We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fron
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Sandhotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,427)
Filter reviews
2,427 results
Traveller rating
788
1,201
333
63
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
1,201
333
63
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetbreadscandinavian restaurantgreat locationyogurtcentral locationattached restaurantstudio roomcold meatssmall kitchenettecooking facilitieshot waterkitchen areabreakfast staffcontinental breakfastsulphur smellmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,458 - 1,463 of 2,427 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a clean and really good value hotel on a main (and under pavement heated) street in the city. No frills but worth considering if you want convenience and value. We stayed in the annexe in a room with a kitchen (good given the prices) and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Reykjavik and is good value for money. They have a private car park at the rear which requires pre booking. I would recommend doing this if you have a car as there is no public parking in close proximity to the hotel.

We arrived a lot earlier than expected and had no problems checking in several hours early.

The room (we had an apartment with a double and a sofa bed) was basic but functional. The bedroom was a little small, the door would not close at all as the bed was in the way.

Breakfast was good. There was a reasonable selection that would accommodate most people. It does get very busy though, we went down to the breakfast room around 08:30 and had to wait for a table to become available.

This is a good hotel for the money and I would recommend it for a short city break or a stop over. It's not somewhere I would want to stay for more than a day or two.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was exteremely pleased with my experience with Hotel Fron. The location of the place is perfect, the rooms were clean and spacious, the food at breakfast was good. As we were travelling by car it was great they had parking for their guest as this saved us the trouble of searching for a parking place in the center of the city. I recommend it to anyone visiting Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yoana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at Hotel Fron for three nights in April - absolutely wonderful location, helpful staff and lovely rooms! Arrived into Reykjavik early from Toronto flight and was graciously greeted and able to secure early check in to my room. The room was lovely and clean and offered a prime home base for my adventures around Reykjavik and surrounding area. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful with booking excursions and giving helpful tips and directions for the area. The location is amazing - but it is also on one of the main streets in downtown Reykjavik - if you are a light sleeper, take advantage of the complimentary ear plugs. For my next visit to Iceland I will absolutely be visiting Hotel Fron!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The location for this hotel could not be beat. It was close to the harbor area and within walking distance of lots of restaurants and attractions. The rooms were clean and the water was always hot. Breakfast was good with lots of selection, you just need to watch what time you eat breakfast as later times in the morning it was difficult to find a place to sit. Hotel staff was very helpful and even helped us print our boarding passes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews