We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in the Radisson 1919! Wonderful location next to the harbour and very close to the popular shopping street! Check in was smooth and we were given a free upgrade (maybe due to being Carlson club members). Room was very clean and well kitted out, hair dryer, iron and board, tea and coffee. Staff int eh hotel are extremely friendly especially breakfast staff. Breakfast in the hotel is excellent. There is a large choice ranging from cereal and fruit to bread, ham cheeses and sausages and bacon. The beds are so comfortable it makes getting up for breakfast hard. Breakfast is served until 11am on the weekend which is great after a few days of very early mornings we had a lie in without having to worry about missing breakfast. All in all a great hotel, I would recommend staying here and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for room 401. Junior suite with view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurieltd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest.

It is a pleasure to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and specially our Super Buffet Breakfast and our wide selection there. I do hope that you get the chance to stay with us again and enjoy the late Breakfast and comfortable beds.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Palsdottir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

The location of the hotel could not be faulted, near the buss drop off, walking distance to scops and harbour. the hotel was clean and modern and surprisingly warm. our room was large with all the space you could want, and the bathroom could have had a double bed in it and still be able to walk round and have a bath. Breakfast pleasant, if a bit pedestrian- fine for a few days but no longer. Hotel food was acceptable if not a bit bland. Bar fine, but expensive so no late night revalties there- but good bars within a few hundred yards of hotel. Only issue i had was noise from outside - others reported it at weekends , but this was a monday- thursday. Surprisingly the hotel is not double glazed and a 24hr hotdog stand is at the front door. Thats my only issue. would i go back - yes. Would i buy earplugs before i go - yes.

Room Tip: just get the ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write about your stay with us.

I see that you enjoyed the hotels service, our Super Buffet breakfast and the size of your room.

We are located right in the center of town, with all it´s pros and cons. We do have extra earplugs in the reception, for those who need. Please ask in reception if any problems arise during your stay.

I wish you all the best and please feel free to let me know if you ever have the chance to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Radisson 1919 was our first stop after landing in Iceland, and what a treat it was. Our early arrival at the front desk was met with a gracious professional, Daniel, who went to work diligently to do whatever he could to find us a room for an early check-in. In our room, I made a rookie mistake of not realizing I needed to put my card key into the slot inside the door to power up the lights. Daniel came up to my room with me, armed with a screwdriver in case it was more than just a jet-lagged American. With nothing but a simple graciousness, Daniel then told me that my card key was all I needed to "fix" my lights.
The location of the Radisson 1919 could not be better. Lonely Planet's "Reykjavik in one day" is essentially a walking tour around Reykjavik, with this hotel at the center. The Harpa concert hall is across the street, as is the old Reykjavik harbor.
The rooms are attractive and nicely updated, and the breakfast buffet is as nice as it gets. It is really exceptional.
Everyone on the staff was welcoming and hospitable, which is a real distinctive of the Radisson 1919.
I recommend this hotel as highly as I can.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest.

It is a pleasure to read your review about your stay with us.

Our staff strives to make each guest stay as perfect as possible and it is always wonderful when we have been able to go even further. It is my pleasure to forward your review to Daniel as he did so great job as your host.

We wish you all the best.
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a wonderfully interesting and enjoyable three days - disappointed not to see the Northern Lights, the weather was not condusive to them showing -but enjoyed the other tours and beautiful scenery. Restaurants were good but expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for writing about your enjoyable stay with us.

I hope that you will get the chance to see the Northern Lights again.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very well situated in town, near shops and harbour and concert hall Harpan. Tasty breakfast. Reception very helpful when troubles with excursion companies and pick up time. Clean rooms, bathroom lavatory small.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Anders W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write about your winter stay with us.

I hope we get the pleasure of having you as your guest again.

I wish you a great day.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The 1919 is located near the harbor in a very central location, we were able to walk everywhere from there. The historic building is spotless, the breakfast is a must have. We got upgraded to a junior suite and although we did not have a view, the room was very quiet and did not show any wear at all. Service was good and the room rates were really good as well. The bar is nice and their happy hour a really good deal and we took advantage of it daily. We did not try the restaurant for dinner, it was low season and it was not busy at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernhardK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, the location, our guest service and we where able to delight you further with the room upgrade to a junior suite.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of having you as our guest in the future.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The location, staff and breakfast at this spot are lovely. We were lucky enough to be ungraded to a suite and were able to check in early in the morning. Both of which were very much appreciated. The Nespresso coffee maker in the room is an extra bonus. My only complaint is that the towels and bathrobes are very very scratchy. It's time for new ones or at least some fabric softener. It's not a cheap place but it's a comfortable one all around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FussyCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to see that you had a great stay and got the oportunity to enjoy our super breakfast. Our staff strive to create a pleasurable stay for each guest it is great to see that our service where to your liking and that they where able to delight you even further with the room upgrade and early check in.

I also thank you for your valuable feedback on the towels and we will certainly have a look at this.

Please feel free to contact me if you decide to stay in Reykjavik again.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,122 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
404 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,781 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £175 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing