We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Suites
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights in January, in the Alexandrine suite, named after the Queen of Denmark who stayed here in 1926, when the house was the Icelandic Prime Minister's residence. It was such a lovely apartment that I was reluctant to go out at times! There was a sitting room with sofa and armchair, with a small kitchen and breakfast bar. This led to a hallway off which the bath and shower room was located and then the bedroom at the end. There were windows all round as it is a corner suite. The bed was even more comfortable than mine at home and I slept well every night. There is some noise from the club across the road but had I not read the review on here complaining about it I would have taken little notice. On arrival there is orange juice, coffee, tea, cornflakes, milk supplied and there is also a stocked drinks fridge. No prices advertised and as I didn't take any I can't report if they were good value or not. The suite was well equipped with good quality furnishings and crockery/glassware. Probably a kitchen knife and a saucepan, rather than just a deep frying pan would be useful additions. Salt and pepper is provided, which is often not the case in apartments.

There are two supermarkets within a short walk so it is easy to cater for yourself. There are also several restaurants within a short walk and the main shopping street is one block away.

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. They happily booked tours, checked prices and made recommendations for all local facilities. If the tour pick up was late they called, without being asked, to find out what was happening.

Wifi was free and very fast and there is satellite television in both the sitting room and bedroom.

I really can't recommend this more highly, I'll certainly go back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DJHinWinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    33
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
90
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Residence over new year from Dec 30 for 4 nights. When we booked this was one of few places left in down town Reykjavik. It was expensive but we had a small living dining kitchen room and a separate bedroom and bathroom. So much better than even a large hotel room and as we were on the ground floor we didn't have to carry luggage far. This is a converted large house with a vestibule which is manned with a receptionist from 8am to 9pm ish. Breakfast is delivered the night before and whilst there is a lot of it - I would prefer to have the option to go out somewhere as well. You get a fridge with orange juice and milk which is replenished if used up and the. On the breakfast tray are things like hard boiled eggs, various types of slices of bread, cheeses and cold meats . The portions are very generous and 2 mornings we got a loaf of fresh bread on our door handle outside but as we weren't expecting it we didn't know to look for it. There are butter and jams too. There is a neat coffee machine too. The fridge is handy as you can put your own beer & wine in it which we purchased from the off- licence opposite the main post office just straight down the road from the Residence.
I was a bit disappointed we had the disabled room because there was no bath and effectively the bathroom is a wet room but the shower was excellent, the room and bed comfortable and again the staff were helpful and polite. The location is also perfect for exploring downtown.

Room Tip: If you are in a wheel chair then this place is great - a ramp for outside, good wide doors and no li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Reykjavik Residence Suites was fantastic with friendly English speaking staff, superb rooms and a breakfast that could feed a family of 4 even thou it was just 2 of us. The location is ideal for bars and restaurants, but just far enough away to not be disturbed by the nightlife. if you are going to the National Theatre, stay here as its next door. Plus a free upgrade to suite made even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Typhoid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Staff were extremely helpful and spoke perfect English.

Our room was ungraded from Reykjavik hotel to the Suites, we were phoned in advance to be told. The staff had told the travel companies that our address had been changed before our arrival. We had a 4 nights in a ground floor apartment.

Fri & Sat nightlife is loud and can be heard from the hotel, although the excellent staff, location & modern amenities make up for it.

We would definitely stay again and I've already recommend it to friends and family!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coralreef28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here in Oct for 2 nights with a group of friends (4 of us). We stayed in one of the top floor room (801). Everyone in our group loved this place! Honestly, what's not to love about this hotel/apartment/suites? We fall in love with it the minute we walked in and was very sad when we had to leave.

There was no elevator, but the girl worked the front desk helped us take our suitcases to our room (on the very top floor). We were all amazed by how strong she was!

The location is excellent, very close to almost everything. It's one street away from the main shopping/restaurant area. And it's far away that you don't get all the traffics. Although, one thing I would like to mention, the road that it is currently sitting on being worked on. And there is also construction nearby (like right outside our window) so there are noises in the early morning.

It was vary confusing for us the first time trying to find the place because everywhere we turn the road was close! Thankfully, we have some sense of direction and was able to get to the hotel without the GPS.

There is a parking garage right across the road, make sure you let the staff know you need to park there and they will give you a key card to use. There were some confusion during our first night so I had to pay for the parking myself which the hotel later refund back to me. Make sure you mentioned that you have a car as if you don't then I don't think parking would be included with your room.

The breakfast tray was awesome! They even left a bag of bread for us to snack on (or feed the ducks at the lake) each morning. Everything was so yummy and even though we aren't always 100% sure what it is, we tried everything.

Wifi worked great for us, staff were really friendly and even made us coffee while we used the business center. She even helped us make reservation at the restaurant. She also gave us very good directions to places.

Overall, the price is on the expensive side, but sharing between 4 people made it a little better. But if you are looking for budget traveling, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lingteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel and liked everything about it. The location is excellent - quiet and very close to the center. The hotel looked and felt like a mansion where we were two of the few privileged guests. Our apartment was spacious and decorated with taste. It was impeccably clean, comfortable and luxurious. Even the kitchen utensils were high quality and brand new. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delivered the night before, and freshly baked bread was waiting on the doorknob each morning. I cannot think of anything that was not to be liked. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterNL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We just spent 2 nights in Reykjavik at the Residence Suites. Our 2 bedroom (upgraded) suite was clean, homey and tastefully done. There was even orange juice, milk, corn flakes, coffee and tea in our apt. for the first morning! Staff was very friendly and helped us carry our luggage up 2 flights of stairs (no elevator). They also made arrangements for the airport shuttle bus to pick us up in the alley right in front of the apt (which was appreciated at 4 a.m. in Dec!) instead of us having to walk to the main entrance of the hotel. Very convenient location to downtown, grocery store, post. Look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: ask if road work in front of the apts. is done
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantel5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
989 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
974 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
547 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Suites

Property: Reykjavik Residence Suites
Address: Hverfisgata 21, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing