We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel B47

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel B47
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredibly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

B47 is a great hostel. The whole place is clean and well kept, there are numerous bathrooms, kitchen is well equipped (although lacking a stove or a hot plate). The management is very helpful and friendly.
The location of the hostel is a short 5 minute walk from the two main streets of Reykyavik and at the same time 5 minutes from the main bus station.
If you want an affordable and great location to spend a couple nights in the main city of Iceland, this should be on the top of your list.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregacufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    35
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
8
12
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed for 5 nights at the hostel:
- good location near the city center, 5 min walk
- low prices compared to other hostel or hotels
- good and clean rooms
- If there any problems personal is great in helping you
- free Wifi and computers at the reception
- no cooking in the kitchen, just a micro wave

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my family because we had just lost our reservation and decided to take a chance.

I COULDN'T BE HAPPIER. This hotel was better and more affordable than the reservation one.

It has a lot of pros:

It's very clean. Clean rooms and clean bathrooms.

Confortable bed.

Located just a couple of minutes off the main street and bars.

Quiet and nice.

The staff was great, friendly and helpful. I will definitely be making this my number 1 place to stay in Reykjavik.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked a package tour from a local travel agency which includes pickup from my hostel to the airport. But they didn't show up to pick up my friend until one of the staff in this hostel called them. And thanks to their help, I could be on time for my flight, or that travel agency could probably forget me…

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Room very clean and spacious. Handy to have a wash basin in the room. Kitchen was basic but had all we needed for preparing light meals and snacks. The hostel had started a breakfast service which was great value and very tasty but is not yet running regularly. Staff also very helpful to book tours, recommend restaurants etc but it is not automatically obvious how to contact them, though I am awed by the long hours and dedication they put in. All in all a wonderful and relaxing place to stay. I would certainly come again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a staff-free hostel. While everything goes well even without anyone serving you, sometimes problem may appear when you need to book something, such as pick-up transportation from the location, for which I have to resort to my own phone to call. There may be other way round but I didn't find out. Otherwise it should be a good place to stay, being close to everywhere (there is a convenient store nearby, just find out where the phallological museum is), and also surprisingly clean although I haven't seen a single staff there. The kitchen is really convenient if you prepare to make your own meal there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hidrogenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Staff free yet runs really smoothly. There is a really nice lady who seems to occasionally pop round to check things are ok and help out. The bus company offers a drop off and pick up service from the hostel which is handy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
1.3 mi away
Oddsson Hostel
Oddsson Hostel
#18 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
#32 of 100 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bus Hostel
Bus Hostel
#11 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
101 Hostel
101 Hostel
#51 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hlemmur Square
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel B47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel B47

Property: Hostel B47
Address: Baronsstigur 47, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel B47 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This self-service hostel is a 5-minute walk from main street shops and bars. It features a heated outdoor patio, guest kitchenette and TV lounge. Wi-Fi and security lockers are free.All rooms at Hostel B47 include a sink, luggage rack and blackout blinds. Bathroom facilities are shared. Free internet computers and sitting areas are found in the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel B47 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing