We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay 24 March - 28 March 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for a short break in March and what the other reviewers on TA say is absolutely true. It is a centrally located hotel in what is a very small city. We ate at the hotel restaurant on our 1st night and the food and service were excellent, particularly the dessert.
I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EasyTraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've been to Iceland a couple of times but this was my first stay at the Centrum. I don't think it'll be my last.

Reykjavik is a small city and you can pretty much walk around all of it. You'll find the most central hotels between Laekjargata in the West and Langahlid in the East, they're usually also the more noisy end of Reykjavik though. Go further East, past Kringlumyrabraut, you'll find a couple of bigger hotels with their own parking and all the usual amenities but it's just that little bit too much of a trek into town for me. West of Laekjargata, where the Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is located, is an easy walk to everything you want to see but a more open, quieter area with some of the more upmarket hotels and restaurants.

So, great location, nice area, tick first box. Great room too, had a safe and a fridge, my two personal 'must haves' for a hotel room, plus all the usual amenities for a hotel of this class. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, which is good, and unobtrusive chambermaid service, also good.

Downsides? No parking, so you have to pay for a public car park or there's plenty of on-street parking in the residential streets about 350M walk away. That's it, really. Breakfast was towards the expensive end, £13, but a nice buffet selection and not that expensive by Icelandic standards where eating out can be pricey. If you want to be picky there was only CNN News in English on the TV but you don't go to Iceland to watch TV. Frankly, I'm struggling to find downsides.

When I go back to Iceland, this'll be my first choice of hotel for my next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Evan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is centrally located for all the restaurants etc in the capital. Our room for 3 was spacious and nicely decorated and very clean. 2 single beds pushed together and then 1 sleeper sofa.The rest of the hotel is well designed and there is a restaurant on site (we didnt use it) The only negative was that we thought the breakfast could have been better, greasy bacon and cold scrambled eggs and not a good selection of fruit. We found a restaurant called the Laundromat Cafe just 5 mins away that served amazing breakfast selections so wish we had found that on our first day. All in all I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here at the end of March. Central location, five minutes from harbour and shops.
Rooms are modern clean and comfortable, if a little small. Reception staff very helpful and checked us in early as the room was ready. Breakfast is very good, costing 2600 ISK, about £13-£14, good selection of hot and cold food and lovely coffee.
The bar area is very nice, with a selection of locally produced beers, didn't eat in the bar, but the food looked very good.
Would have given 5/5 but room safe didn't work and wasn't fixed despite reporting it.
If travelling to Reykjavik again would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayzeebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Spent 3 nights here in April, the location is perfect, right in the middle of town only a few minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and bars. Check-in was quick and easy and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room on the forth floor was fairly basic but clean and comfortable with tea/coffee, room safe and an iron & ironing board and also a fridge.
The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices of hot and cold food.
One thing I did find strange is when I checked out they would only take payment by card or Euros and not Icelandic Krona (which is all I had) but after a while the guy on the desk did find a way round this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent 4 nights here in early April as a base for our first trip to Reykjavik.It's located within easy walking distance of all the central attractions,restaurants and bars.The buffet breakfast has plenty of choice and is served in a tasteful dining room overlooking the street.
The rooms were quite warm and as the weather was mild we left the window slightly open. The locals tend to get rather noisy in the early hours following Friday & Saturday nights - the open window did allow some noise in, but not a great problem.
The hotel has a character which is missing from modern hotels.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jendavies12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is smack in the middle of everything; its very close to BPP hotdog place, the Sea Baron, and the Spanish Tapas place. Its wonderfully located, the rooms are large, spacious and its very comfortable; clean! Oh and the bathroom floors are heated!

The staff are very friendly, understand also that you may have to ask for help in carrying your luggage, no big deal! THe food is excellent, one of the best bacons i've had. The hotel restaurant itself serves good food and you may want to reserve one dinner with them; the restaurant bar is also excellent, try this drink called Corleone.

The staff can help you plan out your trip, reservations, make calls, its really a good place to stay and not even that expensive at about 200 US$ per night or less.

Room Tip: avoid rooms that starrt with a number 5, coz you'll be sent to a separate building with no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tato_delanoriega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,930 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 55 in Reykjavik
677 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £139 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavík Centrum is located in the bustling city center within walking distance of some of Iceland's best museums, restaurants and bars. The hotel opened in 2005 and is stands in one of Reykjavik's oldest streets, Aðalstræti. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations while maintaining its original charm as the oldest parts of the building were built in 1764. The hotel spreads over three buildings and during its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD. The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing