We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We order four nights,1+3 nightscancel the three additional nights and actually we got later a small room with sealed windows. When we called to replace the room they cut off the call. In the lobby they told us there is no another room, the hotel is full. The hotel website has published steel 10 vacancies. We said we move and tried to book a hotel online, we were cut off from the Internet immediately. On our way to leave the hotel suddenly found another room,also small,with dirty windows, with the sound of road works from 7 in the morning. By accepting all the treatment we received by 2 receptionists named Benjamin and Anna. The next day we were told by the receptionist the manager is busy in a meeting. We realized that this is hotel policy. We should just let others know.We have paid for every night 273 EU, in the first - we have got a comfortable room in order not to R !.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saaririt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post this review.
I regret to learn that we did not deliver according to your expectations relating to the room change and dirty windows.
Due to the strong winds we experienced during your stay, the windows facing the sea got very dirty with salt water. We try to keep the windows clean always, but I am sorry we did not get this cleaned sooner during your stay.
I am glad we managed to find you a different room eventually, although this took some time due to being fully booked.
I want to assure you that we do not have a policy for guest not being able to change rooms or being unavailable for you. We want our guests to enjoy their stay with us and we will utilize your feedback to see what we can do differently for future guests.

I do hope we get an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, and we will make sure you get a room according to your preferences and with clean window.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed for three days for business here. Major construction in street with no clear entry to hotel. All the people were nice. The bar and restaurant had slow service, slow to take orders & slow to check back for any needs. Sometimes they just disappeared and in a small place you would think it would be hard to hide but not there. Lost electricity one morning for a short time but no apologies forthcoming. One day the room was not made up until after 5:00PM, again with no notice about it. For a Radisson it was just okay. Location was great, right in downtown close to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Nancy Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write your review.

I thank you for your notes regarding the service and the bar and restaurant and be sure that this is something that we will use to further our service.

The construction on behalf of Reykjavik will make our surroundings better and more beautiful but it has had it´s disadvantages.

Please feel free to contact me if you ever return to the hotel.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for a week in this hotel in June . We were allocated a very big room ( room 320 ) . There was a sitting area , safe , free coffee maker and free Internet . Breadfirst selection were excellent and we are spoil for choice . Hotel is centrally located . Is only minutes walk to the old harbour , symphony hall and the centre . The famous hot dog stand is right next to the hotel . Iceland tour company is only two minutes walk from hotel to book excursions and is also the departure point for all excursions and airport transfer . (no taxi fare to pay )There is also a small gym at the hotel with free bottle of waters . On day of departure we were offer free coffee at the reception which was very welcome at 6am . I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely booked the same hotel again when I visit Iceland again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connieconni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

It is a pleasure to read your notes of your stay with us and see that you had such a wonderful experience.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

1. Theft by housekeeping staff 2. Broken toilet flush mechanism (no maintenance staff to repair. My husband had to fix it.) No return call from the front desk to let us know that no one was coming. We called after 2 hours of constant flushing. 3. Terrible housekeeping (in addition to thievery) 4. Windows are not soundproof. You can hear all of the rowdies as they party all night, vomit and break glass. 5. No staff to help with bags 6. Accessibility is problematic (there are steep steps to manage on room floors) It's a shame really because the location was good and the front desk staff were really nice and helpful for the most part. But, frankly, I couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
3  Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.

We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us, despite our best efforts.
Unfortunately, we did not manage to locate your luggage lock which went missing during your stay. After reviewing surveillance footage and interviewing the staff who cleaned your room, we could not confirm your allocations about theft. As a Hotel and employer, we take such accusations very seriously.

I do appreciate your comments about the issues in the room and we will utilize these comments to fine tune our operation.

Sincerely,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great choice for staying in Reyjkavik. The hotel is in a great location, close to the Old Town, restaurants, bars and the Iceland Excursions Tour Office. The rooms are clean, the bathroom spacious and the food from both the restaurant and room service were excellent. Very cheerful and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Harriet Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting such a great review.

It is a pleasure to see that you had such a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed all our services, the restaurant, room service, the cleanliness of the rooms and the service from our team.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our room was very comfortable and large. The service was excellent. Breakfast was good. The hotel is also in a great location for shopping, seeing the sights or finding a good restaurant. The only problem is the noise on the street at all hours of the night. It wasn't traffic noises that kept us up. It was people singing or shouting on the street. The windows do not keep out any of the noise. I did not sleep at all until I bought ear plugs.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GraceIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for writing your review about your stay with us.

I am pleased to see that you had such a great experience with our staff and the service that they provided as well as the selection that we offer at our Super Buffert Breakfast.

The location has it´s pros and cons but we do offer earplugs for guests who need, complimentary in the reception.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff were wonderful - very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was good - the staff at the restaurant couldn't have been nicer. My only "complaint" was that there was major road construction going on in front of the hotel when we were there which was loud and inconvenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your reveiw.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and specially nice to read the experience you had with our team and the Super Buffet Breakfast.

The city of Reykjavik has been doing constructions around the city, trying to improve our surroundings and making our city more beautiful and more accessible The contstructions are to be done now in July.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,837 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,152 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
417 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £152 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing