We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I've been to Reykjavik a couple of times and this was my first stay in this hotel.

I was really pleased with the hotel, the rooms are comfy and spacious, the hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is a big plus, it's located central to the small town, top rated restaurants and good bars.

Breakfast has a nice selection of food and drink, and when it gets too busy, you can use the tables in the bar area (they are set up for this purpose).

The bar is nice, and when I was there it was very quiet. My only one minor grumble is they didn't have a big selection of drinks compared to other hotels I've stayed in. But that wouldn't stop me from staying there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beaglekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    760
    166
    44
    16
See reviews for
244
870
124
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for a short break in March and what the other reviewers on TA say is absolutely true. It is a centrally located hotel in what is a very small city. We ate at the hotel restaurant on our 1st night and the food and service were excellent, particularly the dessert.
I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EasyTraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've been to Iceland a couple of times but this was my first stay at the Centrum. I don't think it'll be my last.

Reykjavik is a small city and you can pretty much walk around all of it. You'll find the most central hotels between Laekjargata in the West and Langahlid in the East, they're usually also the more noisy end of Reykjavik though. Go further East, past Kringlumyrabraut, you'll find a couple of bigger hotels with their own parking and all the usual amenities but it's just that little bit too much of a trek into town for me. West of Laekjargata, where the Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is located, is an easy walk to everything you want to see but a more open, quieter area with some of the more upmarket hotels and restaurants.

So, great location, nice area, tick first box. Great room too, had a safe and a fridge, my two personal 'must haves' for a hotel room, plus all the usual amenities for a hotel of this class. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, which is good, and unobtrusive chambermaid service, also good.

Downsides? No parking, so you have to pay for a public car park or there's plenty of on-street parking in the residential streets about 350M walk away. That's it, really. Breakfast was towards the expensive end, £13, but a nice buffet selection and not that expensive by Icelandic standards where eating out can be pricey. If you want to be picky there was only CNN News in English on the TV but you don't go to Iceland to watch TV. Frankly, I'm struggling to find downsides.

When I go back to Iceland, this'll be my first choice of hotel for my next stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is centrally located for all the restaurants etc in the capital. Our room for 3 was spacious and nicely decorated and very clean. 2 single beds pushed together and then 1 sleeper sofa.The rest of the hotel is well designed and there is a restaurant on site (we didnt use it) The only negative was that we thought the breakfast could have been better, greasy bacon and cold scrambled eggs and not a good selection of fruit. We found a restaurant called the Laundromat Cafe just 5 mins away that served amazing breakfast selections so wish we had found that on our first day. All in all I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bramblewood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strood UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here at the end of March. Central location, five minutes from harbour and shops.
Rooms are modern clean and comfortable, if a little small. Reception staff very helpful and checked us in early as the room was ready. Breakfast is very good, costing 2600 ISK, about £13-£14, good selection of hot and cold food and lovely coffee.
The bar area is very nice, with a selection of locally produced beers, didn't eat in the bar, but the food looked very good.
Would have given 5/5 but room safe didn't work and wasn't fixed despite reporting it.
If travelling to Reykjavik again would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayzeebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Spent 3 nights here in April, the location is perfect, right in the middle of town only a few minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and bars. Check-in was quick and easy and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room on the forth floor was fairly basic but clean and comfortable with tea/coffee, room safe and an iron & ironing board and also a fridge.
The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices of hot and cold food.
One thing I did find strange is when I checked out they would only take payment by card or Euros and not Icelandic Krona (which is all I had) but after a while the guy on the desk did find a way round this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here in early April as a base for our first trip to Reykjavik.It's located within easy walking distance of all the central attractions,restaurants and bars.The buffet breakfast has plenty of choice and is served in a tasteful dining room overlooking the street.
The rooms were quite warm and as the weather was mild we left the window slightly open. The locals tend to get rather noisy in the early hours following Friday & Saturday nights - the open window did allow some noise in, but not a great problem.
The hotel has a character which is missing from modern hotels.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jendavies12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Odinsve
#17 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing