We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular hotel in Reykjavik!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Suites
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular hotel in Reykjavik!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed at the both the Residence Hotel and the Residence Suites. Both were fantastic but I particularly liked this hotel because I stayed in the suite on the top floor and it was an amazing room! The staff was so kind and helped me carry my luggage up all three floors. It's bright, airy, has great amenities, good beds, and stocked with milk, cereal, and juice along with the tea and coffee. Super clean and conveniently located one block away from all the action (although there is a bar across the street). Would absolutely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    33
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked a 1-bed apartment for our 4-day stay in Reykjavik but were thrilled to learn that we were being upgraded to a suite on our arrival!

This is a really unique classic building located in the heart of Reykjavik and just yards from one of the main shopping/café areas. Details of the suite can be seen on the hotel's website so no need to add anything apart from our plans to try to book it again on our next trip to Iceland.

Being aware of the high cost of dining out, we arrived prepared with some breakfast items and snacks - the suite was well equipped in terms of tea, coffee etc., not to mention a full range of kitchen equipment, most of which looked as if it had just come out of the box. The hotel also generously provided water and orange juice during our stay, at no extra charge.

The location proved to be a perfect base for us - we took a hire car and were lucky enough to get one of the two free on-street parking spaces located beside the hotel, thereby saving a bit, however, there was a parking lot directly opposite which we could have used if needed.

Hotel staff were friendly and efficient and every request was accommodated, e.g. café/restaurant tips etc. We particularly appreciated their providing us with some ex-hotel towels for our trip to the Blue Lagoon - even though we were checking out on the same day - and this meant we didn't have to pay to hire them when we go there.

This was our first trip to Iceland and we can't wait to get back again soon - this hotel and it's staff made our trip one of our most enjoyable ever.

Room Tip: Most travellers to Iceland are on a short break so it is well worth booking a quality location such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We loved our stay at the Reykjavik Residence Suites. The location was perfect, although it did get a bit loud at night. The staff was incredibly helpful, as well. They gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and set up reservations; helped to sort out an issue with our rental car; and booked our airport transfer. Rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokopelirojo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This incredible clean, centrally located suite hotel/guest house was our home-away-from-home for our 2 days in Iceland. Easy for the buses to pick us up for tours and just a block away from some great restaurants and shopping. We loved the earthy decor and the completely equipped kitchenette. The breakfast delivered to our room was enough for breakfast and to make up a lunch to go as we toured the island. An added bonus was the fresh bread delivered at 8 am. to our room, just in time for our second breakfast coffee. Staff were very helpful and made good suggestions for dinner in the area. If we returned to Reykjavik, we would definitely look at a return visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Everything in this hotel are just surreal, way better my expectation.
First step into the hotel, the staff greeted us and showed us to our room on the top floor. We didn't have large luggage with us so walking up by stairs was totally fine. The staff kindly told us about the history of the hotel while walking to our room. This place is like a small museum with beautiful decorations.
The room was very well-equipped and big enough for 4 people (lots of room for just 2 of us).
The small open kitchen has everything you need, stoves and all kind of glass cups, you name it. Although breakfast weren't included in our rate, they kindly provide us with free milks, orange juices and cereal.
The bed is extremely comfortable, with a view of the mountain.
The bathroom have both a bathtub and a shower, which is rare in most of the hotels. Great water pressure and consistent hot water as well.
All the staffs we met are very friendly, helpful and speak fluent English. They helped us with directions and reservations with restaurants.

Beware: if you booked some bus tours, remember to always wait at the lobby prior to the pick up time as hotel staff might not be there in the early hours. The front door will be locked at that time and the tour guide might just leave without ringing the bell outside which directs to your room.

All in all, this is a great hotel with great people and beautiful furnitures and decorations. I wish this is my house (I wish). Will definitely stay here again when we come back to Iceland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Upon arriving in Reykjavick, we were originally booked to stay at the Reykjavik Residence Hotel in a studio suite. When we got there - we were offered a free upgrade to the luxury suites - which we took! The room was lovely & roomy with a small, equipped kitchen. Every morning there was a fresh loaf of bread on our door handle & a wonderful breakfast that was almost too much for the 2 of us to eat. The suites are very centrally located - it is easy to walk the downtown core & to the main shopping streets from here. There are good restaurants that are extremely close. The staff was fantastic - eager to help & always smiling. When the Flybus didn't show up to take us to the airport - the receptionist got on the phone with them right away & fixed things for us. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights on our arrival in Iceland. I had booked a studio apartment but we were actually given a one bedroom suite with a large bathroom and loads of living space. There is a kettle and toaster and even an iron and ironing board in the apartment. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and there was plenty to satisfy in the breakfast basket supplied each day. We were told each morning there would be fresh bread on our door knob and sure enough there it was, fresh from the bakery.

I had read about street noise and that the studio apartment is at the back of the building so although we were happy to have more space I was concerned about sleep quality. Our second night was a Friday and apparently weekends are worse for partying. We did hear people talking loudly in the early hours (still daylight) in the bar across from our room.

We enjoyed our stay, my only criticism would be that our apartment had not been serviced when we returned in the afternoon at about 4.00 pm. When the maid arrived we waited in reception and she may have rushed conscious that we were waiting. Consequently the cleaning was very basic and toiletries and coffee and juice (for breakfast) were not replaced. When my husband requested coffee he was given a load of it and the young man at reception was very co-operative when we requested a variation to our breakfast basket.

We were told that everything in the fridge was complimentary, this is where they leave the breakfast basket. But there is a charge for the mini bar so this does create confusion.

It is obvious that the staff here really want guests to enjoy their stay so make sure you let them know your requirements.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Suites

Property: Reykjavik Residence Suites
Address: Hverfisgata 21, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing