We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a very nice, clean, modern hotel. The rooms were small but well designed to make the most of the available space. For a 3 night stay this wasn't a problem. Our room was very warm and cosy, and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly, good selection of food at the breakfast buffet - no cooked food though. Free tea & coffee at the bar, which we unfortunately didn't find out until the last day!

Location is ok, it's about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Reykjavik but there are regular buses from right outside. There are several restaurants & cafes on the same block, 2 of which we tried and both were lovely.

We stayed as part of a package trip booked through Fleetway Travel and all pre-booked excursions picked up and dropped off at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raisinchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed for 4 nights on a Northern Lights package trip, the hotel was warm, clean and modern. It is just about the furthest one from the centre of Reykjavik, about a twenty minute walk in along the harbour. But there is a bus stop across the road and the stop to get off on the way back is outside The Hilton a couple of minutes down the road. We also used taxis a couple of times as there were four of us and the hotel was happy to order us one and then we just asked restaurants we had dinner in to order us one to get back to the hotel. It's not the cheapest transport option but no more expensive than using a cab in London.
Some people appear to have found reception staff a bit rude but we asked them questions a couple of times a day and they were always very helpful, Icelandic people don't like to use superfluous words apparently so maybe that's it. It must also get a bit tedious answering the same questions again and again!
We had a twin room and it was a decent size and had everything we needed.
To sum up its a modern, clean hotel, which I would not hesitate to visit again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Zhoecjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

lovely located and clean hotel,not in the middle of the town,about a 10minute walk to town,restaurants all close by ,steak house ,pizza ,mexican,chinese,all within 5 minutes walk,arboretum 2 minute walk,only downer was no cooked breakfast,or kettle in the room,(we took our own)

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front ,good views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manorjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

stayed here for 3 nights in march with my boyfriend, and was really impressed with the hotel for the price i had paid. booked with fleetway travel and managed to get our acom, transfers 2x trips for 400 each.
rooms were nice and modern comfy beds and amazing shower which i believe to be 2 of the most important things when choosing a hotel. breakfast was decent although we stayed at quite a quiet time and on our last day was a lot busier so breakfast was a bit more of a challenge! only 1 4 slice toaster and not very many tables.
All trips pick up from outside the hotel although it is one of the very furthest away from Reykjavik town center and definitely a good 40mins walk away. pizza restaurant down stairs was handy as we didnt have much time to walk to and from center as we were always so busy!
receptionists helpful although there being one exception. One guy was so rude on a daily basis im sure if you encounter him you will know who he is!
over all a really fun trip :))

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xrachx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A new, very modern hotel about 30 mins walk from the town. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was a good size with functional furniture. It was clean, bright and the bed comfortable. We had a lovely view from the front of the hotel overlooking the sea and mountains in the distance. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
There were a few restaurants nearby. The Pizzas from next door to the hotel were excellent.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esemkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed from 20th until 23rd March 2014 .We were very happy with our room on 4th floor at the back ,It was overlooking the car park ,but as we were out & about every day seeing the fantastic sights the area has to offer , we didn't mind.! The room was spacious ,very clean & modern with a lovely warm feel about it & bathroom had a super shower .The soundproofing made it lovely & quiet & the bed ,duvets & pillows were super comfy . We slept very well .,We wanted a double bed but it was originally 2 singles, on us entering the room ,So we asked if we could have a double bed & in a very short time , the housekeeper came & changed it from 2 singles into a large double bed !Which was very obliging ,The lifts came quickly so no hanging about outside for ages & the security of the rooms was wonderful ,You even have to scan your key card to make the lift work .We found the staff very helpful indeed at the reception and had some lovely chats with Arnar ,an extremely pleasant young man who couldn't do enough for us to make our stay more enjoyable .Otto also was so helpful as was the blonde young woman who booked us in originally on 20th ,She was very informative also ..We found the Icelanders in general to be very friendly people ,It is expensive to eat and drink out .We went to the Steak bar a few metres up from out hotel on our last night We both had a starter ,Lamb steaks with jacket potato and veg & side salad,a bottle of average Sauvignon Blanc wine - Total cost approx £83 . A cup of tea (not a pot), costs on average between £2.50 & £3.00 .We would have liked a swimming pool at the hotel ,but the city has several good public outdoor swimming pools anyway ,(There's one across the main road from The Lights Hotel),including two "hot pots" (,jacuzzis) each one with a bit different water temperature than the other ,.It cost only a few £'s entrance fee open until 10pm & in fact EVERY village has a swimming pool as it's cheap to heat them with the geothermal natural hot water ,plentiful in Iceland ,so don't forget to pack your swimsuits ! Also there is a park across the main road from the hotel ,next to The Reykjavik Museum on Sigtun, with many sculptures outside to admire .Do go on the Golden Circle Tour if you can & The ,Northern Lights Tour (if visiting in Winter),and The Blue Lagoon as we did ,All trips are so amazing ! Also we were told that The Whale Watching is wonderful too .We will definitely be back & use this hotel again .There is SO much more we want to see & do in this magical country ! .

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice .Ours was very spacious & very quiet overlooking car park at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BANDQ_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were doing a 4 day Iceland trip and stayed 2 nights (first and last) in this hotel.
Very modern and functional. Very clean hotel and friendly staff. It looks fairly new and is modern and almost "minimalist".
It is a fair way out of the town (20 - 30 min walk).
There are quite a few places to eat nearby on the road towards the town centre.
Comfy beds and warm!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,798 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 54 in Reykjavik
753 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £117 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing