We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very centrally location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for a week in this hotel in June . We were allocated a very big room ( room 320 ) . There was a sitting area , safe , free coffee maker and free Internet . Breadfirst selection were excellent and we are spoil for choice . Hotel is centrally located . Is only minutes walk to the old harbour , symphony hall and the centre . The famous hot dog stand is right next to the hotel . Iceland tour company is only two minutes walk from hotel to book excursions and is also the departure point for all excursions and airport transfer . (no taxi fare to pay )There is also a small gym at the hotel with free bottle of waters . On day of departure we were offer free coffee at the reception which was very welcome at 6am . I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely booked the same hotel again when I visit Iceland again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connieconni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

It is a pleasure to read your notes of your stay with us and see that you had such a wonderful experience.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

1. Theft by housekeeping staff 2. Broken toilet flush mechanism (no maintenance staff to repair. My husband had to fix it.) No return call from the front desk to let us know that no one was coming. We called after 2 hours of constant flushing. 3. Terrible housekeeping (in addition to thievery) 4. Windows are not soundproof. You can hear all of the rowdies as they party all night, vomit and break glass. 5. No staff to help with bags 6. Accessibility is problematic (there are steep steps to manage on room floors) It's a shame really because the location was good and the front desk staff were really nice and helpful for the most part. But, frankly, I couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
3  Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.

We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us, despite our best efforts.
Unfortunately, we did not manage to locate your luggage lock which went missing during your stay. After reviewing surveillance footage and interviewing the staff who cleaned your room, we could not confirm your allocations about theft. As a Hotel and employer, we take such accusations very seriously.

I do appreciate your comments about the issues in the room and we will utilize these comments to fine tune our operation.

Sincerely,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great choice for staying in Reyjkavik. The hotel is in a great location, close to the Old Town, restaurants, bars and the Iceland Excursions Tour Office. The rooms are clean, the bathroom spacious and the food from both the restaurant and room service were excellent. Very cheerful and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Harriet Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting such a great review.

It is a pleasure to see that you had such a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed all our services, the restaurant, room service, the cleanliness of the rooms and the service from our team.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our room was very comfortable and large. The service was excellent. Breakfast was good. The hotel is also in a great location for shopping, seeing the sights or finding a good restaurant. The only problem is the noise on the street at all hours of the night. It wasn't traffic noises that kept us up. It was people singing or shouting on the street. The windows do not keep out any of the noise. I did not sleep at all until I bought ear plugs.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GraceIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for writing your review about your stay with us.

I am pleased to see that you had such a great experience with our staff and the service that they provided as well as the selection that we offer at our Super Buffert Breakfast.

The location has it´s pros and cons but we do offer earplugs for guests who need, complimentary in the reception.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff were wonderful - very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was good - the staff at the restaurant couldn't have been nicer. My only "complaint" was that there was major road construction going on in front of the hotel when we were there which was loud and inconvenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your reveiw.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and specially nice to read the experience you had with our team and the Super Buffet Breakfast.

The city of Reykjavik has been doing constructions around the city, trying to improve our surroundings and making our city more beautiful and more accessible The contstructions are to be done now in July.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when we arrived in Reykjavick. We were in room 504. It was very clean and OK but the windows were skylights that opened, so you couldn't see out and if it was raining, which it did on and off, you did have to be careful about the angle of the window or rain could come in. But we really did need to keep the windows open because the room was hot otherwise. The staff brought us a fan which was a help. The breakfast was very good. Also the location was downtown, very central and good for walking around the harbor area. I am giving it 4 stars because of the friendly and helpful staff and the excellent breakfast. The room was just average really. My husband didn't like the room at all because it was up under the pitched roof, hence the skylights rather than regular windows and he is tall and nearly hit his head a few times. So if you are around 6 ft. tall, you will probably not like the room we stayed in or one close by.

Room Tip: If there is a way to request a room that isn't up on the top floor, you will avoid the slanted c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryEllenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

I am please to see that our staff had such an impression on you during your stay and you where pleased with our Super Buffet Breakfast, the location of the hotel and our cleanliness.

The room height varies, from having skylight windows up to 3.2m height. Please request when making a reservation.

Feel free to contact me if you ever return to the hotel again.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is our second stay at Blu 1919, first stay room 503 and second stay room 503. Our family stayed in a spa room on the top floor facing Harpa/hotdog stand. Although the window faced upward to the sky and the only way you could see anything was to stand on a chair. This situation worked great in the spring/summer due to we could black out the room with the double shades installed on the smallish windows. And, I guess our family really isn't a sit at the window and gaze out at the view when in Iceland. Also, there are not a lot of bars on this side of the hotel so it is quitter at night. Keep in mind if a loud drunk(s) are on the street below your room you will hear them no matter what room. The beds are comfortable, there is no air conditioning in this room but they have fans and one window does open for a little circulation. The front desk is very patient and accommodating with our request which were quiet a few from extra pillows to extra fans to help with our family find a place to eat.
This hotel is a hop skip and a jump from the GREYLine tours so if you don't book excursion in advance you can walk down 2 blocks to where all there tours leave the city center.
The breakfast was okay, we are not a fan of icelandic eggs, they taste how sulfur smells but we did eat breakfast everyday here for the convenience of it. Food is expensive in Iceland and most restaurants close around 10pm during the week and around 11pm during the weekends.
We would suggest a quick trip to the shopping center close to city center the first day you arrive to pick up soda, chips and snacks which are half the cost of the convenience markets near the 1919. There is a free shuttle that picks up in-front of the Reykjavik Restaurant(yellow building with seafood buffet) starting around 11am.
If our family were to stay in Reykjavik again we would look at the 1919

Room Tip: book early ask for Harpa view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacque N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read about your stay and see that you enjoyed the hotel, our staff, the Super Buffet Breakfast and the central location.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,883 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,169 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £161 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing