We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central hotel”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good central hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location. Right in the centre of the main street. We requested a room at the rear which was nice and quiet. Room was very basic but adequate. My only complaint is the staff at the desk. Out of the 6 we encountered, only 2 of them were helpful, the others quite rude and and abrupt! But I wouldn't let that put anyone off staying here, I would definitely recommend it because of its location

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SBurton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    1,076
    282
    51
    33
See reviews for
299
1,069
195
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Fron is on the main shopping/pedestrian street and therefore in a great location and an easy walk to most local attractions. Most rooms have a small kitchen, a safe and a coffee maker, but with no coffee furnished. The restaurant is quite good and offers a discount on drinks to guests. Their lamb was especially good. Nice breakfast buffet. The dining room is small so if a tour group is in it is a bit crowded.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are not as convenient as the main hotel as there are security doors and steps to man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent our first night and last night of a 10-day tour here. We had a double room the first night and a 1 bedroom apartment the last night.

The hotel is on Laugavegur street, which is in the "downtown" area and has many shops and restaurants located on it. We had dinner at Rossomodoro restaurant our last night, and I did a review on this restaurant as a separate review.

Our first night's stay was in the double room and we were somewhat surprised at the efficiency of such a small space. We had 2 twin beds, a small refrigerator with a cooking area and a t.v. The bathroom was plenty sapcious with a shower. The room was part of a building off the main entry building where you go for registering and having breakfast (lunch and dinner are also available).

Both of our rooms were very quiet, although our friends did comment that their room, which was more on the 'street" side of the building, was a bit noisy as our last night was on a Friday and the bars seemed a bit more "active" on Friday evenings than on Tuesday (our first night there).

No big surprise there!

I can't really comment on the value per se, as our stays were part of a great pre-paid package we arranged through Icelandic Guest. However, given the prime location, my guess is this would be more pricey than hotels located more on the outskirts of town.

Again, food in restaurant was very good and the prices were more reasonable than similar meals in other restaurants on the same street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heron48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a great shopping street at the beginning and end of our 17 night drive round Iceland. The first room we had was an apartment - spacious with sink,hob, microwave,fridge, & bathroom, We were 2.5 hours late arriving so appreciated the room allocated to us as we could make ourselves comfy & make a cup of tea. Breakfast was a buffet and had the standard continental buffet fare of juice, fruit, cereal hard boiled eggs, cold meats & cheese, a variety of breads and crisp breads, preserves, coffee and hot water to make tea. All was of a good standard. The reception staff were efficient, knowledgeable, and friendly. The TV didn't work - it didn't matter to us, but nevertheless we reported it to reception. Free wifi was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a spacious 1 bed apartment ( living area, kitchen area with hob , microwave fridge etc ) in a seperate building out the back of the hotel it overlooked a car park at the back and the church of iceland at a distance. We did not experience any noise . The receptionist was very helpful in booking a restaurant for the evening by ringing to make a reservation for us. The continental breakfast wasn't brilliant , the fruit consisted of Apple's chopped in half going brown and bananas with the skin still on chopped in half , no hot breakfast items . Facilities poor, tiny breakfast room for the size of the hotel. Location good, rooms good if you get an apartment, hardly any parking on site but you can park on the roads around. about cheaply 120 krona per hour no need to pay between 6pm and 10 am. Looked one of the best options in the town as I walked past the Marina hotel which was charging a lot more and it looked like a building site no view of the sea only cranes. Most of the city centre hotels looked like 60s concrete blocks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archiem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Sometimes a hotel disappoints; not so the Fron. Excellent central location; attentive staff; very helpful and informative reception; decent breakfast. Our apartment was large and warm and available when we arrived early, as we had forewarned them. The very few minor problems were immediately rectified and the whole ambience was assuringly relaxing.We expect to return to Reykjavik next year and we shall certainly return to the Fron!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Good location. It's located in the center of the town. Friendly and helpful staff. Loved my room with kitchen facilities. Free wi-fi connection was good. Breakfast was included but not much selection.

Room Tip: with kitchen facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keisei323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing