We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but few frills”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but few frills”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Hotel Fron is strictly three stars. The central location is excellent and if you are not looking for luxury, you would probably be happy staying here. We liked it.
We stayed here twice,a the beginning and then at the conclusion of our Iceland road trip. For our first stay, we were allocated an older style room. It was quite ok, no serious complaints, clean and comfortable, but a bit tired. The second time, we had a renovated room, which was much nicer. The room was not large, but an adequate size. The bathroom was well designed and functional. Everything was very clean and tidy.
There was no tea/coffee making in the room.
Wifi worked well.
Breakfast was good, with an ample array of cold dishes and good, strong coffee.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    1,105
    304
    56
    38
See reviews for
319
1,107
202
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly located with lots of nearby shopping, cafes and bars. The harbour is a short walking distance as well. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are large. The bathrooms are large, clean and modern. There is a lift. The breakfast buffet has good variety.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just stayed here for 5 nights and found this hotel perfect for what we wanted. we had two rooms 223 and 226, one was an excellent size for a single and the other was a twin with a kitchen area and sitting area. They were situated at the back of the annex of the hotel so we heard no noise.Breakfast was basic but always cereal and yoghurts, hams and cheeses and jams and as much bread as you wanted, toaster available also.Hot and cold drinks were freely available.
The reception would always reconfirm your excursions for the next day and the pick up for the tours was just around the corner,(reykjavik excursions).
Would recommend this hotel for its central location and Reykjavik is a very walkable city, lots of bars, cafes within very easy reach, but look for the happy hours to make it more affordable.
we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Rooms over the front I would imagine can get quite noisy so we asked for a quiet location and got tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woody16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed Here last Weekend , It is Ideally Situated in The heart of Reykjavik surrounded by bars and restaurants. The staff were helpful and very friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable with great shower room . Breakfast buffet could do with some work,We didn't eat at the Hotel but the meals did look very nice, the rooms at the front faced out onto the busy nightlife so there was some noise all night but not to much to prevent sleep. I will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattoopair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here for four nights in November 2013. The price was fantastic, the room was cozy and clean, and the location unbeatable. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable spot right in the middle of Reykjavik.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fron Hotel in March 2014 for 5 nights; while my sister stayed for 6 nights.

Firstly, the location is absolutely perfect for tourists wanting to experience Iceland and Reykjavik.. All day tour operators have pick ups and drops happening directly at the hotel! Also, it is perfectly located within Reykjavik; being next door to great restaurants, bars and shops as it's on most central part of the main road (Laugavegur).

Secondly, the hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly! They helped coordinate and contact tour operators for day tours; and they made great recommendations for restaurants and shops etc.

The rooms were quite nice and clean; as were the toilets.. We had taken a room at the back building on the top floor as we wanted a studio apartment sort of room which was silent. My sister booked her room later; she got a room in the front building on a lower floor.. And she too had no complaints.. Though I guess we didn't hear any of the noisy crowds at nights coz we weren't there over the weekend.. The heating was quite good.. Maybe too good! ;)

The breakfast buffet was quite nice and adequate and of good quality. No complaints there.

Oh and btw it is one of the only value for money hotels on Laugavegur! 2 thumbs up on the pricing!

We chose this hotel based on reviews on tripadvisor; and not a moment of regret! :)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank moonrover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a charming, homey little hotel with VERY friendly and helpful staff. The lobby area is remiscent of an upscale log cabin. Our room was old but renovated with modern amenities, therefore very comfortable and spacious enough for two. The blackout drapes are considerably efficient against the "midnight sun" when you're trying to get a good sleep! It's perfectly located literally in the middle of the action: nightclubs, bars, shops, restaurants, and a short walk to the harbourside...and more shops. The included breakfast was a no-frills but satisfying buffet of bread, deli meats, cheeses, sandwich fixings, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, coffee & tea. I will most definitely return to Hotel Fron on my next Reykjavik visit.

Room Tip: Small, narrow staircase and one small elevator. Do not come with a ton of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalsaGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,361 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
849 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing