We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Seattle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We really enjoyed our home away from home! So centrally located, everything is in easy walking distance. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious by European standards. We asked for a quiet room, and were given a great room with early check-in. All the staff were professional and efficient. The breakfast was amazing, with a wonderful selection of treats for every palate. The dining room staff were charming, professional and accommodating. We only had one small glitch in that we were charged for the mini-bar when we checked out. We NEVER use the mini-bar, but paid the bill as it was too small to quibble about. Perhaps the manager can make sure the mini-bar is inventoried properly between guests. Regardless, we will definitely return. The facilities and location can't be beat!

Room Tip: We had a quiet room, so were able to open a window. Even in February with no heat on and an open wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IhearttravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    548
    165
    52
    33
See reviews for
204
590
51
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is an historical building in Reykjavík, it used to be a shipping company. It is right in the center of town, walking distance to shopping, Harpa, national museum, Parliament, and the Cathedral. The staff is great and will do whatever they can to help you. We flew in from America, so it was a little bit over 7am and they still got us a room - we had breakfast and crashed for a few hours.
The rooms are small, but trendy and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is fabulous - the variety of food is huge! juices, fruits, meats, breads... oh the breads! yum! The breakfast is worth every króna! Make sure you go hungry, and don't worry about getting there early... the food keeps coming and coming!
The hotel will help you with northern lights tour if you go in the winter. They will basically arrange any tour of the city/country for you. There's a few restaurants around the hotel, but things seems to die down after midnight... but there's a grocery store close by, so plan ahead. The food in the mini bar is super pricey... I wouldn't touch it.
If you get too hot with the comforters, just pull out the inner pillow and you're left with the sheet only, and it's more manageable.
Hope you enjoy your stay at this cool hotel.

Room Tip: Beds are basically two twins put together, so keep that in mind... pretty small. Higher rooms are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apollo1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel in Feb 2013 for its location. It is conveniently located downtown near the old harbor in walking distance to everywhere (restaurants, shops, tour buses, the old harbor, etc.). It is a modern hotel that was very simple, but met all of our needs. We booked our hotel via DHR and got free breakfast which was fantastic. It was continental, but perfect for our tastes (various pastries, breads, cheese, hot food, fruit, etc.). Our room was a little noisy, as it fronted a main road, but there were blackout drapes which helped muffle the sound a bit. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel! It was a fantastic trip and our stay at 1919 was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not front the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

this is a nice hotel in a good location. the rooms are clean and the gym is nice. Breakfast is good as well. We had some problems getting a baby crib and we were "compensated" with 1200 club carlson points, which I thought was a bit stingy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank promo_jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this reveiw about your stay with us.

I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, and your comments about cleanliness and our breakfast makes me and the Team proud.

I am sorry you experienced a problem with getting a baby crib and that the compensation was not satisfactory. We do offer baby cribs for our guests complimentary, and if this is booked in advance there is no excuse for us not to deliver.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location in central Reykjavik. The hotel staff were without exception efficient, friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was very good. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jal13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments related to your stay with us. We do our very best to serve our guests in the best way possible and it is truly satisfying when we receive confirmation like yours telling us we are succeeding.
We know how important breakfast is for our guests, and we aim to have the best breakfast in Reykjavik. Our Super Buffet is constantly improved, based on guest feedback and we also serve fried eggs and omelete on request. Should you want a waffle or a hot espresso, we are only happy to serve.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to 1919 Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great location. Centrally located and within walking distance to shopping, dining and nightlife. Room was comfortable and clean and reasonably priced. All of the staff were friendly and helpful - especially Bartis (I hope I spelled his name correctly). He was amazingly helpful in booking our excursions. I would strongly recommend a visit to Reykjavik and a "must stay" at the Radisson Blu 1919!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

It´s no secret our location is great with walking distance to almost everything in Reykjavik. I am very proud when reading your comments about the service you experienced from our Team, and I will be sure to share your comments with Bart and his colleagues.

I hope we get an opportunity to welcome your back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Frode
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

just returned from iceland .found this hotel on trip advisor.what a find.

a good clean modern room very spacious bathroom .the hotel staff were excellent in providing places to eat and tours to take .the breakfasts really stood out lots of choice including pancakes you cooked yourself ,cold meats ,cheese and hot food . we had dinner in the hotel on the first night and it was first class,i have visited many hotels but this one has to be amongst the best we did the golden circle tour and it included a visit to a tomato grower . being a gardener it was very informative all natural and using the local water to heat the greenhouse. you can go to see the whales and puffins in the headlands via boat then see the same thing on the menu at night .very strange ,apparently the locals dont eat whale meat its for the tourists your choice!!!

a good break although we did not see the northern lights

maybe next time

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysareus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
The entire Team at 1919 Hotel are truly delighted and proud when knowing we have succeeded in making your trip to Iceland an enjoyable one.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Frode
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing