We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great downtown hotel!”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great downtown hotel!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If I ever get the chance to come back to Reykjavik, then I would definitely stay here again. I would not consider other hotels because my husband and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Fron and there is no reason to look further. It is in great location and the hotel is clean and comfortable. Our flight arrived at 6 AM and we came straight to the hotel on a bus. Being that is was so early, our room was not ready, but the hotel staff offered us a free breakfast that morning and we still received our free breakfast (included in the price) the next morning. I thought that was a nice gesture. We stayed one night at the beginning of our 10 day driving trip around Iceland and one night at the end of our trip. During our stay at the end of our trip, we were upgraded to a suite for no extra cost! Overall the staff is very friendly, the food is good, and the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eel217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    1,075
    282
    51
    33
See reviews for
299
1,069
194
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great location and a palatial (certainly compared to two other hotels we have stayed in while in Reykavik which charged roughly the same price) sized room. Ask for a room in the backyard courtyard (as opposed to one that borders the street) to ensure a buffer from late night street noise. The buffet is amble and offers a good start to the day. Staff is helpful.

There is nothing at all that I could seriously complain about. To make any complaint would be picky and utterly contrived.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the backyard courtyard for front-facing rooms will suffer from loud street noise d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonfromHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is the second time that I've stayed at Hotel Fron in four months! The fact that I returned says alot about this hotel. The first I came with a friend of mine and we stayed in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel with a small balcony. The room was spacious and clean and the staff were brilliant. My only concern was that there seemed to be a club or bar close by which could get nosy during the nights (and the Icelandic people know how to party!!)

But on return, myself and my boyfriend stayed in a studio apartment which is located in a building just behind the main block which was very quiet! Ideally located, the room was big and clean and the double bed was very comfortable. I had emailed the hotel to say it was my boyfriends birthday and to see if they could put a few beers Into the room for him. They did this no problems, no hassle. 6 pack of beer and two small balloons! Perfect! It cost nearly £30 (But that's Iceland!)

The breakfast is well stocked up with all your general continental dishes and meats and the staff make a good conscious effort to keep the area full during breakfast. It's not a big dinning area (but it's not a big hotel!) so it can get busy during breakfast. I would suggest getting there early OR just before breakfast finishes as these are the quieter times.

The room was cleaned every day, fresh lining, clean bins and fresh towels. The location is ideal. It's situated right in the high street of Reykjavik. Perfect. Any trips or tours you take will normally pick you up from the lobby of the hotel and if you need to book trips the hotel can help you with this also!

One morning we needed a taxi and the hotel was able to book this for us no problem. No stress. Checking out at 03:30 was a breeze, the lady behind the counter was brilliant and after a check hand over of the room keys we were then offered to help our self to some breakfast and coffee! (Even at 03:30am!!)

Would I recommend?
Definitely!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I booked Hotel Fron for a two night stay for my wife and myself. The airport shuttle dropped us about 10 metres from the hotel door. We got to the hotel approximately 10:00 but hadn't booked an early check in; despite this we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who explained that this want a problem although our room wouldn't be ready for a little while and we were able to leave our luggage there securely whilst we went for a little wander.
The hotel is indeed superbly located right on the main shopping street amidst the lovely boutiques, bars and restaurants all within walking distance. I think had this locati4on been in several other capital cities the price of staying here would be much greater.
Our room was clean and spacious enough for the two of us, not too big but then again not miniscule either (having read another review about the bathroom not being large enough for two people I'm not sure I would want to be in there at the same time as someone else).
The hotel was clean, the inclusive breakfast was a mix of cereals and continental with tea, coffee and juices and was more than enough. The staff were extremely friendly and their assistance with arranging excursions and also our return airport shuttle seemed to be no trouble for them.
As others have stated Iceland is expensive for dining out and going for a coffee etc so bear in mind and stock up if you can.
I highly recommend Hotel Fron for location, value, cleanliness and friendliness and would most definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NigeGillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our stay at the hotel started off a bit badly when we arrived at 6am after two days of flying. I had sent an email prior to our arrival asking to be allowed to check in early, and received a response that the hotel staff would try their best. Upon arrival, when I again asked if it was possible for us to check in early, I was rudely informed that the hotel cannot keep a room empty all night to allow me early check in unless i was paying for the prior night. I was quite taken aback, as this is not what I implied - I only meant if the room was empty, could we get it earlier. I didnt make a fuss at this rude remark as the gentleman then told me he would still see what he could do. We were allowed to check in at 9:30am, which is considerably better than the standard check in time of 2pm.

Location here is excellent, walking distance to a great many restaurants and shops. Tour buses collect you inside the hotel reception.

Room and bathroom are tiny but comfortable and clean. We were over the street and I enjoyed people watching from our large window. We had no issue with noise. We requested a double bed, which actually turned out to be two single beds made up separately, but placed next to each other. The hot water in the tap smells strongly of sulphur, which can be quite off putting at first - but this is the norm in Iceland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 April 2014

East access to historic harbour. The trip organisers pick up from the door but some don't drop off as this hotel is on a narrow street. Surrounded by bars & restaurants with a range of shops nearby. Breakfast does what it says; great coffee, cheese, eggs, cereals, yoghurt etc. Restaurant area is clean & has some interesting design details as does the main foyer. So quiet in our room, at the back, that we slept on the really comfy beds like logs!!! Staff are all helpful & happy to have a chat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband, 20 year old son and I stayed at the Hotel Fron in late March. The location is unbeatable, right on the main shopping street within easy walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, shops and attractions. We had a very spacious two-bedroom suite. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a good size. We reserved a parking space behind the hotel which was very handy. You do have to have nerves of steel to navigate in the small, but very convenient, parking lot. My only complaint is that the wifi in our room was virtually non-existent. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Fron again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing