We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartment and value for money”
Review of Planet Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planet Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in Reykjavik for five nights in total, spending three nights at the Radisson Blu Saga, one night at the Reykjavik4you Apartments and one night at Planet Apartments.

Planet Apartments was by far the nicest place of the three we stayed at. It was well located and definitely the best value for money when we compare it to the other two places we stayed.

The added bonus was we happened to stay here mid way through our two week trip and our one bedroom apartment came with a washing machine and dryer so we were able to do our laundry which is a great bonus when traveling longer than a week.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank BrusselsKat_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your nice words with other travellers. We are really glad to hear that you had a good stay at our apartments. We have washing facilities in all our apartments because many of our customers are coming back from a roundtrip and need to wash before going back home. We are glad it helped you out!

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

As others have reviewed, this was a terrific place to stay while in Reykjavik. It's within easy walking distance of tasty restaurants, the old harbor, & many of the city's other attractions. Borgthor, one of the proprietors, was extremely accommodating. Our flight from the US landed around 7am and he arranged not only to have our luggage stored, but was also able to have one of our two studio apartments available early. A small caveat - this isn't a hotel, but an apartment building. We had a little trouble identifying it & where to go upon arrival. Therefore, I would definitely recommend you confirm the check in process to avoid any confusion. The apartment itself was nicely appointed (flat screen TV, well kitted kitchen, huge dining table, lovely bathroom) and very comfortable. Ultimately, it was the perfect home base for our visit.

Room Tip: As we traveled in June the sun never really set, so blackout curtains would have been a lovely addit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HnlSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words! It´s great to hear that you felt home in our apartment. When people arrive early and the apartment is ready we are always checking the guest in directly without any additional fee.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks again!

Best regards,

Borgthor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for a 6-day summer trip. It was a bit hard to find, as it doesn't look like a hotel but the host met us while we were sitting around in the parking lot trying to decide what to do. There is no lobby or main entrance, so I strongly suggest you set a time to meet the host and get the key. he was very accommodating and let us use one room in the morning when we flew in while the other one was boing cleaned. Our room had dark shades on the windows but our friend's did not. Not much of a view.The kitchen was well equipped. There are stores within easy walking distance to shop for food. It is in the Old Harbor area so close to the water and short walk to the town center; tons of restaurants nearby. really great value- would have spent a fortune on hotel, as everything in iceland is so expensive. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no cleaning service or trash service, though I believe you can request a clean up if you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drmrussellphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our apartments.

Have a great summer and hopefully we will see you soon again.

Best regards,

Borgthor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The apartment is very nice. A lot of daylight and very nicely equipped. It is located near the so to say main street, so you don't hear the noise from it.
The proprietary is very friendly and helpful. Helped me with booking the taxi and a lot more

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Sofia,

Thank you for your nice words! It was a pleasure to have you.

Let me know when you are coming back to Iceland and we will have a great apartment ready for you!

Best regards,

Borgthor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We rented the Planet Penthouse one bedroom apartment which is conveniently located across the street from the harbor from which whale and puffin watching boats embark, and a short walk to the center of Reykjavik. The apartment is clean, well-laid out, and well-equipped with a washer/dryer, kitchen equipment and a large flatscreen tv. The decor is clean-lined Nordic with ample seating and many closets. I would not describe the sofas and bed as 'comfy', rather serviceable. The price of the apartment is reasonable. I suggest to the owner to purchase reading lamps for the apartment as there is only one floor lamp among the ceiling lights. Also, helpful would be soap for the washing machine and dishwasher and filters for the coffeemaker. Those amenities would add to the ease of renting. What I missed in renting an apartment rather than staying in a hotel was input from a concierge about restaurants and sight-seeing, and assistance in booking excursions. I ran into the Borgthor once and met his associate at the end of my stay. Otherwise, I recommend going this route, and renting this apartment, in particular.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Beatrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Beatrice,

Thank you for your nice review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our standards and that you enjoyed the country.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Borgthor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just had a wonderful stay at Planet Apartments. Very clean, really nicely furnished and very comfortable - especially the beds!! Everything you would need and more with loads of storage space - the dishwasher, washer and dryer were very useful and the kitchen was well kitted out. It's in a great spot right by the Old Harbour with its lovely restaurants and also a very short stroll to the centre of Reykjavik, which we loved its a really vibrant city. Borgthor is a lovely guy and he gave us lots of tips on places to go - I had spent ages researching before we arrived and in 10 mins he had given me all the info we needed!! Would def stay there again if we go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank jackie187053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for your great review. I am very happy to hear that you liked the apartment and had good nights of sleep:-).

Looking forward to welcoming you back in Planet Apartments.

Best regards,

Borgthor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at The Planet Apartments back in March 2014 for a short break in Reykjavik. The location of the apartments is very good being in Walking distance of the main centre and lots of lovely restaurants are nearby. The apartment we had was in the style of a large open plan studio with a big comfy sofa and comfy bed. The heating and showers were very good (the showers do smell of eggs\sulpher because of the way the water is heated for some buildings in Iceland but you get used to this).

If you want to cook for yourself there are plenty of supermarkets in walking distance and the apartment has a fully equipped kitchen with cooker & dishwasher.

The young lady who was looking after the apartments named Diljá was super friendly and really helpful. The communication was excellent & she even went as far as to call and sort out our return bus transfer for us as they had somehow messed up our reservation.

If you're coming for a break in Iceland I'd recommend you stay here!

Restaurant tips - I highly recommend a visit to Fiskfelagid (Fish Company), Glo and also Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TimShawUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for recommending us! We were very happy to read your wonderful words and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Dilja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
640 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Apartments

Address: Aegisgata 5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £150 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 minute-walk from the bustling Laugavegur, Plánetan Apartments is in the central area of Reykjavík just few meters from the old harbour and close to all the main attractions. The apartments come with a balcony, free wi-fi and private parking. Featuring a stylish and contemporary living area, the open-plan Plánetan Apartments come with fully equipped kitchen, Tv channels and all linen included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Planet Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing