We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Urban Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassade Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Urban Apartment”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My dad and I stayed at Ambassade Apartments when we recently visited Iceland and had a truly excellent experience. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment on the top floor with great windows overlooking the city. The location was phenomenal! It was a 3 minute walk to everything. The owner, Olafur, and the caretaker, Lis, were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful in making all our activity reservations. All the apartments were gut renovated about two years ago and were exceptionally clean and new. The furnishings were modern - just as nice as the pictures. There was also a hot tub, which is a rare amenity for an urban hotel in Reykjavik and we loved using it at the end of very active days. One of the great benefits to staying in an apartment versus a traditional hotel was that we had a mini-kitchenette to keep snacks and drinks (and the apartment was a 30 second walk from the Bonus supermarket, which is the only place to buy food in the town). Iceland is exceptionally expensive, pretty close to London prices, so I definitely appreciated being able to keep a few small things in a fridge versus ordering a diet coke for 5 euros every time, lol. All in all a great experience and we will be back at Ambassade the next time we visit Reykjavik.

Room Tip: The top floor two bedroom apartment has great views and the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The room for 4 people is very nice, good facilities, and nice view of Reykjavik. The apartment is located in a city center of Reykjavik. The owners are very helpful and friendly! We are also impressed with the outdoor hot tub. Overall this is a very good value for money spent!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Meen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Whether you want to wander around the Reykjavik shops and harbour, or party until dawn you will be delighted you chose to stay here. The owner/landlady is lovely and friendly (like all Icelanders) with somewhere handy to park and a stocked fridge and fruit bowl. Wifi, TV, great shower and a huge bed. Even on a freezing night we were cosy and warm. Looked brand new inside and really clean. You will struggle to find better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Xtivoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you are looking for a quality, executive style apartment in Reykjavik at a good price then look no further. This place has it all, free onsite parking, new quality appliances and furnishings, clean, warm and super fast free internet! Its simply the best. Situated a couple of minutes walk away from the town centre but in an equally quiet convienient location this comfortable apartment was much more than we expected. We arrived early in the day and were offered an early check in without a fuss (occupancy dependant of course) and were met by the owner Oli who was very friendly, informative and always available without being intrusive. The quality breakfast supplied was more than adequate for our stay and we were made to feel we were friends rather than customers/guests. Rather than booking an out of town hotel, we would definitely recommend staying at the Ambassade Apartments to sample Icelandic lifestyle at its best. We are in the accommodation hospitality business and we know a good thing when we see it. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamsternater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hospitality of Olafur was great, after a 7 hours delayed flight we arrived in the middle of the night and Olafur waited for us with lit candles all over, something in the fridge and fresh fruits. From the first moment we felt at home, at this cosy, large and very nice furnished appartment with a spectacular view over Reykjavik. Its situated in a quiet street, 5 minutes walk to the center and has its own parking space. We will come back soon, I'm sure! Andrea & Thomas, Berlin Germany

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassade Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Apartments

Property: Ambassade Apartments
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 21, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassade Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Ambassade, you enjoy home-like furnished apartment suites in Reykjavik that are at least two times larger than a typical city hotel room. Yet you still have access to the services and amenities that help you navigate Reykjavik with ease. Located at a great location in the embassy district of the Reykjavik City-center, these airy Residences bring together the best of apartment life and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ambassade Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing