We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel made excellent by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at Reykjavik Lights- completely unexpectedly as there was a problem with our booking at another hotel. From the outset the staff were so welcoming and friendly, going out of their way to help us out. It didn't feel like the over the top fake 'customer service' that you get at some of the bigger chains. This was genuine and I really feel like they treated us as friends. Eric, Thora and Arna (and one guy with glasses I'm sorry I forgot your name) were literally so nice I would actually have them all to stay at my own home. The hotel itself was clean, contemporary and comfortable. The breakfast was OK but it would be great to have a cooked option and and it would also be great if they had a better selection of food. Other than that I have absolutely no complaints and would most certainly stay there again. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solomonwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Comfortable Beds, Clean room and bathroom, friendly staff and hearty breakfast. This place has the basics down and offers little more. To be fair, this is exactly what most travelers need so this place can be pretty sweet. It didn't have a laundry service (or in room dining) though, so watch out if you're planning on staying for more than a couple days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent a few nights in this hotel. The room was very clean and modern looking, a bit on the smaller side. I quite liked the view from the window (we could see a mountain). The staff was extremely friendly. The only thing I would like to complain about was the breakfast buffet. They had things like porridge, cereal, bread, stuff to put on your bread (tomato, capsicum etc), hard boiled eggs, meats, some fruit and so on. The first two days we were there they had some sweet mini pastries at breakfast. If you came to the breakfast early you got some, but if you came towards the end, you were lucky to grab one. After the two mornings they only had biscuits (chocolate digestive). We asked about the pastries and they said they said they have given out this week's lot, and will only give biscuits now for a few days. Also previously they had two fruit, but then only one. Maybe other changes as well. It seemed a bit cheap! It seemed like they gave a better buffet on the weekend or something. So it made it feel like you weren't as valuable a customer during the week. The buffet wasn't great to start with (thinking prices of the rooms and quality of the hotel matching the breakfast - no), and the last days we were really a let down. On the last morning we had to leave at 4.30AM and it was possible to order breakfast to go although you had to ASK for it, they didn't mention it when we booked our transfer bus). That breakfast was one ham sandwich per person (vegetarian version was cheese sandwich), and a hot coffee/tea. Lucky our 1,5year old got one sandwich too but didn't eat it, so we shared that one. Tour booking was good and they would inform you by calling you in the room if the tour was cancelled.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j4mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for an over night at Reykjavik Lights on a our way to London.
Although the hotel was outside of the city center, we found the hotel to be very clean & modern.
They offered a lovely breakfast.
After working a 24 hour shift, Finn, one of the desk workers, went above & beyond the call of duty, when he prepared sandwiches for us because we had a 4:30 AM transport.
Thank you Finn!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtargo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Reykjavik Lights Hotel. This was our first visit to Iceland and we had a fab time. The hotel is very clean, modern and comfortable. A lovely place to stay with lovely views. We had a room on the 7th floor facing the mountains and the view was beautiful.

We walked into the town and back each night, it takes about 20mins but it is a nice walk and lets you see a bit more of Reykjavik!

I would certainly recommend the local swimming pool which is a 2min walk from the hotel - the hot pools are amazing!

Room Tip: Room on the 7th floor has beautiful views for sunset and sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Abbie-Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great views from 6th floor room at the front of hotel but take travel kettle if you want your own brew in the room. Breakfast buffet style was good. Happy hour in the bar area is a must and a great place to meet new people. Staff are excellent and are extremely efficient and helpful. A few restaurants around, the Pizza place next door is a good place to start. Easy 10 minute walk to local swimming baths & spa. Only downside 30 minutes walk to city centre or catch a bus from outside the hotel but have change ready. We were pleased that it was quiet and a comfortable night sleep as the city centre could be bit noisy at night.

Room Tip: Front of hotel has mountain and sea views and possible Northern Lights. 6th floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lainyturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had a lovely eight night stay at the hotel. It is minimalistic and modern and has what one need in a business trip. The breakfast could have been more diverse, however it was fresh and tasted good. At the ground floor there is a nice little pizza place I visited couple of times. A 66 North outlet is in the vicinity, in about 15 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singleflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,896 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 54 in Reykjavik
954 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,754 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £113 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing