We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall: Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Plus: Very helpful and knowledgeable staff; incredible selection at breakfast (although pricey); fast Wi-Fi (as with everywhere else in Iceland it seems); location is excellent - near Laekjartorg bus station, within easy walking distance to all major sites, including BSI bus station; bag storage if you arrive early or leave late. Minus: Small bathroom with almost no shelf space; fitness center is just okay (could use more machines); expensive breakfast (even though it's really good, it's very pricey). Overall, very good stay, and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank 573ryanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay, the free Wi-Fi, the Super Buffet Breakfast and that our staff could assist you with your requests.

I will take your notes formward regarding the Fitness Center. We are always trying to improve our service and raise our service level further.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff from check in to check out were excellent, they helped us by ringing regarding a tour we'd booked and arranged a return bus to the airport. Breakfast staff were helpful and polite.

Breakfast was very expensive as is everything in Reykjavik but a large choice of breads, cheeses, pastries, fruit, meats, cereals and juices. There was definitely something for everyone. My friend said the eggs were excellent.

The hotel is in a great position, really close to bus pick up for excursions and for the old harbour for boat trips. It is surrounded by really good restaurants and a whole host of coffee shops.

The room was bright, clean and well equipped. There was an iron and board, safe, hair dryer, mini bar and complimentary tea and coffee. The beds were comfortable and the curtains shut out the daylight which seems to never end. There was a sofa, coffee table and arm chair in the room a nice touch for added relaxation. The bathroom was very spacious and plenty of complimentary toiletries.

There was work going on outside in the road but the room was very quiet.

A great bonus free wifi!

Great decor and a fabulous light fitting in the lobby. If in Reykjavik stay here and if you've money set in the restaurant.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your excellent review.

It is wonderful to see how great experience you had during your stay. Wether it was at our Super Buffet Breakfast, the location or the great service that our team provides.


All our best,
Soffia S. Pálsdottir and the 1919 hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very nice hotel near harbour and operahouse and near citylife.Nice rooms and very good service, breakfast vas wery good and there was a lot to of different food to choose. The Icelandic people are very kind and helpfull, so you allways feel welcome in Iceland. Excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us.

I see that you liked our Super Buffet Breakfast our central location and the service.

We would be happy to have your company again if you come to Iceland again.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nice hotel with a modern feel in the rooms. Good size bathroom. Although the bed was considered a double the bedding made it like two singles put together. Easy walk to the waterfront or central city. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chyllenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for writing this review about your stay with us.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and specially the location and the service that our staff provided you.

Have a great day,
Soffia S.Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

this hotel was in a great location.You are able to get most places on foot and the bus station is within view from the hotel.We stayed here last september 2013 for my husbands 50th birthday.It does get very busy at the weekend but all good fun.We took a trip to the golden circle,which is a must.Went whale watching which was great and freezing cold. The hotel itself was very nice and modern with some really funky art in the reception.The staff all very nice and helpful.Rooms nice and everything you need.Free wi fi which is also great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

I am very happy to see how great experience you had during your stay with us.

All our best,
Soffía S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Loved the location. It was within walking distance of practically everything I wanted to visit. The staff answered all questions; and, could not be nicer. The breakfast was wonderful. Reasonably priced, too ! Iceland is a dream vacation for me. Pure Water and Air !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank johnkQ7800XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and posting your review.

It is a pleasure to see how great your experience was with us, our team and in Iceland.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We rarely used the hotel other than for sleep when we stayed here, but when we asked staff questions or had any queries, they were excellent. Whilst in Reykjavik, I noticed that Jeff Dunham was playing in the Harpa, and I could not get a ticket anywhere, I spoke to a lady on the front desk whose name I can neither remember or pronounce, who said she could help, a few hours later I returned to the front desk, where Daniel was on duty, and he booked everything for me online (I don't understand or speak Icelandic), and I got the last ticket to the show.
I have been around a few places in the world, but the two staff I dealt with here were excellent, and a tribute to the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 315 which looks out towards the harbour
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for writing about your stay with us.

It is great to see that you enjoyed our stay and to read about your experience with our wonderful team.

Have a great day,
all the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,113 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
397 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,766 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £189 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing