We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Central location with good service”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Although the hotel is about an hour from the Keflavik airport, it is right by the old Reykjavic harbor and close to Icelandic Fish & Chips, and organic cafe. The service is very good, with perfect English spoken. The new Symphony Hall is within walking distance and the scenery is beautiful. There is a "Reykjavik Excursions" bus from the airport to the bus station about a mile away, and a shuttle bus takes people from the bus station to the 1919 Hotel. The shuttle must be called by the hotel, and will pick up passengers once per hour. The hotel staff was very helpful when the bus did not show up, and they got me to the airport in time for my flight. So, I recommend the hotel highly, but do not recommend "Reykjavik Excursions" bus service.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room or a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    556
    165
    53
    33
See reviews for
204
599
51
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel was booked on the Icelandair website with our flights. Location was great, rooms appearance within our expectations. However, at night the apparent decision to turn an office building into a hotel without adding soundproof glazing kept us awake. Our room overlooked the street between the bars and the late night hot dog stand. It was as if we were out on the street and the party lasted until 6:30 am. We pointed it out to reception but was told there was not a lot they could do.

Room Tip: Maybe the main building is better than the extension. Maybe rooms facing the pedestrian street rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
295 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The first impression is of a dark cold lobby and no one at the desk to receive us. And our check-in was a little difficult as our first night was paid and the following nights booked with points. But once the reservation was straightened out and the executive room upgrade selected, we reported to our 2nd floor room. I was a little worried about its proximity to the street, but we encountered no late night noise as many reviews indicated. The room was beautifully proportioned with the original ornate plaster ceiling and details intact and two banks of large windows with a view to the harbor. The modern furniture was in contract to the historic character of the architecture but comfortable and functional. Unfortunately, the very large wardrobe was located so close to the bed the doors could not be fully opened making unpacking a little challenging. Also there was no enclosed storage (drawers) anywhere in the room so everything was laid loose in the cubbies provided within the wardrobe.
The bathroom was adequately sized and equipped but not luxurious by any standard.
Breakfast was not included in our rate but we decided to give it a try. It consisted of a standard European buffet with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, etc representing hot options plus the requisite fruit, cold meats, cheese, tomatoes, etc plus a "make it yourself" waffle island. Sticker shock came with the $27 per person price--really not worth it in my opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors may experience less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a layover after spending 11 days on a cruise in Scandinavia. The room was large and clean. The bathroom oversized which was nice after the smaller staterooms on the cruise ship. We stayed at the Radisson Blue on September 10th and was mid-week so no issues with noise. I liked the convenience of being able to walk to the downtown areas without the use of public transportation. If you are flying into Reykjavik be sure to purchase the Flybus tickets if you plan on staying in the downtown area. The tickets run about $40.00pp roundtrip and can be purchased on the plane or at their booth in the common area as your exit the terminal. Taxis to Downtown can run upwards of $120.00. I felt the staff was very helpful with questions and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and thought it was a nice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to post a review based on you stay with us here at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel.

We are all very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team 1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is Situated in a charming old building, centrally located in the lively downtown and next to the harbour. Only drawback is some noise from the crowd on the street, but not a big concern. My room was spacious and elegantly and modern furnished. Free wifi and Nespresso machine in the rooms.

The hotel is Situated in a charming old building, centrally located in the lively downtown and next to the harbour. Only drawback is some noise from the crowd on the street, but not a big concern. My room was spacious and elegantly and modern furnished. Free wifi and Nespresso machine in the rooms.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank agner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel!

I am very happy you enjoyed the free WiFi which is included for all our guests. The Nespresso machines are very popular and is included in all Business Class Rooms and Junior Suites.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson and Team 1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 4 nights here on a recent trip to congres. The location is excellent, close to Harpa Congress center and the harpor . Clean and modern room . Check in and out easy . Staf helpfull with taxi and transport.
We stayed at 2 floor , just over a local bar with high music to 4 in the night. When asked for another room we got ear-plug ! Dont stay at room no 234.
Nescafe in the room, we used 3 caps, and were charted 1800 Ikr (12 Euro ), ups....should be free in most hotel .

Room Tip: Not on 2.floor, and not 234
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boekelund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us.

I am very sorry to hear that the street noise kept you awake late at night. There is no bar/night club in connection with the hotel, however when the bars close, people tend to linger in the streets outside before heading home.

I am very surprised you where charged for coffee, as all coffee and tea facilities in our guest rooms are complimentary. If this was not misunderstood as a minibar charge, we would be happy to refund you this amount. Please contact our Front Desk Manager to get this refund.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us, and we will make sure you don´t get a room facing the streets.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & Team 1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The location is excellent and the rooms are nicely laid out. We had two one night stays, so we saw two rooms, and both were very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was that we were on the second floor on a Saturday night, and the street noise kept us up. When the bars let out at 4:00, you hear it all for about an hour. This shouldn't be a problem on anything other than Friday or Saturday, and on those nights, just get a higher floor and all will be fine.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor on a Friday or Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review based on your 2 stays with us here at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel.
I am grateful for your great feedback about our hotel and friendly staff, who also will be very happy when I share this with them.
The city of Reykjavik comes alive in the weekends which I recommend all visitors to experience. If you have to get up early in the morning and are not able to join the locals, then we do have rooms which are facing away from the streets.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Reykjavik in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & 1919 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing