We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just back from a fantastic stay, this hotel was so peaceful we sometimes thought we were only ones staying there, breakfast was excellent, the staff were helpful, we did have problems with room door lock but this sorted immediately with room change and complimentary bottle of wine, the location was perfect short walk to bars and restaurants we will be going back to Iceland and will try stay at this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank TunnelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed for one night. Hotel is interesting and very well located. Our room on the top floor was very small but fine for the one night. I wouldn't have wanted to spend several nights in such a small room.
Hotel is next to the settlement museum and within very easy walking distance of everywhere in Reykjavik. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpysimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel is well located in the city centre within easy walking distance to all the restaurants and café and shops in the main city. It is also within walking distance to the famous hot dog stand and burger stall. The room is clean, spacious and the hotel staff is friendly. There are great restaurants that are just round the corner. Breakfast is normal though. Will definitely stay here again if I ever come back to Iceland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights at the end of november. We had a great experience. Iceland is a wonderful place, and you wont be dissapointed with this hotel as a base. Fantastic location, right in the heart of the city.
Staff were really good in helping us sort out trips, including our twice cancelled northen lights excursion (3rd time lucky for me :) ) and the food was really good. Breakfast as room service came as it should, and we had no problem checking out at 4am for our early morning flight back to the uk
the only downside of this hotel was the room was a little small, with not much space for hanging up clothes. Plus the minibar fridge was quite loud if you are a light sleeper
I would highly recommend this hotel and iceland

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swanseaeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in deluxe double. Room overlooked side of hotel towards the Settlement Exhibition. Breakfast was extensive (great bacon & sausage in particular). Really good sized room, with plenty of space to leave luggage, backpacks etc. around. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly & helpful. Although there was a slight delay in having our room ready, we were given a free beer whilst we waited. Superbly located for central Reykjavik - shops, museums, galleries, harbour etc all within easy walking distance. Good coffee shop across the street and would particularly recommend the Tapas Barinn nearby - warm & busy atmosphere and probably the best value meal we had in our week-long stay in Iceland. Would stay here again next time we visit Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Beautiful hotel with equally beautiful rooms. Excellent site location. Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and very willing to help you. The breakfast buffet was tasty and fresh. The bar located at the hotel was a good place to relax before going up to the room for the night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Centrally located with many restaurants and bars within short walking distance, but without the burden of lots of noise immediately outside. Lovely timber-clad exterior hides a modern scandinavian mix of old & new on the inside. Really pleasant bar with a great atmosphere. Very helpful staff at the desk. Room was clean, modern, everything worked & no problems.

If forced to make a criticism it would be that the TV's are still old-school CRT rather than flat screen & there were few channels, but in an otherwise excellent hotel it didnt leave me bothered.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark99536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £150 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavík Centrum is located in the bustling city center within walking distance of some of Iceland's best museums, restaurants and bars. The hotel opened in 2005 and is stands in one of Reykjavik's oldest streets, Aðalstræti. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations while maintaining its original charm as the oldest parts of the building were built in 1764. The hotel spreads over three buildings and during its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD. The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing