We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An utterly delightful hideaway in the heart of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vaktahouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Back Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Yuri Z
Takoma Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An utterly delightful hideaway in the heart of Reykjavik”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Vakta House is a tastefully restored cottage that incorporates modern conveniences into an artfully updated historic home, formerly the residence of Reykavik's night watchman / lamplighter of a bygone era. It provided our family of four a snug, but very comfortable, sanctuary at the end of days spent exploring the city and its surrounding area. Vakta is quite literally only steps away from the heart of Reykjavik, including The Settlement Exhibition (just around the corner) and National Museum of Iceland (very well curated), cafes and restaurants, and the main shopping street, Laugavegur. Despite its proximity to the city center, it was utterly quiet at night, allowing us to rest undisturbed under the lofty down comforters on each bed. Vakta is on the same street as several embassies, and we felt perfectly safe walking about at night. If that isn't enough, and it should be, the cottage provides the use of a virtually brand new Citroën (manual transmission), included in the price of the stay. That enabled us to do the obligatory (and quite worthwhile) Golden Circle tour on our own schedule, one day, and to have a seaside lunch in Stokkseyri (about 40 kms away) before going to the Blue Lagoon, on another day. Last, but certainly not least, our engaging hostess, Margrét, who is Vakta House's proprietor, had pastries, juice, and fresh fruit waiting for us when we arrived early on the first morning. Margrét also was a source of helpful information and recommendations on sights to see, as well as directions to the geothermally-heated local public pool, which is another essentially Icelandic experience. We all have her to thank for saving Vakta from possibly being demolished, as it apparently had fallen into disrepair under municipal ownership, and lovingly restoring it to its current immaculate and welcoming condition. We stayed at there on April 7-10, 2017, and highly recommend Vakta House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Dear Yuri,
Thank you so much for your beautiful words. Your interest and care for the house and it´s history means a lot to me. It was a real pleasure having you and your family as my guests.
Hope to see you again.
With warm wishes,
Margrét
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry890
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to explore beautiful Iceland”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 2 nights, on a stop over to NYC. Once met by the lovely lady who owns this gorgeous little cottage, and after a quick run through all we needed to know, we were left to our own devices in this perfectly formed cottage.. Having the car meant that anywhere within Iceland was in our reach, and added tremendous value to our stay.
We ate in the cottage and found everything we could possibly need to ensure our meals were exactly how we wanted the,. It was as if every possibly eventuality was catered for. Bed time was just as lovely in the eaves of the cosy roof, allowing for a very cosy (not cramped) sleeping experience! Just remember to wake up carefully to ensure no banged heads!
Lovely location as well, allowing the city centre to be in striking distance, making this a great base to explore both on foot, and by car.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Dear Henry,
Thank you for your beautiful words and thank you for leaving the house spotless. It was an honour having you as my guests and I do hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you again in the nearest future.
With warm regards,
Margrét
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely home, lovely owner”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Vakta house in August 2016. It is quite small, but adorable, & there is plenty of room for a family of four. There is a double bed in the loft for a couple, and two smaller bed nooks for the kids. It's very cozy. When we arrived at midnight, Margret had provided pasties, coffee, milk & a bottle of wine. This was so nice to arrive to, and so appreciated!

The location is very close to all of the sights downtown, and it's just a few minutes walk to the old harbor area where the boat tours are. A 10 minute walk takes you to the nearest swimming pool, which my 10-year old son loved.

The car is a great benefit & is good for traveling the local area on paved roads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind words Elizabeth. It was our pleasure having you as our guests. Thank you for leaving the house spotless and thank you for choosing Vakta.
Hope to see you all again in the nearest future!
Best wishes from the Vakta family,
Margrét
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neire
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Look no further for a Reykjavik rental!!!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This place CANNOT be beat for comfort, character, convenience or value. The villa is incredibly cute and well equipped--three sleeping enclaves will accommodate a couple and two singles. It is located one block from the central square, a 2 minute walk from the Flybus stop to and from the airport. Olafur had stocked the pantry and fridge for our arrival, laying in skyr, pastries, bread, milk, fruit, cereal, beer and wine- and giving us an incredibly hospitable reception. The car alone is worth the price: free, insured, and entirely at your disposal for touring. A WONDERFUL PLACE!!! I would return in a heartbeat!!! The one caveat are the steep circular steps to the sleeping loft. If you can handle those, this is THE PLACE to stay in Reykjavik!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
Dear Robin and family,
THANK YOU for your beautiful words!
It was certainly our honor to have you at Vakta!
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Best wishes to you,
Margrét and Olafur
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purdy006
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Vakta House exceeded our expectations. We were warmly greeted by the owner on our arrival and made to feel very at home. The house is charming and wonderfully maintained.
It is located in an old area of Rejkavik with restaurants and cafes close by. Vakta House is quite honestly the best places we have ever stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the house and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieM717
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday house EVER! A must stay for any visitor to Rekyjavik”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say! I wish there was an option of 6 stars as this wonderful house deserves every one.
We visited Reykjavik as a group of 6 to take part in the Reykjavik marathon and had possibly one of the best holidays we have ever had and a major part of that was due to our wonderful accommodation in Vakta House.
I chanced upon the house via Google and enquired via email. Margret could not have been more helpful or accommodating, acting as both owner and tour guide. I could not have organised the trip without her help. The booking process was painless.
The house itself is utterly beautiful - quaint, quirky, warm and oozing character. It's one of the oldest in the city and perfectly located, just 2 minutes walk from the centre with shops, restaurants and all the sights on the doorstep. That said, it is in a quiet, peaceful street and we all slept soundly.
Inside the house couldn't be better equipped. We all agreed that many of the appliances - coffee maker, hair dryer and shower were better than the ones we have at home. The beds were very comfy and it was immaculately clean.
I can't recommend this beautiful house any higher. We will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian V
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy, comfy, great location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The residence is an authentic Icelandic house from the 1800's (updated with modern conveniences and additions) and has charm and character. The unit is a block from city center Reykjavik, so it is easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, and meeting locations for tour pick ups but at the same time the street where the house is is quiet and calm. As far as location in Reykjavik I believe you would be hard pressed to find a better location. While the second floor sleeping areas are a bit tight, my wife and I and two kids (9 - 12) were quite comfortable; very nice beds, comforters and linens. My family had a wonderful time in Iceland and really enjoyed our time in this house; we plan to go back to Iceland and when we do we would stay here again. Oh, and property owner was extremely helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, loads of charm.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing