We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Walking About”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location for Walking About”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning and end of our drive around the ring road. The rooms are European sized but quite comfortable. The breakfast buffet is very nice. Note that they do not have the rooms ready any earlier than 2:00 so if you arrive earlier, you can store your luggage with them and go exploring. The rooms are spotless. As it seems to be the case throughout Iceland, the windows do not open much and the only cover is a comforter, so we were hot most nights on our trip. We spent 2 nights on the 3rd floor facing the street. Street noise was not bad, and I never heard another guest. Our return trip was on the 4th floor and the wind howled through the attic or something and was very noisy. The restaurant had a good dinner. It is a good location. Oh, and the bar is nice too.

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getaround28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    786
    169
    47
    16
See reviews for
256
893
129
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were in Reykjavik for a conference and so could compare notes on hotels with many of the other conferees. We definitely felt that we had picked the best one. The location is excellent. Reykjavik city center is reasonably small, so, even though the Centrum was on the edge of it, it wasn't a long walk to the major shopping street, and being on the edge meant that the Centrum was much quieter. As you can see from the photo, the Centrum seems to be composed of two 19th-century houses: the gray one is the bar and the red one is the hotel restaurant (reviewed elsewhere). Behind these is a modern extension where the hotel rooms are located. They are wonderfully comfortable and well appointed. No complaints at all on that score. How good the wifi is depended on where your room was; I generally had to go down to the lobby if I wanted to do more than check my email. We were there in July when the midnight sun can be a problem. There are good curtains on the windows, but, if light is a problem, you may want to use a sleep mask of some type.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We just spent 2 times 1 night (we did a tour in between).
We got the junior suite and it was nice.
The hotel is clean.
Breakfast was good.
Staff was nice.
I would definitely recommend it (but maybe not for a long stay ...)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Super place to stay. Very clean and good sized room. Perfect location near the the square and start of the main strip with shops and places to eat and drink on. Nice staff and helpful. We had a mini powercut in our room we told them and this was sorted by the time we came back from our meal. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deeside
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Spent 5 nights here in total in July. Rooms were large and well equipped. Handy as it's right in the centre of Reykjavik. Didn't eat evening meals in the hotel as it has whale on the menu - whale is not apparently a national dish and it is only served to tourists, who inadvertently contribute to the continuation of whaling! Having said that, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. If you not on a bus trip, it may be worth waiting till nearer 8 for breakfast as the breakfast room was very busy earlier on. They replenish the buffet so being later is not a disadvantage. Very pleased with our stay - would have given 5 star but for the whale meat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeesideRob_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

1st time in Iceland/Reykjavik and stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Excellent location but to be honest,Reykjavik is so small(rather like a small town than a city) just about any other hotel is also well located in my opinion! Hire car and arrived on a Sunday so parking was free in a parking lot just around the corner. There are also places to park on the street nearby but not directly in front of the hotel.Parking charges Mon-Sat 10am to 6pm and 120 isk/hour so about £6 for the day which is incredibly reasonable,especially in Iceland as prices are sky high for most things!
Room on the 4th floor.Lift access.Some dirty looking carpets in the common areas when you exit the lift but the actual room clean(wooden floors) and well specified.And free Wi-fi! Nothing truly special or memorable about it but also no major criticisms either. Breakfast-good selection of hot and cold foods(not bad for Iceland as we later found out at other stays). Just a short walk from the MAIN street which goes through the centre of Reykjavik(full of shops and eateries,bars etc),and is situated at the base of this street. Also a short walk to the Icelandic National Museum 15-20 mins.Would happily say here again.

Room Tip: Room 414, which was looking over a quiet side alleyway/street which had an ok view and was still qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyMark383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've stayed for 6 days. Excelent hotel, in a good place in downtown, close to the harbour and the main street of the capital. Clean, good and confortable room and delicious breakfast Excelent free wi-fi in the room. Definitely, it is a big option to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfrank69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing