We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here for five nights, and the location was great. Free parking at night across the street, walking distance to every major museum, restaurant and the waterfront, and very helpful staff on a number of things we asked for help. The breakfast buffet is great, with plenty of choices from fruit to breads to cereals to eggs and bacon etc., very good coffee and friendly waiters. The rooms are "modern" design, the beds are comfy, the dark out curtains worked great to keep out the endless sunshine. The only quibble was that the bathroom was so small you practically stepped into the toilet on your way out of the shower, and the bathroom counters are so tiny there is no place to put anything down. I would stay here again, it was a very low stress location from which to explore the city and the coasts.

Room Tip: Room 219 has a tiny bathroom, it looks like other rooms would be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and the kind comments about our team! We thrive to give our guest's the best possible service and are very happy we succeeded to make your stay enjoyable.

We hope to see you again on your next travels to Reykjavik.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    561
    167
    55
    34
See reviews for
207
605
51
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

What a failure! I'm not sure why things went wrong, but nearly all of the food for an evening meal was poor. It's just as if they've employed a temp chef that can't cook - must be the real chef's night off.

Lasagne was cold and came with the most embarrassing salad and no garlic bread, mozzarella salad was almost non-existent and needed a side salad, and the burger came without salad and something of an imposter of mustard. The "chef" clearly didn't have a clue and I'd never come back again. For such a high class chain, this was really a let down and very embarrassing.

Everywhere in Reykjavik has a free Internet connection, but if you're not a guest, you have to pay. Very clearly behind the times - clearly they don't understand the competition.

One saving grace, Heather was great and deserves a medal. Very apologetic (although not her fault), open and honest. A real credit to any service business.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pengranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear guest,

I am greatly concerned and surprised from your experience in our restaurantn and please allow me to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disapointment caused.

Our team usually get positive feedback from our guests about our menu selection and food quality, and we will make sure that this is a one off situation and does not reflect our product.

I also want to thank you for your kind comments about Heather and her service attitude. I am very proud to have her in our team and will forward your compliments to her.

Should you decide to give our restaurant a second try, please don't hesitate to contact me directly and we will do our best to make sure you leave with a positive experience.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We could not possibly get a better located hotel in Reykjavik, and on top of that, the staff is so helpful. Persons like Thomas, Eva and Hanna, at front desk and Paulo, at the restaurant, make this a very special location.
Our room was very comfortable, WiFi all around. The only point is that there was no window at the room, only skylight, which made it a little bizarre, but this did not affect the total positive impact of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosMeloBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Very modern but comfortable hotel. The staff were anxious to meet our every demand cheerfully. Excellent breakfast; free Wi-Fi. And close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randalljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read your positive comments about the hotel and service you received and we will be sure to share them with all our team!

We look forward to welcome you back again to Reykjavik and the hotel in the future.

With best regards,

Frode Jansson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Aaaah Iceland, part of everyone's bucket list. Wonderful place but totaling lacking in high-end luxury hotels. There is not a single 5 star hotel in Reykjavik.

"Ooops!" is what I said when I checked into the Radisson Blu 1919. Supposedly one of the nicest hotels here but to be honest it's the farthest thing possible from a lux-hotel. I repeat, this is NOT a luxury hotel. It's the same class as a roadside Holiday Inn but with a price tag of a W Hotel.

Pros: excellent location and very friendly staff
Cons: horrible decor, dirty rooms, hospital-like bathrooms, and the buffet breakfast is a "no comment"

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and wonderful staff. Praise is a fantastic motivation for everyone and your comments will certainly be shared with the team.

I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations in regards to our decor, breakfast and cleaning.
We will go over your comments and do our best to make sure this is a one off, so future guest may enjoy a clean hotel together with our Super Breakfast.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a short vacation in Iceland. We checked in at 11pm after a long day of driving and the front desk staff was very polite and very quick to check us in. The lady even called around to find out if any restaurant was open for dinner so late, found a place and booked a table for us.

The location is smack in the middle of downtown, by the beautiful harbor. There is public parking next to hotel where you can park for free on weekends and during 6pm-10am on weekends.

The property is very clean, breakfast great! Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProverbialYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel is great - the staff is wonderful! The rooms themselves are pretty basic, clean, comfortable, safe, plenty of hot water and water pressure, decent linens and that kind of stuff. The location is just about perfect - one could hardly ask for a better location. You can walk just about anywhere in Reykjavik from this hotel. And if you can't walk there, the front desk staff will arrange a fly bus for you to get wherever you want to get in the country. The breakfast buffet is fairly large with many choices, but it doesn't change. But, again, the staff is fantastic and you always have hot coffee, hot water for tea or whatever you need. The hotel provides free wifi, which is very nice. Occasionally it just knocks you off and it does take a little while to reconnect, but that is a minor annoyance. The keys to our room tended to demagnatize fairly frequently, but a visit to the front desk would quickly solve the problem - again a minor annoyance is all. One day I found that we needed another bath towel, so I called down to the front desk. Within 5 minutes someone showed up at our room with not one, but two additional towels! The room is very clean, however the grout in the bathrooms has become discolored - perhaps a good scrub down would solve this problem, but again, it was not dirty, just discolored. We had drinks at the bar several times, and again, the staff is simply wonderful. Would I stay here again? YES - without hesitation. When I do come to Reykjavik the next time, I will book a room here. And if any of my friends or family ask for a recommendation, I'd highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,075 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
360 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Rezidor, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing