We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Reykjavik Centrum - Ideal location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hotel Reykjavik Centrum - Ideal location.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend (Sat-Tues) last week. The hotel is right in the centre of the oldest part of Reykjavik and so this puts it in easy walking distance of most of what the city has to offer. Also, it is served by all the local travel firms so pick-ups for most trips is right outside the front door.

The staff were efficient and helpful whenever we had any questions and were great when our trips were cancelled (due to atrocious weather) and sorted out all our refunds.

Our room was small as was the bathroom and shower. But they were very clean and modern-ish. The beds where comfy, clean and warm with dual quilts (as I have had in some German hotels). The room (426) was on the 4th floor and despite the height and double glazing we still heard the traffic and pedestrian noise at night. Nothing too bad, but if you’re a light sleeper. Request a room away from the road.

The breakfasts were typical continental fayre so nothing too exciting (I have Coeliac Disease but always found something to eat without having to ask the staff 1st!) but always something hot before venturing out on the cold mornings.

Overall the hotel is compact and business like and offers a great location from which to explore Reykjavik. I will use it again when we re-visit Iceland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    786
    171
    47
    16
See reviews for
256
893
129
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
681 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

The bathroom sink drained very slowly or not at all. This means one of two things: housekeeping doesn't properly clean the sink to know it fills up with water, or they don't care and don't report it to maintenance like they should.

We informed the front desk about it the first night of our stay but by the end of our trip it still had drained slowly

Housekeeping also shorted us on towles one day. When we got back from our northern lights trip at 1 AM there was only one set of towels. The front desk quickly brought up another set.

Other than that we loved it, it's a great hotel. Great location. Friendly staff, good, and clean rooms. All tours and buses pick you up at the hotel, and they can reserve tours for you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I just came back from Iceland a few days ago. We stayed at the Hotel Reykjavik centrum and we loved it. This hotel is in the heart of the city (on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik). Room is small but clean. Hotel offers great breakfast buffet for a fix price around $20USD/person. Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. The hotel location is great because it's walking distance to basically anywhere you would want to go, shopping district, the famous hotdog stand, the church, the harbor and Harpa concert hall. I would stay here again next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetravel818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

lovely hotel located in the center of everything. walking distance to great restaurants, cafes, harbor, and tourist attractions.
rooms are small, clean, and cozy, front desk staff are very nice and helpful. the beds were a bit uncomfortable for our liking, but not a deal breaker for a 4 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OVV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Visited this hotel for 5nights from 25th Feb -2nd March 2014 with my sister.

Location: perfectly located in the old town of Reykjavik with an array of banks, restaurants, tourist attractions close by. (This is my second time in Reykjavik and stayed on the same street as I knew the location was perfect.)

Reception/foyer: nice, clean, cosy.
Reception staff were great - very friendly and helpful. We booked all out days out via the reception and had no problems at all.

Rooms: we booked a standard room via olotels.com and were very happy with the room (room 203 on the second floor - it's only one flight of stairs from reception so didn't need to use lifts).
The room was very clean and reasonably sized considering its central location (was bigger than centerhotel plaza). Seen a few reviews suggesting rooms are small - but we didn't feel this was the case.
Our room had two single beds joined together with separate duvets which suited us fine and they were very comfortable.
The bathroom had a wet room style corner shower and was clean and the floor was heated (bonus!). Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and soap is provided.
TV was old school and had a few English channels (a sports channel, Cartoon Network, animal planet and sky news- I think?!)
Heating - the room was always warm. In the night we did find that the room did get a bit too hot and we were unable to adjust the radiators so ended up opening the window a little. Our suggestion would be to turn on the radiator furtherest from the bed at night.

Food: we didn't book b&b at time of booking hotel as we knew paying as we used the facility directly with the hotel would be cheaper. In the end we didn't actually dine at the restaurant for dinner or breakfast as we found much cheaper vegetarian alternatives very close by.

Overall: had a lovely comfortable stay and would definitely recommend/return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Komal1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very nice and suited our needs just fine. However, the hotel staff at the front desk were found to be very rude and not helpful at all. The book in the rooms state that the front desk will exchange money for guests, when I approached and asked I was met with a response that made it sound like I was asking for the world. They would not do it. Overall the rooms and the location are great but you just need to deal with the staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mhascup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants, cafes, bars and shops in Reykjavik. The staff was helpful as nearly every day it seemed we were asking for help with booking a tour or something else. There is no separate concierge which was a little problematic as it was all done by the front desk, so the line got long the day we booked our tours since we were booking 3 of them and confirming another one. We arrived very early on a Monday morning and our room wasn't ready yet, but the staff checked us in and let us put our luggage in storage. We got a map of the city and went on our way. There was always one person, and usually two, sitting at the front desk, even when we came in late at night. The room was small, but we did not feel cramped with our 2 suitcases and 2 carry-ons. The shower was a bit cramped, but the endless hot water and ability to set the temperature made up for it. I was also impressed that there was a liquid hand soap dispenser for washing your hands (as opposed to using bar soap, which was also available). Our room did get stuffy, but we cracked the windows and it was fine. We had a room overlooking the square directly across from the hotel which was nice, especially since we could see when the buses were coming to pick us up. I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrxa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing