We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT Location & Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“PERFECT Location & Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is PERFECTLY located! Right in the heart of downtown Reykjavik, and across the street from the popular Gate 1 tourism company. Tons of shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars are in walking distance. The popular hot dog stand was right across the street. Despite all of the local attractions, the room was very quiet and cozy. We had a top floor deluxe room, and it was really perfect. The breakfast buffet is also incredible with a huge selection of traditional breakfast options and some unique Icelandic options. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Iceland! Only con is that the room service menu is quite limited, but delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest.

It is wonderful to see how you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our outmost to make each stay as joyful as possible.

We welcome you back if you ever return.

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review,
all the best,
Soffia S.Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    556
    165
    53
    33
See reviews for
204
599
51
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nice hotel with friendly helpful staff. Good sized bathroom & great shower. Negatives for me - no mirror other than in the bathroom. A full size mirror is needed! Single beds are very narrow - 2 queen size beds would be better. Lacking in drawers for clothes, my undies ended up in the bedside table drawer. Hope this is constructive criticism.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest.

It is a pleasure that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review. I can see that you gave it some thought. We will be sure to look into your notes and see if there is anything that we can use to improve our service.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Rooms were modern with excellent mattresses and soft robes. Close to everything and tours are near by. Some road noise in second room (we stayed 2 nights). Breakfast was included and it was an extensive selection and included in the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to see that you had a pleasureable stay with us and that you enjoyed specially the location on the hotel and the rooms. I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed our wide selection of our Super Buffet Breakfast.

All the Best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I see people had some issues with this hotel and I did, but realize that the star level of hotels in Iceland is going to be different than in cities like London or New York. I thought the hotel lobby and rooms were extremely clean and nice. The staff was very helpful and had a pleasant demeanor, but I was put off by the fact that I took the overnight flight and arrived at 7am (got to the city before 8)… and my room wasn't available until 4PM! Some manner of early check-in would be nice. I am very patient but when I don't sleep a bit on the overnight flight from Logan in Boston and have to wander the city (which in retrospect was helpful in getting the lay of the land) for 8 hours before I can get into my room it is a bit frustrating. The rooms are a little (as you would expect in a European style hotel) and a bit sterile, but again the staff is wonderful, and the location is absolutely perfect. It's not the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but I also wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonRichard777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review of you stay with us.

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, our cleanliness and that our staff was to your liking.

It is unfortunate that we could not accommodate you with an early check in but please, if you return to Reykjavik and to our hotel, let us know in before hand of your arrival date and we try our best

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel is excellent for the sites as it is central. Other hotels were some distance away. Near to all the shops. A bit noisey on the Friday night but the Icelanders like to party at the weekend. EVERYONE in the hotel were polite, pleasant and always happy to help you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and specifically the location and the friendliness of our staff. We do try to make each stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The 1919 is in a perfect central location ideal for visiting the attractions of Rekyjavic. the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was well presented, fresh and offered a wide choice. Now for the negative aspects - two months ago I booked a standard double room for a four night stay from the 2 - 6 March. The room was very disappointing, tucked up in the eaves with a sloping ceiling and no windows, just two sky lights. The bed was only accessible from one side, one bedside table, one chair - hardly suitable for two adults. The sloping ceiling reduced the useable size of the room by at least a third, necessitating careful navigation to avoid head injuries. The reception staff seemed indifferent to my concerns, not what I would have expected from the Radisson chain. A very large group was staying at the same time. At times the atmosphere in the breakfast room was similar to,a school,canteen and the lobby like a crowded railway station. Not the stay I was anticipating.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in room 419.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the selection at our Super Breakfast Buffet.

It is unfortunate however that the standard room was not satisfactory and I do hope we will get the chance to find a better suited room, if you choose to return to Reykjavik, as we offer rooms with ceiling height over 3 m and more.

If there is anything we at the hotel can assist you wish in the future - please do not hesitate to contact me directly so we can make sure your next stay will be even better.

We wish you all the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdottir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A tastefully renovated hotel with high standards and very courteous staff, making it a good centre for the exploration of Reykjavik and beyond. The only downside would relate to the restaurant menu: probably too limited to encourage guests to eat-in but, conversely, breakfast set us up for the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Miriam/David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay, specially the breakfast and the location. I will be sure to pass along your review to our staff as it is always great to see when you are doing a great job.

Best wishes,
Soffia S. Palsdottir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Rezidor, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing