We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrum Indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is smack in the middle of everything; its very close to BPP hotdog place, the Sea Baron, and the Spanish Tapas place. Its wonderfully located, the rooms are large, spacious and its very comfortable; clean! Oh and the bathroom floors are heated!

The staff are very friendly, understand also that you may have to ask for help in carrying your luggage, no big deal! THe food is excellent, one of the best bacons i've had. The hotel restaurant itself serves good food and you may want to reserve one dinner with them; the restaurant bar is also excellent, try this drink called Corleone.

The staff can help you plan out your trip, reservations, make calls, its really a good place to stay and not even that expensive at about 200 US$ per night or less.

Room Tip: avoid rooms that starrt with a number 5, coz you'll be sent to a separate building with no eleva...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tato_delanoriega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,764)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Really glad we booked this hotel and this location in Reykjavik for our first visit to Iceland. The hotel is smart and modern with great staff, especially the two young girls on reception. Our rooms, (2 doubles) were not huge and the bathroom would have been much nicer if it had been bigger but overall pretty good. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet (4th floor) infact at times we felt as if we were the only people staying there. The breakfast if expensive (as is all food in Iceland) and ok. A buffet with a great choice but the hot food was not hot enough for my liking and a bit limited. Nice coffee though and I got a chance to try some delicious Icelandic cheese and smoked salmon with lovely fresh bread. We would definitely return to this hotel if we manage to return to Iceland, which I sincerely hope we do! The location is the key here - right amongst some great restaurants and shops as well as the harbour. The tourist office is a few yards down the road too for booking trips although reception at the hotel will do this too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bishopstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Perfectly situated in the centre of town, not too big, very comfortable, good service, excellent breakfast. No complaints at all. Just what we needed for a short 2-night family break. They were great at arranging trips, taxis and general advice too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B-005CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice clean friendly hotel in the centre of Reykjavik with a nice restaurant in house and also a café/bar if you prefer just a more informal meal...food was great with enough choice to suit most palates. Breakfast was a buffet style, again with enough choices for everybody. They reception staff were happy to help with any excursions and also rearranging excursions at short notice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAZZAQ1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We selected this Hotel from a well known British Travel Companies brochure as well as studying the Trip Adviser comments. The Hotel was superb, ALL the staff we dealt with were so polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The Hotel facilities were first rate, which is more than can be said for our Travel Company who got our pick up times wrong for two of the excursions we pre booked, but this was sorted out for us by the reception staff with no hesitation.
I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel as a place to stay for a break (we were there for 5 nights) The location is excellent for getting around and ideally situated for restaurants etc.
In my opinion Iceland is a "must do" holiday, as it is unique and a wonderful place to visit. Go on, try it sometime and maybe try this Hotel as well

Room Tip: Front rooms over looking the Hotel Entrance can be a little noisy at night with cobbled streets addi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 389DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for a few days this month with friends. The location of this hotel is excellent for exploring the city on foot or bus and is uniquely situated above the settlement museum , one of the oldest sites in Reykjavik. ( we visited the museum and were impressed with its simplicity yet wonderful ability to convey the history of the area )
The rooms were very clean and warm and equipped well with toiletries, tea, coffee etc. which were always topped up daily. All the staff were helpful and friendly . The hotel had a cosmopolitan mix of guests, tourists and corporate and was always comfortable and quiet.
The buffet breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold foods but the art work on the wall which pictured a toilet was a little off putting while we ate! Maybe it was icelandic humour.
The bar was warm and cosy even if prices were a little inflated. For convenience we had a bar meal one evening which was excellent and huge, but we ate out most evenings as there is an abundance of options in the nearby area and it seemed a shame not to explore the fabulous foods of Iceland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay in the same hotel again for several reasons. The location was good, being very central. There were lots of restaurants nearby. The hotel staff had been very helpful on my previous visit and the hotel facilities met my requirements. I'm glad I made this choice again.

The room was very clean and big enough. There wasn't a lot of wardrobe space, but it was well designed, so more than adequate.

I we glad to discover that there is now free Wi-Fi in the hotel, which was not the case previously.

Another positive change was that sandwiches, drinks and snacks are available 24 hrs a day beside reception.

The staff continued to be very helpful and were happy to book excursions and make recommendations.

On my next stay (whenever that is!), I would come back to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kat537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 53 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £156 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing