We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value & great location.”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

When I booked this hotel, I was unaware that it was in such a prime location. It's located close to Bonus grocery store, close to little shops & restaurants, and close to the waterfront. The breakfast was good - selection of meats, cheese, cereal, yogurt, etc. The room was also tidy and was quite large for a hotel room. The only weak point would have to be the customer service. I found some staff members to be somewhat dismissive and not eager to help. Overall, great value staying here.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank kimberlynicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 2,348 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice, not very big hotel in center, near old town. Frendly staff, mainly from lithuania. Very clean rooms, you can choose with kitchen. Breakfast scandinavic, without hot meals, not big choose, but enough for morning, in small restaurant tasty food. Good quality for good value. I like it

Room Tip: better to order two bed rooms with kitchen, they are bigger and with windows not into the street (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Went here for our honeymoon, the hotel upgraded our room free of charge which was brilliant. They arranged all our trips and return shuttle to the airport. Breakfast was good, the room clean and tidy. The hotel is situated on the Main Street and in my opinion you'd be hard pressed to find a better located hotel in Reykjavik. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morley2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just back from four day trip staying at the Fron Hotel. Excellent location, friendly staff and very good value. Located in centre of Reykjavik within easy distance of all main attractions and easy to get onto the main road routes. Breakfast was OK but the overall value was excellent. If hiring a car recommend you book car park space at Hotel at cost of 10 euros per night. Enjoy !

Room Tip: Try and get 214 it is a suite with Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itfc1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Agree with many of the previous reviews, but as a single traveller I got a small single room. Stayed for a whole week using it as base to travel to other parts of Iceland and just relax in town. OVerall the pros/cons are:
Pros:
Location
Location
Location
Decent prices (for Iceland standards)
Front desk staff (the gentlemen)...always smiling/hello
Rooms facing courtyard is quiet even during weekend craziness

CONS
mattress in bed (needs new one..very bad for the back)
small room
breakfast (Very basic)
Female front desk staff (got a similar rude response when trying to check in early, despite being very polite and friendly, and offering to come back in 2 hours!)
Female kitchen staff (think many others have made note of this, but she really hates her job, never smiled once in 7 days).
Maid service (never washed the wine glass once in 7 days)

All in all, not bad given location and I'm sure other rooms are nicer.

Room Tip: Facing courtyard ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCKiWeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I spent a long time looking for a hotel with a good price in Reykjavik - it was quite a challenge. Eventually I settled for Fron and I'm glad I did. The location is perfect and better than any other. Rooms were nice and spacious with TV, kitchen area and shower room. It's not posh at all but clean and roomy. Breakfast was typical European - unbranded cereals, meats/cheese, toast, fruit and yogurt. The only issue I had was the noise outside our room on the first night, we were on the ground floor and could hear everything from outside and above. I would therefore request a room not on the ground floor. Othen than that I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: request a room not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _-rachella-_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Unsure of the hotel/hostel situation in Reykjavik, I erred on the side of caution and decided to stay at Hotel Fron. I was not disappointed, when we checked in we were upgraded to an apartment style room! The place was huge! Breakfast is provided. The front desk was very helpful, providing maps and advice on where to go and how to get there. Bed were comfy, rooms were cleaned daily. All the tour companies have the hotel as a pick up/drop off destination. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and the next time I return to Reykjavik Hotel Fron will be where I stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Odinsve
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fosshotel Raudara
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fosshotel Lind
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hilda
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £105 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing