We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reykjavik's hidden treasure - the Black Pearl”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Black Pearl turned our first visit to Reykjavik unforgettable. It is simply the best apartment-hotel that we ever stayed in. Located in the heart of Iceland's capital city, the Black Pearl has the right mixture of luxury and cosiness. Its' accommodations are beautifully designed and every detail of the apartments ("state of the art" furniture, decoration, technology, etc.) is well conceived. These apartments are ideal if you're travelling with your family, for numerous reasons. We point out a few of them. First of all, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the kitchen is fully equipped. Secondly, the staff is super professional, caring and eager to make you and your family feel at home. The management can provide you a first class service, and also give you top suggestions about Reykjavik's best restaurants and sights, and also Iceland's points of interest. You can plan your entire trip to Iceland from the Black Pearl's lounge room. The Black Pearl also as a garage, which is very convenient if you're planning to rent a car. We were very lucky to stay at the Black Pearl, and we certainly want to come back there pretty soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joaomartinsribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Joao,
Once again we feel honored to host such wonderful guests.
We have the feeling of accomplishment by the fact that our guests appreciate all the effort and concept created here. And reviews like yours are responsible for that feelings.
We really appreciate that you have taken some of your time to make this review and please be sure that it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel.
Warm Regards
Carla / Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon in Iceland - I couldn't wait to do a review for the Black Pearl. Out of 5 hotels we stayed at on our trip - this was the only one to go out of their way to acknowledge that it was our honeymoon...and boy did they make us feel special!!

First of all, the apartments are in an amazing location - you can walk all around town and leave your car in the inside garage. It is all sparkling clean and the owners/managers are the most sincerely helpful and happy people we've ever met. They have really gone the extra mile to make everything perfect for their guests. We were blown away by rose petals, champagne and chocolates when we arrived, along with a very nice welcome note. I can't say enough good about Black Pearl - it is the best of the best and well worth the money. It might seem expensive, but really everything is expensive in Iceland and the extra money you'll spend on this place pays off in service, comfort, amenities, privacy, and luxury.

Room Tip: We stayed in the biggest suite and also got to see the smaller rooms. They're all amazing, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Regina,
We are so glad, to have offered you a memorable stay in such an important occasion of your lives!!!
We wish you all the best, looking forward to see you back and hoping to be able to match again your expectations, which is indeed our aim - "to match our guests needs and expectations"!!
With kind regards,
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Black Pearl this summer. With a family of five, an apartment-type stay made much more sense than booking two hotel rooms. The decor and furnishings are top notch, but what really made the stay special was the attentitiveness of the owners, who went out of their way to make us feel at home. Their restaurant recommendations were all right on target, and the location was within walking distance of many attractions. We highly recommend the Black Pearl as an alternative to a hotel stay. Rather than an apartment, it really felt more like a luxury suite in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Win T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Mr. Win,
We would like to use your own words to say that we are also very fortunate for hosting such nice guests. We hope to deserve your choice again, on your way back to Iceland.
All the best for you and your family.
Carla/ Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Working in the transportation business, I travel a lot and consequently get exposed to a lot of accomodations and arrangements,.. so I have seen the excellent, the good and yes, occasionally the ugly, but this was a stunning experience, for it is very rare to find such a fine combination of location, style, technology and care for details. If you find yourself admiring the level of comfort provided in this facility, then you know the attention behind every possible guest necessity and pleasure was well worth the effort, since it is truly taken to a superior level. The apartments are really a "home away from home" and in short, you are left with nothing to desire, except, possibly, the urge to congratulate and greet the owners for their tasteful enterprise and dedicated professionalism to satisfy your every need. Try it once and I'll buy you a dinner if you don't agree.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PAOLO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Mr.Paolo,
We feel flattered for your words. It will be an honor to welcome you back during your next stop by in Reykjavik.
Grazie molto!!!
Carla /Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in Iceland late summer and had the chance to discover the Black Pearl. This really made our visit special. The hotel is exceptional (great design, material, furniture plus a full kitchen should you need it), the location is very central, and the owners / managers really went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable. Overall I think it would be difficult to find a better place in Reykjavik, or anywhere else. We will definitively be back very soon and can only recommend it to other visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrenchP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla M, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for such nice review. It was our pleasure to host you and your family at the Black Pearl. We hope so see you back soon.
Best Regards
Carla/ Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

What a stupendous discovery! First off, kudos to the staff at the nearby Radisson Blu 1919 -- we had made a mistake in our reservation that didn't allow them to accommodate us after our red-eye from the States. They made some calls, found space at the nearby Black Pearl, and credited our entire deposit to Black Pearl. The Black Pearl itself is, as the name suggests, a jewel. The apartment we stayed in was a study in tasteful, elegant Scandinavian design. And the kitchen was truly well-furnished (the test is always the cutlery, and it was spot-on!). The whole place reeks of understated modern elegance, but the icing on the cake was the owners, who COULD NOT do enough to help us with the slightest request or question or suggestion. They were simply unrelenting in their charm and commitment to customer service. Evidently this is the first hotel they've owned after a long career in the business, and they've learned their stuff. If the hotel industry is a service business, this place should be a case study. We can't wait to get back to Iceland, and the Black Pearl is the only place we'll even consider staying.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla M, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for such a nice review. It is always a pleasure to see that our guests are so satisfied. We hope you will be back soon. All the best for you and your lovely family.
Best Regards
Carla/ Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The apartment at Black Pearl was absolutely amazing. It had a high-class outstanding design, and a great location in the heart of Reykjavik. The linens and beds make you want to stay there forever. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. I really loved to stay in this apartment. Everything about it was perfect. I highly recommend it. Book it !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Love2Travel2Iceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla M, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We really appreciate your nice review and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Carla/ Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
637 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,836 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments

Address: Tryggvagata, 18 / 18C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £278 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel serviced apartments - Your home away from home in Iceland!Black Pearl Reykjavik boasts guest rooms with King sized premier bedding, luxury toiletries, fresh linen and fluffy white towels. The Deluxe Suites measures 115 square meters and the Standard Suites 75 square meters. All kitchens are fully equipped with cutlery, porcelain and glassware for 8 people, oven, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle and Nespresso coffee maker (with a complete selection of complimentary coffee capsules).Situated in the most central area of downtown Reykjavik, we are within walking distance to landmarks, museums, shops and restaurants. Enjoy a perfect stay in the heart of Reykjavik with Black Pearl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing