We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have recently returned from a short break to this hotel and highly recommend staying here. The hotel is in a perfect location, it is very clean and comfortable and the staff are very polite, professional, welcoming and friendly. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Iceland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Diane/Bethany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and writing your wonderful review about your stay with us.

It is great to see that you had such a great experience with us.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in April 2014. We requested a quiet location, so we received a room in the back of the hotel. There was not a view from this room, but it was quiet. As we use our room for sleeping, that was really all that was important. The room was plenty big (especially for European standards), but looking at the map of the hotel, there are some smaller rooms within the hotel.

The location was central to pretty much everything you would want to do in Reykjavik. Near the bars, shopping, the Althing, 10 minute walk to Hallgrimskirkja. There is even a car park across the street, so if you rent a car (as we did), you have parking near-by (cheaper than parking in the hotel's lot).

The bar seemed nice. I had a few drinks in there and they were more than willing to give me an ice bucket for use in my room (a bonus for American visitors).

Bonus: right across the street from Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur (the hot dog stand). Delish!

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room, you will not have issues with late-night street noise. You get no city...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonts74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest.

It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and specially your guest room, the location of the hotel and our service.

We do our outmost to make each stay as memorable as possible and it is a pleasure to read that we have succeeded in your case.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just got home from our Iceland adventure. We are a family of 5, we have three children agree 9,11, and 16. The hotel was perfect! When we arrived very early on a Sunday, the staff was so polite and accommodating. They did everything they could to get us into a room as early as possible, knowing we had been traveling all night (w/kids) to get there. Our trip would not have been as terrific had it not been for the staff! they helped us change our itinerary when we asked, book additional trips and even made restaurant suggestions! They put up with my girls wondering around the lobby and going up the stairs etc. They were awesome! The hotel is super clean and the breakfast is more then filling! There was a wonderful variety of pastries and fruit everyday! The hotel is right in the center of everything which was great because we didn't have to take a taxi very often. As others have mentioned is other reviews it's across the street from the famous hotdog stand which we tried too ( good hotdogs but nothing I felt I couldn't live w/out). The marina is very close as well which makes it nice if you want to go whale watching.

Room Tip: We booked two rooms because of the size of our family. The deluxe suite was great for the three kid...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your wonderful review and I specially like to read how accommodating the staff where and helpful with all your needs and wants. I will be sure to send them your review.

All our best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and i spent our first trip to Iceland at the 1919 in Reykjavik. Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Our room was a tad small, but we didn't spend too much time in the room itself. Nice bed, decent bath and very clean. Free WiFi too! Hotel is not far from the Harpa concert hall and only a few minutes away from Hallgrimskirkja cathedral. There are plenty of shops and restaurants around the area as well. The tour bus companies are within a few blocks so hotel is in a great location for tourists. Highly recommended. Dress warm. The city can be chilly and windy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Nikki_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

It is great to see that you had such a great experience with us and enjoyed your stay, specially the location and our Free WiFi.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the 1919 for 2 nights. The location was ideal for seeing the sights and hitting the main drag of shopping and bars. Also right next to the famous hot dog stand that Bill Clinton stopped at years ago (not sure what all the fuss is over the hot dogs, but there was a constant line all day and night). The staff was very accomodating and friendly, and the rooms were more than adequate. A great place to spend a few days in town. Note: there is construction going on right outside the hotel with a large open hole in the ground--there was no noise/activity when we were there, but it was a weekend so not sure about weekdays.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LonelyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for writing your great review about your stay with us.

It is great to see that you had such a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed the hotel.

Regarding the construction front of the hotel; the city is making our street´s and our surroundings in the city more attractive and this is part of that process. This will be a great change when you walk the streets and enjoy the city in summer.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nice hotel with good service, and good breakfast.
The location is very good, some noice from cleaning cars/sweepers in the morning. We asked for ekstra duvet, and that was fixed in minutes.
They was also helpfull with arrangen different trips from the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank jornMyhre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and all was to your liking.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Location, location, location! Just by the waterfront, opposite Harpa. Walking distance to all main atractions of the city. Clean, pleasant deco, wooden floors in functional rooms, nice and frindly staff. Beautiful dark green marble on the floors of the corridors and stairs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank AguKwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your excellent review about your stay with us. It is a pleasure to see how much you liked the hotel, the design and of course the location.

Have a great weekend,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,113 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
397 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,766 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £189 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing