good bread.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyrannosauruswrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Our first trip to Iceland and hotel was part of our package. Room and facilities fine for a short stay, and design and layout of public areas good. Although not in the central area,we enjoyed the walk down to the old centre of the town - about 20 to 30 minutes depending on pace and how many places we window shopped on the way! Pleasant and helpful staff. Mainluy used by folks on short breaks from a variety of companies. Be aware that bar purchases cannot be charged to your rooom, but not really an issue since you can use cards for even pretty small amounts at the bar. We would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Recently stayed at the Reykjavik Lights Hotel for 3 nights and were completely satisfied with everything. The staff, cleanliness and comfort was excellent and breakfast although the same everyday was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had a lovely stay here, yes, the rooms are not enormous, but ours was clean and warm. The rain shower was lovely.The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is continental and lots of choice.
Unfortunately we didn't get to see the lights, the tour was cancelled twice, but we had an excellent time at the Ishstar lava tour, it was beautiful. Also lots to explore in the town centre, and a 10 minute walk to the pool which is very cheap, and quite an experience swimming in -1 degrees and snow!
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jam92564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Very nice, fairly new (I think) hotel. Rooms smallish, but warm, bright, clean. Comfortable bed, big TV, lovely bathroom.
Little far out of city centre (about 20min walk) but not a real problem. Buses and taxis available.
Hotel staff helpful, though it did seem a bit short-staffed at points; queues at checkout etc. But the will book bus-trips and activities, and seem to have lots of information at their disposal.
Breakfast plentiful;- cereals, yoghurt, tea/coffee, juice, ham/cheese, bread etc.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the main road (5th floor) and there was little noise from traffic. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The staff were very friendly and the customer service was amazing, even when booking excursions. Everything was straightforward. Bed was very comfy, had one of the best nights sleeps after a long time. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Iceland. Although the location is just outside of the centre (20 mins walk!) transport links are close and taxi service are very prompt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bahia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 54 in Reykjavik
714 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £118 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing