We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but loud music during the night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location but loud music during the night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great location, convenient for visiting all the attractions and restaurants. Room was a bit on the small side but was warm and clean and very modern. Breakfast was your typical continental breakfast ie egg, cheeses, cold meats, bread, yoghurt, cereal.

I was on the first floor near the lift and stairs and could hear music coming from somewhere which was so loud it woke me up. I didn't appreciate the fact that when I reported it to the reception, they questioned it as though I was making it up!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a quiet part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    1,072
    281
    49
    33
See reviews for
296
1,063
192
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

myself and my daughter stayed for 3nights and had a fantastic time.hotel very nice and clean, reception staff friendly and helpful, breakfast ample cereals, toast, yogurt, fruit.we had a room at the back very quiet, rooms lovely and warm which is what you want when -3 outside, location couldn't be any better, I would definitely recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therams20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Agreed with other fellow "advisors" about hotel location and services.
The breakfast: bread, basic cereals, yogurt, 3 sorts of marmalade, hard boiled eggs, coffee or tea; orange juice, 3 different cold cuts; some pate spread, tomatoes, cucumber, apples, bananas and oranges ;therefore one can combine some nutritious breakfast from it. I was there few nights and could notice that one lady cleaning the tables during the breakfast time really hate her job. I did not complain and neither did other tourist, but I could see they are not pleased. First day I thought I am just too tired; second day I was empathetic, maybe the lady had a bad day, but her unfriendly behavior continued 5 days straight. At one point she told one group of people to get out since they finished eating so she can clean. ??? Most tourist just got a surprise look and went along, but this should not be level of a customer service even for a hotel with only 3 *. My breakfast was included so I just eat and left. For lunch or dinner I recommend near by vegetarian restaurant ( could not read the name - very artistic sign)

Room Tip: if a bad sleeper, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Lovely Hotel and brilliant location. The staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke fluent English (as does everyone in Iceland). The room we stayed in had a comfortable seating area and kitchenette perfect for making snacks and light lunches. Very welcome as eating out can be expensive. The rooms were large and the beds small but very comfortable. The view from my window looked out at the amazing Mountains. I would definitely come back again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0-Melvina-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is very centrally located. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they helped me book some tours etc. Breakfast was fine. I would definately choose this hotel again if I was to stay in Reykjavik. I'm glad I chose this hotel as many of the other hotels were quite far from the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaK_Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We landed in Iceland at 7am and would not be able to be picked up by our tour until 5pm, so we needed a place to stay. Our biggest disappointment was that we had to pay for two days stay for the 10 hours if we wanted to check in right away. That was very expensive.

We stayed in a suite in a courtyard behind the main entrance to the building in a 4 or 5 story building. The accommodations were very quiet contrary to other reviews, but were as clean and many had said.

The convenience to local shopping could not be beat. It was perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms in the building behind the main lobby are quieter with the balcony facing away from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoriAndBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel Fron is ideally situated in central Reykjavik on a pretty street (even in the incessant rain). The staff were particularly helpful and friendly. The restaurant/bar served good food at sensible prices and was still serving at 9.30pm when we arrived, tired and cold and ready to eat. The apartment we were offered for our party of 3 was of a high standard, although bedroom mirrors would have been useful. The hotel is well situated for sight-seeing in the city and there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants close by. Would stay there again when in Reykjavik

Room Tip: The apartments behind the main building are spacious, modern, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#29 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing