We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£217
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£187
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Marica L

Great location and exceptional staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Nov 2019
This hotel is the best to stay in and very affordable. Staff very nice and helpful. Very comfortable and in the centre. One goes to Iceland for the scenery as Reykavik itself is not a place to hang around for a long time as it is not very big. Reykyavik and the whole of Iceland is excruciatingly expensive, but worth visiting. The first night we went in search of the Aurora Borealis unfortunately we did not see this, better luck next time!
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThelmaTheo, General Manager at Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, responded to this review
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear 788marical,

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are so delighted to hear you had a good experience at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest, and cross our fingers for northern lights that time!

All the best,
Thelma Theodórsdóttir
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£240
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    £196
  • Expedia.com
    £239
0.2 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£179
  • Hotels.com
    £194
  • Expedia.com
    £194
  • Vio.com
0.5 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£223
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    £194
  • Expedia.com
    £219
0.8 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£223
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
    £156
  • Expedia.com
    £219
1.9 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
£169
  • Tripadvisor
    £170
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £170
1.7 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £240
  • Agoda.com
    £188
  • Hotel Website
0.4 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £298
  • travelup.com
    £249
  • Expedia.com
    £295
0.1 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £175
  • Agoda.com
    £153
  • ZenHotels.com
    £175
0.3 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £325
  • Algotels
    £301
  • Expedia.com
    £325
0.4 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
    £170
  • Trip.com
0.9 miles from Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (2,689)
Filter reviews
2,689 results
Traveller rating
1,357
1,033
217
57
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,357
1,033
217
57
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location settlement museum happy hour city hall central location hotel bar lovely hotel within walking distance blue lagoon bars and restaurants stayed here for nights bus stop deluxe room on the small side northern lights old harbour breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 2,689 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2019 via mobile

Friendly, comfortable hotel in a conveniently central position for the city with sights, museums and shops close by. Marvellous breakfast and a small but delightful Bistro/bar. Lovely staff and excellent service.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Snooks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThelmaTheo, General Manager at Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear Snooks5,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

We are delighted to hear about your experience with our staff and hotel.

We certainly hope to see you again some day

All the best,
Thelma Theodórsdóttir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2019

A very central location in the old town heart of Reykjavik makes this an ideal place from which to explore the city. The hotel is a clever mix of old and new buildings, with very modern, clean and spacious rooms. Without exception every member of staff was polite, friendly, helpful and professional. We were booked in on a bed-and-breakfast basis, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. A generous selection of both hot and cold food to satisfy most tastes. We also dined in the restaurant on 2 evenings and the food was equally as good then. A top tip is to eat during "Happy Hour" when some dishes are offered "2 for1", and so are some of the drinks.

Room tip: Lift to all floors
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThelmaTheo, General Manager at Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear Martin W,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review.

We are truly delighted to hear about your experience and hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Thelma Theodórsdóttir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2019

The hotel is in the middle of the old town and close to a lot of restaurants and shops. Good service from the personell.
Not that many electrical outlets though in the room, had an issue using the water boiler and to charge my phone. Ok room standard but not impressive.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amiraroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThelmaTheo, General Manager at Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear amiraroula,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.

We are pleased to hear our staff made you feel welcome and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Thelma Theodórsdóttir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2019

We enjoyed very good fish and chips during the happy hours which I think run from 16.00 to 20.00. Two meals for the price of one and two drinks on the same basis. Quite a saving in Iceland which is not a cheap place to eat.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThelmaTheo, General Manager at Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear Daryl M,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our bistro and hope to see you again some day.

Best Wishes,
Thelma Theodórsdóttir
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2019

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean, warm and well maintained.
The room was cosy and the bed very comfortable. The only negative was that the bedroom walls were not very soundproof and we could hear the cleaner moving the furniture around, when we were in bed.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Thomas2100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThelmaTheo, General Manager at Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear ian c,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy to hear about your positive experience and appreciate your time.
We will certainly look into what we can do to make the walls more soundproof for better privacy.

Hope to see you again!

Best Wishes,
Thelma Theodórsdóttir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews