We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the Center”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is located in the city center. In the neighbour one will find many restaurants and some museums. The hotel itself has very clean, but small rooms. The breakfast is european standard and good. The bar and the hotel restaurant are both good.
This is a good place for doing excursions on Island. We would book this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lo_Volker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    786
    169
    46
    16
See reviews for
254
892
129
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel was close to everything! Easy walking to everything! The hotel was clean and welcoming! The staff were attentive and helpful. The fish and chips in the restaurant was wonderful! We really enjoyed ourselves! Definitely consider this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okie-Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Right downtown with many restaurants and shopping immediately available. Decor in hallways muted and beautiful, rooms clean though small. We had a quiet room; one couple said they had to change theirs because of the street noise. Food good, though restaurant is small for the size of the hotel - was crowded at breakfast time. "Settler" museum right next door - very worthwhile to see. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Not one on the first floor next to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbede673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very nice hotel with accommodating staff who did all possible to make us happy during our stay. Checking and checkout was quick and easy. The room was immaculate, very comfortable and had everything we needed, WI fi, TV with satellite, hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge, iron. Bathroom always clean, all environmental friendly. The breakfast was very good. Hot and cold items, skyr, eggs, sausages, juices etc. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. Their restaurant food was excellent and it was a great place to hang out. Tour pickups well organized. The location of Centrum is supreme near the square with restaurants and not too far from bars and the nightlife. We enjoy our three day stay in Reykjavik while we were on our way to Paris for Christmas. We can't wait to go back and stay here again in some other time of the year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of Reykjavik. The staff were friendly and the bar area was tasteful. Rooms were clean and well quipped. The restaurant lacks a little atmosphere for evening meals

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our holiday in Iceland and decided it was probably one of the best city hotels we had stayed in. Room good, breakfast and evening meals excellent .In fact one of our best evening meals in 3 weeks in Iceland was here. Location is excellent as everything is in walking distance. Would have starred it as 5 star but our room was on the front so Friday and Saturday nights were a little noisy. We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be noisy on Saturday and Sunday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning and end of our drive around the ring road. The rooms are European sized but quite comfortable. The breakfast buffet is very nice. Note that they do not have the rooms ready any earlier than 2:00 so if you arrive earlier, you can store your luggage with them and go exploring. The rooms are spotless. As it seems to be the case throughout Iceland, the windows do not open much and the only cover is a comforter, so we were hot most nights on our trip. We spent 2 nights on the 3rd floor facing the street. Street noise was not bad, and I never heard another guest. Our return trip was on the 4th floor and the wind howled through the attic or something and was very noisy. The restaurant had a good dinner. It is a good location. Oh, and the bar is nice too.

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getaround28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing