We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Location and Reasonable Rates” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Northampton
Level Contributor
231 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location and Reasonable Rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I just stayed there for the Iceland Airwaves Music Festival. It was part of a package deal with Icelandair (the best airline!). The room was clean, well appointed and a simple modern design. There was plenty of space. I requested a higher floor because I was traveling alone and wanted a quiet spot. My request was met, and despite the notorious Iceland night life, I slept peacefully. The breakfast was laid out well and included much variety. It was better than two other spreads from hotels I stayed in during previous trips there.

The desk staff was fantastic---professional and helpful. When I arrived at 8:45am, the type of room I requested was not ready, and I was weary from the red eye flight. I asked if another room was available, and the woman at the desk said there were other rooms but they would not be what I wanted/requested. She was clear, and I trusted that it would be better to wait for the room I wanted, so as I was about the check my bags with her, she told me that the room would be ready in 45 minutes rather than hours later because someone had just checked out. She knew I wanted a shower and the settle in. I was not obnoxious and she was helpful. Icelanders are very helpful people, and I recommend that American travelers there act in kind in order to be met in the process.

Room Tip: High floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    542
    162
    51
    33
See reviews for
204
582
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Good location. Clean rooms. Good breakfast.

but. Do not stay in this hotel over a weekend if you want to sleep. As other reviewers have pointed out, the noise outside is intense and goes on until 4AM. Poor gymn.,

Helpful staff except for one poor guy who seemed to get eferything wrong, including booking us inot the wrong restaurant, misdirecting us to the wrong restaurant, not getting our room serviced, bringing cold not hot milk. It was always him and in the end we found it funny. Staff lovely. Restaurant poor for main meal, had a luke warm burher and had to wait ages becasue large party in main restaurant and we in the bar.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revsteve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, België
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

The breakfast here is the best! Nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Good beds. I think this must be the best hotel I stayed in. The location is very central. Of course it all comes at a price... Can't think of anything wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredoroeselare76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The North Country
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We're just back from 4 nights here. We had one of their suites on the top floor - a huge room with a seating area and a great bathroom with an enormous two-person whirlpool bath as well as a gigantic shower. The only disappointment was that the only windows were non-opening skylights - would have been great for seeing Northern Lights if there had been any - but we soon adapted to not having a view. Although it was quite expensive, we thought it was very good value for money - about the same price as a shabby cubbyhole in a central London hotel - and it included free wi-fi and a welcome drink on our arrrival.

The hotel is brilliantly located, almost next door to the Iceland Excursions central office, so very convenient for the airport buses and excursions to the Blue Lagoon etc, and in the middle of lots of shops and restaurants whilst being very quiet. It is less than ten minutes walk to the old harbour, one minute to the start of the main shopping street, and one minute to the parliament. We didn't eat at the hotel as there were plenty of interesting places to try nearby, but we had a drink in the bar the first night and although it wasn't particularly atmospheric, it was perfectly comfortable.

The staff were uniformly charming and helpful, going out of their way to check that we knew where we were picking up trips, bringing extra pillows, and reminding us to book the airport bus the day before departure.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suite on the top floor - lovely room apart from lack of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borisdurante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel - it's smack in the middle of where you want to be. Our room was small though, and only one chair in a double room (!). It altso had less than nice views and a noisy fan outside the window. Nice bathroom, but no floor heating. Had breakfast in the restaurant one morning, which was nice with great service.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel is located centrally in Reykjavik in an area of the city with many bars and restaurants making it convenient for eating out or shopping. Our room was clean and nice enough, but was somewhat small and with a bad view. The bathhroom was small and really nothing to brag about and could do with some refurbishing. Breakfast was nice (not included in our rate and cost 2700 ISK per day per person). Free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Jacob,
thank you so much for your review. We do appreciate our guest taking the time to write about their experience with us.
Our location is absolutely one of our strengths, in the heart of Reykjavik with walking distance to shops, restaurants and excursions.
I am sorry you did not enjoy the size of your room, however we do have rooms in all sizes depending on what catagery you book.

I hope we do get the opportunity to see you again on your next travels to Reykjavik.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & Team 1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We spent three nights at the hotel and found its location excellent to visit the old town and main shopping area. Another plus is that the two best restaurants of Reykjavik are within walking distance - namely Fishmarket Restaurant and Meatmarket Restaurant.
The hotel is clean and comfortable, staff is most helpful and very friendly. One negative remark must be made about the housekeeping - one day our room was not made at all, another day they forgot to replace the amenities. Breakfast buffet is fine and you can order any type of coffee you wish, such as expresso, cappuchino etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
I am very happy you enjoyed your 3 nights with us and you found our location excellent!
To help our guests get off to a good start of the day, we make sure they get their favorite coffee served while having breakfast.

I am truly sorry about your room not being cleaned the one day and that amenities was not replaced. We will take your feedback to hart and do our best this does not happen to our future guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to us when your travels bring you back to Reykjavik.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing