We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iceland city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Iceland city hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was probably good by Iceland standards, but we found it very average. It was "okay" but nothing special. The location was very central, and price was good. The room was large, but lacked in decoration. They had no electrical outlet (typical European) in the bathrooms,which would have been okay, however there was NO mirror anywhere else in the room. I had to dry and style my hair with a make-up compact mirror.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mirror outside the bathroom if you need one to dry your hair. Ask for blacko...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurelbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.
As we aspire to be more than a "ok" hotel, we value your feedback and will utilize it to improve our service.
For clarity and information to future guests, we do have a full size mirror mounted on the door of the closets in all guest rooms. There are also a electrical outlet in all of our bathrooms, next to the light switch. We offer hairdryers in all rooms for our guests convenience should you decide to not carry this with you on your travels.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future to show that we can do much better.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    562
    168
    55
    34
See reviews for
207
607
51
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is in a central good location.
We were put in a large room at the top. Therefore, it was very quiet.
It turns out that this was one of the nicer hotel rooms we stayed in in Iceland.

The breakfast buffet was fine.

There is a large car park opposite the hotel. It was easy to find as we arrived at about 1 am from the airport.

The hot dog stand next to the hotel has decent hot dogs.

Only stayed for a night as there is not much to see in the city and there are many more attractive sights outside the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time from your busy schedule to post this review of your stay here at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel.

I am honored you choose to stay with us while you were in Reykjavik.

I hope your travels brings you back to Iceland and that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewlett, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We did tons of research before our trip and we were very excited to stay here for many reasons, 1) The location 2) The Service.

The location can't be beat and did not let us down. It is located smack in the middle of town and puts your central to EVERYTHING!! Even though Reykjavik is a small city it is still nice to be able to walk to all restaurants and shops in 2 minutes opposed to the hotels on the outskirts of town which can be a good 15-20 minute walk every time you walk out the front door. It is located 200 feet from the Iceland Excursions office as well so if you book a tour through them just tell them you will meet the bus in the lot and you just bought yourself an extra 20 minutes.

Having read all the reviews about the noise from late night bar goers we knew to bring ear plugs and it solved the problem very easily. Don't let that dissuade you from staying here cause it is an easy fix. There was construction going on outside the whole time which we were not warned about but lets be honest, the hotel really has no control over that.

The staff was always very friendly but they just couldn't pull it together half the time. We had upgraded to a business room which included breakfast (which was superb and filing) but they had our old reservation every morning and every morning they tried sticking us with a bill. It always resolved itself but it got annoying by day 3. The rooms are very nice and decorated with very clean lines. Not huge but not many European hotels are. The housekeeping was a big letdown though as 4 out of our 6 days I had to request that our room be made up after we returned from our Excursions past 5:30 PM. Its a small hotel so that is inexcusable. Plus, every time I would call down to ask and tell the front desk they always inquired if the Do Not Disturb Sign was on......Obviously every day its not on if I keep coming down to ask!! Another downside is lack of English TV channels....CNN, BBC America and Eurosport.....it all gets very annoying very quick.
Would I return? Probably yes.

BTW, The WIFI in this hotle (and really all around Iceland ) was Fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: try to book tours with Iceland Excursions since they are right around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Playsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful that you took the time to share your feedback with us. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible, and we will use your feedback to fine tune our communication in operations to avoid similar issues in the future.

I am happy to say that the roadwork is getting completed this week, and the result will be a beautiful pedestrian street around the hotel.

If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,
Frode Jansson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We order four nights,1+3 nightscancel the three additional nights and actually we got later a small room with sealed windows. When we called to replace the room they cut off the call. In the lobby they told us there is no another room, the hotel is full. The hotel website has published steel 10 vacancies. We said we move and tried to book a hotel online, we were cut off from the Internet immediately. On our way to leave the hotel suddenly found another room,also small,with dirty windows, with the sound of road works from 7 in the morning. By accepting all the treatment we received by 2 receptionists named Benjamin and Anna. The next day we were told by the receptionist the manager is busy in a meeting. We realized that this is hotel policy. We should just let others know.We have paid for every night 273 EU, in the first - we have got a comfortable room in order not to R !.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saaririt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post this review.
I regret to learn that we did not deliver according to your expectations relating to the room change and dirty windows.
Due to the strong winds we experienced during your stay, the windows facing the sea got very dirty with salt water. We try to keep the windows clean always, but I am sorry we did not get this cleaned sooner during your stay.
I am glad we managed to find you a different room eventually, although this took some time due to being fully booked.
I want to assure you that we do not have a policy for guest not being able to change rooms or being unavailable for you. We want our guests to enjoy their stay with us and we will utilize your feedback to see what we can do differently for future guests.

I do hope we get an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, and we will make sure you get a room according to your preferences and with clean window.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed for three days for business here. Major construction in street with no clear entry to hotel. All the people were nice. The bar and restaurant had slow service, slow to take orders & slow to check back for any needs. Sometimes they just disappeared and in a small place you would think it would be hard to hide but not there. Lost electricity one morning for a short time but no apologies forthcoming. One day the room was not made up until after 5:00PM, again with no notice about it. For a Radisson it was just okay. Location was great, right in downtown close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nancy Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write your review.

I thank you for your notes regarding the service and the bar and restaurant and be sure that this is something that we will use to further our service.

The construction on behalf of Reykjavik will make our surroundings better and more beautiful but it has had it´s disadvantages.

Please feel free to contact me if you ever return to the hotel.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for a week in this hotel in June . We were allocated a very big room ( room 320 ) . There was a sitting area , safe , free coffee maker and free Internet . Breadfirst selection were excellent and we are spoil for choice . Hotel is centrally located . Is only minutes walk to the old harbour , symphony hall and the centre . The famous hot dog stand is right next to the hotel . Iceland tour company is only two minutes walk from hotel to book excursions and is also the departure point for all excursions and airport transfer . (no taxi fare to pay )There is also a small gym at the hotel with free bottle of waters . On day of departure we were offer free coffee at the reception which was very welcome at 6am . I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely booked the same hotel again when I visit Iceland again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connieconni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

It is a pleasure to read your notes of your stay with us and see that you had such a wonderful experience.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

1. Theft by housekeeping staff 2. Broken toilet flush mechanism (no maintenance staff to repair. My husband had to fix it.) No return call from the front desk to let us know that no one was coming. We called after 2 hours of constant flushing. 3. Terrible housekeeping (in addition to thievery) 4. Windows are not soundproof. You can hear all of the rowdies as they party all night, vomit and break glass. 5. No staff to help with bags 6. Accessibility is problematic (there are steep steps to manage on room floors) It's a shame really because the location was good and the front desk staff were really nice and helpful for the most part. But, frankly, I couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.

We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us, despite our best efforts.
Unfortunately, we did not manage to locate your luggage lock which went missing during your stay. After reviewing surveillance footage and interviewing the staff who cleaned your room, we could not confirm your allocations about theft. As a Hotel and employer, we take such accusations very seriously.

I do appreciate your comments about the issues in the room and we will utilize these comments to fine tune our operation.

Sincerely,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,075 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,606 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
360 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing