We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed for a long weekend in January 2012. Fab location, lovely welcome. Very Friendly helpful staff. Food was excellent, service was spot on. Room was well presented, clean and comfortable. We didn't want to leave, we will definately be back, and will book direct with the hotel, wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. See you soon...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,340 - 1,346 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We originally had reservations for City Center Hotel, but they overbooked and sent us to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum. Boy did we get lucky! The staff at the desk there were so nice and helpful, they had a room ready for us at 9AM and gave us great advice on tours and the city in general. It's perfectly located, in a quaint town center area, and their breakfasts were great. Next time I would choose them first!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReenPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed for long weekend earlier this month. Good location and nicely appointed hotel. Friendly staff throughout. Ate in restaurant first night and food excellent.

Only nighle was that with the time of breakfast closing approaching they declined to put out fresh hot food even though we say down 30 mins before end of service.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whyayepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We got the best of both worlds: sleek decor and a cultural touch. Often we find one or the other, such as a modern-but-cookie-cutter chain hotel or a cramped-and-outdated inn. As soon as one enters Centrum, though, the perfect mix is apparent: the soaring ceiling is paired with the distinctively Icelandic colorful, corrugated steel siding. And at breakfast, one enjoys lingonberries on pancakes in a refined setting. Our room felt pleasantly like IKEA and Marriott had shaken hands.

The hotel is also close to everything--be it the well-stocked, 24/7 convenience store a few doors down (buy chocolate bars here!) or the tourist shops across the square. It's not on the main drag of stores, but we liked being a few blocks from the bustle. We felt cozy but IN downtown, at the same time.

Warning to people who book on Icelandair with a morning arrival: check-in is 1 pm and we had no idea when we stumbled off our overnight flight, bleary-eyed in the lobby at 9:30 am. We were so lucky to have the generosity of Christie at the desk, who made up a room for us as fast as possible. In fact, during the whole trip we found the desk staff to be patient and willing to help. Perhaps they are not ebullient in their greetings, but I suspect it is a cultural difference and what matters most is responsiveness during the conversation, which we found with everyone at the front desk.

Booking tours was easy through the front desk, and Sigfus even called smaller tour companies for us when we wondered if they'd be as professional as the mega-charter, Reykjavik Excursions. We also got local advice, such as which of the local swimming pools would be the best to visit and how to take the public bus to it.

We recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to a) experience luxury AND local flavor; b) be within walking distance to everything; c) get the assistance of friendly locals.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCDoesSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights on the 10th/11th February for my husbands birthday. We knew the hotel was very central. I emailed the hotel a few weeks before we left for Iceland to try to pay for an upgrade. When we arrived the gentleman on the hotel reception was not welcoming at all (a smile costs nothing!) he began checking us in & when I asked if a payable upgrade had become available as requested, we just got a straight NO...I was not expecting it for free, so I was a bit upset by his tone. We went to our room on the 4th floor & yes very small, but really clean & new, so that's was great. I would recommend staying here to all as very central, clean, but don't expect a big smile when you enter.....Icelandic people are very friendly though, so don't be put off. P.s. The Fish Market Restaurant next door is amazing.... :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank My_Holidays_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I have recently returned from a special long weekend in Reykjavik. She booked us into the Hotel Reykjavik Centrum and planned the whole trip as a surprise for my birthday. I don't believe she could have made a better choice. We stayed 3 nights and were pleased that she had asked for a corner room with extra space. Everything has a clean Scandinavian touch, the beds were very comfortable, noise was no problem and the bathroom was small but clean. Breakfast cost around GBP 14 pp so was not cheap, but was a nice mix of options so we were not disappointed. To be honest there weren't dozens of breakfast alternatives as most cafes nearby open later in the morning (sunrise was 10.45am after all....)
Staff were very helpful when it came to information and booking events.
All in all we left very satisfied and would definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel 2nd-6th february 2012 and cannot say a bad word about the hotel, the staff or the location!
When we arrived check in was efficient and we were directed to a beautiful room on the 4th floor. Later that evening we rang reception to request extra pillows. These were brought up to the room immediately.
The only small slightly negative comment I would say is that our bathroom was quite small, While this wasnt a problem for my husband and I, anyone who is on the large side may find it a bit cosy. None the less it was immaculate and throughly cleaned each day, with a great shower!
Breakfast was nicely presented with a selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit juice, tea/coffee/water etc along with cooked items such as eggs, bacon, sausage etc. There was also crossants, mini pancakes and jams and maple syrup.
We found reception staff extremely helpful as we had to keep checking with them if our northern lights trips were cancelled due to the weather. They always passed on messages and phoned the tour companies for us when we requested-nothing was too much trouble.
We didnt eat in the hotel restaurant apart from breakfast so I cant comment on lunch/dinner menus.
No free wifi in the hotel but this didnt bother us as we dont come on holiday to use the internet! Many local bars and cafes have access which can be used if needed.
The hotels location is perfect! Right in the centre where all the restaurants and bars are located and a short walk to the local museum, city hall and shopping streets. We stayed over a weekend and didnt find the area noisy at all. we had no trouble sleeping (maybe due to all the walking we did and the really comfy beds!)
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Reykjavic and if my husband and I return in the future we will definately be staying here!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £154 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing