We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but keep away from the Night club” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Shillingstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel but keep away from the Night club”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location. Stayed for three nights - two nights in room 109 and one in 407. Both rooms were great for our family, particularly room 109 (one of the nicest on the hotel according to staff) - light and airy - modern Scandinavian design. Breakfast can be a bit congested, but the continental fare was typical of Iceland and fine. If you are not in Reykjavik to party then make sure your room is not near the club. Independent of the hotel extremely loud house music plays from midnight until about 4.30 in a club that is part of the building that houses Hotel Fron on weekends - ornaments were vibrating on the walls due to the deep throbbing bass. In room 407, we returned from a drink at about 11.30 and did not sleep at all. Following a complaint to the manager backed up by Nordic visitor our tour operator we received a full refund. The hotel normally places guests seeking a lively night life in this room at weekends - the idea being that they sleep here after the club has closed. Manager was impressive and apologised profusely and we were impressed with the way our complaint was dealt with.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at the back of the hotel and not physically near the club which is just off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    1,056
    269
    47
    33
See reviews for
286
1,036
191
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Unfriendly receptionnist, unremarkable breakfast, noisy room, we stayed there for one night but would not have made it longer. The only thing that saves this hotel is its location, on Reykjavik main street, full of shops and bars. This means noise until late at night though...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelie823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location, nice rooms with full kitchens (stove, refrigerator, etc.). Staff was friendly and helped solve a parking problem for me. Stay in the back of the hotel if you want to avoid street noise. Some rooms have stairs only access.

Room Tip: Stay in the back of the hotel if you want a quieter room (off of the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gottzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, Idaho, Usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our last night in Iceland, and found it very good. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom clean and modern. The buffet breakfast was very good, and the staff quick to clean up and replenish. You can't beat the location on Laugavegur either! The front desk staff are helpful and knowledgable too. I'd say my only complaint was that there were no blackout blinds in the room, so we had an unplanned early start when the morning light awoke us!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights in August in modern studio room facing the rear (room 205). No issues with noise but did not stay over a weekend. We really liked the room, very spacious, with cooking facilities. Car parking not a problem as pay and display spaces available on the street immediately behind the hotel. Parking free from 18:00 to 10:00 next day. Parking all day costs 1000 ISK. Breakfast basic as others have commented. Good value for a nice hotel very centrally located. Reception staff helpful.

Room Tip: Room 205 back facing was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjallrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Fron at the beginning and the end of our 2 week tour of Iceland. We arrived around 8 in the morning and we asked if there was any possibility of an early check in and, as it turned out, they had a cancellation so we had our room way before we thought we would have. I know this is not the norm for hotels and we had no expectations regarding early check in, but I felt they were very accommodating in this regard. The breakfast was very good and the room was perfect for our needs. Also very centrally located so easy access to all site in the city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baldheretic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#29 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing