We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location at great value”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location at great value”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of everything so very convenient to see and experience Reykjavik. We arrived at 8am in the morning and they were able to get us rooms ready within an hour even though the hotel was fully booked the night before. We stayed in two different rooms and they were both great. The only issue was the sofa beds which are not comfortable. Three of us stayed in a studio so had to use the sofa bed. Breakfast was sufficient. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank clover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    1,075
    282
    51
    33
See reviews for
299
1,069
194
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The studio that we stayed in was surprisingly well equipped. the staff is very helpful. They offer paid parking on the back which is a little tight but secure. The hotel staff is very helpful (which seems to be consistent with all of iceland).
you can just walk down and find yourself in the middle of the city centre (read: one street with lots of bars, restaurants, souvenier shopping etc)
They also offer a discount on the bar on the ground floor for hotel guests - so added bonus !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SShinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location right on the main street, so is close to many things.

We had a basic room which was fine, although rather small. Maybe next time we would upgrade but it was perfectly fit for purpose and we stayed there 4 nights/5 days.

The bathroom was modern and very clean and the whole hotel appeared to have a high standard of cleanliness. Also, there is free wifi in the hotel which worked constantly; although it did slow down at times where there many hotel guests using it.

The night porter lady was an absolute gem and she was very pleasant to chat with.

We took the FlyBus from the airport which dropped us off and picked us up again.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

You should also receive a voucher for 20% off drinks in the bar downstairs which is good.

The food in the restaurant was good, apart from the burger which had far too much sauces etc on it and didn't taste too nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elninomagico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a studio apartment at the rear of the hotel, lovely and quiet. Adequate kitchenette, sofa and easy chairs, plus dining table and chairs. Would have preferred a kettle to coffee percolator, we used the microwave to heat water instead. Well stocked continental breakfast included in attached restaurant. The restaurant is a separate business to the hotel so meals cannot be billed to your room. Most sights within easy walking distance; the main street stays clear of snow and ice due to underground heating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Thank you Helga and all the staff at the Fron for making our trip very enjoyable. We paid before we left UK an upgrade to a studio in a quiet apartment at the rear and it was well worth it in our experience. The staff were fantastic and acted as a tour guide also, letting us know also when a trip was confirmed and generally being as helpful as possible. I travelled with my mother 83 and the location was superb.

Room Tip: Quiet blue building at back, book if possible, studio bedroom with living area (includes small kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was able to get a great rate for a 'studio apartment' -- really, a North Amerian-sized hotel room with a kitchenette but it worked for my purposes. The hotel is located on the main street and is close to pretty much everything. (The Reykjavik city centre is relatively small so most sights are within walking distance.) With the exception of one individual, I found all the hotel staff quite friendly and hotel. Some reviews complain about the breakfast but it's just fine -- standard Northern European cold spread, with yogurt, cereal, bread, cheese, etc. It's true that the decor in the rooms is a little dated but everything is clean, functional and comfortable so this didn't bother me terribly.

Overall, I'd say my experience here was fine. No real problems to speak of, good value for the money and truly an excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A very nice hotel in a busy shopping street with a pleasant walk to the harbor and many places of interest. Nice, clean, well-appointed, the staff are friendly and always ready to help fretful tourists out. My room was a reasonable size, the bed was twin, but comfortable, and since my window overlooked the courtyard, it was quiet, too. It also overlooked an outside staircase, but I just didn’t care much. I came there to see Iceland, not to be cooped up in a hotel room, so I closed the blinds and paid no attention to people passing by my window.
I would imagine that for older people, opening and closing the windows to let in some fresh air might be somewhat difficult because they are quite high up, though. Maybe I missed an easy way of operating them.
Their breakfast is a selection of breads, cold cuts, cereals, and fruits, and the space is a bit too tight for the large number of hotel guests, but the cold breakfast and the small space are my two gripes, and they didn’t spoil the overall impression. In the evenings, the same space serves as a restaurant, and a wonderful restaurant it is, too. Their lamb is out of this world, truly. All in all, I found Fron a very nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kriemhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing