We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely ambience, people and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistro

Le Bistro
Ranked #55 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Bistro is a small authentic French bistro and wine bar on Laugavegur, Reykjavik's main shopping street. Serving moderately-priced (for Iceland), classic and contemporary French food along with a great selection of wine and beer. As you step into this casual, lively and bohemic place, the French atmosphere is unavoidable. We serve slow food, with mostly local Icelandic ingredients. This is likely the only the place in the centre with a walk in policy, so you will probably only have to wait a few minutes for a table. Groups of six and more are welcome to book ahead. Bienvenue et bon appetit...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, people and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went here three times during our trip at the beginning of February 2014. The chicken casserole was piping hot and amazing! Hubby had the biggest plate of ribs ever and unlike him couldn't finish them. On one occasion I didn't fancy a full meal so opted for the cheese board which was perfect. With each meal you are given bread with a tartare dip which is delicious and very addictive. The staff were really friendly and helpful and took an interest in our experience of Reykjavik. Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    328
    85
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Nice Whale Steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We visited this restaurant as a couple, we chose the restaurant as when visiting different countries we like to try local dishes and noticed that there was whale on the menu. We shared a starter of whale steak tartare with dark rye bread, which was nicely served and an experience. I had a whale steak which came with chips and a salad and my husband chose a cod dish on a bed of mashed potato with a chorizo sauce, we chose desserts made from the local skyr and also shared a bottle of wine. It was quite an expensive meal approximately £90 equivalent, but this is about average for Iceland. Service was a little slow but the waiting staff were polite and courteous. However the salad served with the steak consisted of a small amount of lettuce, going brown on tedged gets and nothing else, and my husbands mashed potato was cold and lumpy. When we pointed out to the waitress about the brown lettuce she got very defensive and said it was dressing, after this we didn't mention the potato being cold and lumpy, maybe that was how it was meant to be. The waitress avoided us somewhat after our comment and we waited a very long time for our desserts. Overall a nice menu and ambience, but with some minor issues. Would visit again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise
Level Contributor
150 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An afternoon delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

After a late morning and early afternoon of sight-seeing and shopping, we decided to stop in Le Bistro for a late lunch. What we discovered was a delightful and comfortable bistro in Reykjavik. The warmed Camembert topped with honey and nuts and served with bread is a meal in itself. This is a must stop for a relaxing afternoon break.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank saildrmr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fondue and whale”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The fondue was supposed to be reserved the day before, but they accommodated us and let us do the cheese without having a prior reservation for it. The food was other wise good. The two girls shared the fondue while the Gents had the Minke whale. While not the absolute best meal we had, it was tasty. The service was so/so they waitress didn't really know how to serve the fondue. Since were were seated upstairs with no other customers it was a while between times they checked on us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, good value for reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice in the week we were in Reykjavik. The portions are huge, I would recommend the pate or the camembert for starter. Both sublime! The burgers are very tasty and the ribs unbelievably big, if lacking a little stickiness in the sauce. One down side, didn't think much of the wine. Staff were really nice. Would definitely go back if we are to return.

Helpful?
Thank rover9495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing