We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here for four nights in November 2013. The price was fantastic, the room was cozy and clean, and the location unbeatable. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable spot right in the middle of Reykjavik.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    1,075
    282
    51
    33
See reviews for
299
1,069
194
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fron Hotel in March 2014 for 5 nights; while my sister stayed for 6 nights.

Firstly, the location is absolutely perfect for tourists wanting to experience Iceland and Reykjavik.. All day tour operators have pick ups and drops happening directly at the hotel! Also, it is perfectly located within Reykjavik; being next door to great restaurants, bars and shops as it's on most central part of the main road (Laugavegur).

Secondly, the hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly! They helped coordinate and contact tour operators for day tours; and they made great recommendations for restaurants and shops etc.

The rooms were quite nice and clean; as were the toilets.. We had taken a room at the back building on the top floor as we wanted a studio apartment sort of room which was silent. My sister booked her room later; she got a room in the front building on a lower floor.. And she too had no complaints.. Though I guess we didn't hear any of the noisy crowds at nights coz we weren't there over the weekend.. The heating was quite good.. Maybe too good! ;)

The breakfast buffet was quite nice and adequate and of good quality. No complaints there.

Oh and btw it is one of the only value for money hotels on Laugavegur! 2 thumbs up on the pricing!

We chose this hotel based on reviews on tripadvisor; and not a moment of regret! :)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank moonrover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a charming, homey little hotel with VERY friendly and helpful staff. The lobby area is remiscent of an upscale log cabin. Our room was old but renovated with modern amenities, therefore very comfortable and spacious enough for two. The blackout drapes are considerably efficient against the "midnight sun" when you're trying to get a good sleep! It's perfectly located literally in the middle of the action: nightclubs, bars, shops, restaurants, and a short walk to the harbourside...and more shops. The included breakfast was a no-frills but satisfying buffet of bread, deli meats, cheeses, sandwich fixings, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, coffee & tea. I will most definitely return to Hotel Fron on my next Reykjavik visit.

Room Tip: Small, narrow staircase and one small elevator. Do not come with a ton of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalsaGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Reasonably priced hotel centrally situated in Reykjavik. Quiet, clean rooms, if slightly overheated. Nice breakfast buffet. Helpful reception. If we're back in Reykjavik, we'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a 3 star Spartan hotel located on the main shopping street in Reykjavik. The staff is very good--very helpful and professional. The hotel is clean and comfortable. You can eat in the restaurant or select one of the many dining options in the area. Situated in the charming old part of Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notjustaknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This small hotel is in a good location on one of the main streets in the centre of Reykjavik. It is close to lots of great places to eat and also within walking distance of main attractions. The reception staff were very helpful and check in was easy. We stayed in a room that had a small kitchen area in it which was useful and the room itself was a good size. Our friends however, were allocated a standard room which was small and they struggled to find room to put both of their suitcases. We ate breakfast in the restaurant next door which was good with plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, boiled eggs, cold meats etc. There were plenty of staff constantly replenishing the buffet items and quickly clearing tables. We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: You may wish to avoid a room on the front if staying on a weekend as the main street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudge15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at Hotel Fron, at the beginning and end of our self-drive ring tour. If and when we find ourselves back in Reykjavik, we would not hesitate to book here again. It would be impossible to find a better location, an easy walk to everything in "old" Reykjavik you would want to see. We spent one night in the main building and another in the annex, and in each case the rooms were exceptionally large by Icelandic standards and well appointed; our annex room was large enough for a couch and table. The rooms have been remodeled in recent years and are quite nice, with modern and attractive furniture.

The desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We arrived very early in the morning, well before normal check-in time, yet the hotel provided breakfast for us, allowed us to store our luggage, and expedited our room. The staff is more than eager to provide information on the best places to eat and to see. In spite of the hotel facing one of Reykjavik's busiest streets, our rooms were very quiet.

The Fron is a popular hotel with the tour bus crowd, and when a tour is leaving or arriving it can get quite busy, but this does not last for long. All in all, excellent value, extremely comfortable, and most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdDogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing